\Journal & Research Databases
| General Ecotoxicology Natural Resources |
Wildlife Health Wildlife-Human Interface |
Online Resources
| Books & Background Reading Statistics & Facts |
People, Places, Organizations Jobs & Funding |
Personal Database Management Tool: RefWorks Information
Manager (About) ![]()
General
| Academic
Search (1984-) |
Journal literature covering the full range of biological sciences, with a popular rather than scholarly emphasis. Many articles are full-text. | |
| ProQuest
Research Library (1988-) |
A mix of general interest, popular and academic journals that includes popular health and science articles. Many are full-text. |
| CAB
Abstracts (1972-) |
Database indexes 10,000 English and foreign-language journals, books, conference and proceedings, It covers natural resources conservation and leisure research. | |
| Environmental
Sciences and Pollution Management (1981-) |
A multidisciplinary database covering ecology, pollution and toxicology, basic life sciences, bacteriology, and water resources. | |
| Toxicology
Abstracts (1981-) |
Toxicology Abstracts covers issues from natural toxins, legislation and recommended standards to environmental issues. | |
| TOXLINE
(NLM) (1980-) |
Covers the toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals in human, and in the environment. | |
| TOXNET
(NLM) |
Cluster of databases leading to information addressing toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas. More about TOXNET |
| Agricola
(National Agriculture Library) (1970-) |
Animal science,
biology, breeding, nutrition and veterinary science. National Agricultural Library's public gateway to Agricola |
|
| Animal
Diversity Web |
Animal natural history, distribution,
classification, and conservation biology. Produced by the University
of Michigan. Content supplied by ADW staff and university students. |
|
| Biological
Abstracts (1969-) |
Journal literature covering virtually every life science discipline including biochemistry, clinical and experimental medicine, immunology, microbiology, toxicology. | |
| Ecology
Abstracts (1982-) |
Ecology Abstracts provides access to about 350 research journals in ecology. It covers interactions of all organisms--microbes, plants, and animals--to their environment and to each other. | |
| EIS: Digests of Environmental
Impact Statements (1985-) |
EIS provides access to environmental impact statements since 1985. The statements include a lengthy description of the purpose, the positive and negative aspects, and legal mandates. About 450 draft and final impact statement are added per year. | |
| Fish & Fisheries
Worldwide (1971-) |
It covers animal behavior, conservation, disease, genetics, habitats, management techniques, parasites, pesticides, propagation, and toxicology. Includes full-text book reviews, but there are no abstracts. | |
| J-STOR |
Full-text journal database which provides access to more than 400 journals in a variety of fields including botany, ecology and evolutionary biology. Deep archive for many titles. | |
| National
Environmental Publications Internet Site- NEPIS (1990-) |
Database of more than 7,000 full-text EPA documents from the early 1990's to the present. | |
| Pollution
Abstracts (1981-) |
Pollution Abstracts covers air, water, waste, radioactive material pollution. | |
| PrimateLit:
A Bibliographic Database for Primatology (1940-) |
Bibliographic access to the scientific literature on nonhuman primates for the research and educational communities. Subject areas include: behavior, colony management, ecology, reproduction, field studies, disease models, veterinary science, psychology, physiology, pharmacology, evolution, taxonomy, developmental and molecular biology, genetics and zoogeography. | |
| Water
Resources Abstracts (1967-) |
Abstracts international scientific and technical literature on water resources including aquatic species. | |
| Web
of Knowledge (1982-) |
Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Best for finding articles citing a particular author or paper. | |
| Wildlife & Ecology
Studies Worldwide (1935-) |
Covers animal behavior, conservation, disease, genetics, habitats, management techniques, parasites, pesticides, propagation, and toxicology. One of the best. | |
| Zoological
Record (1978-) |
It covers animal ecology, physiology, taxonomy, evolution, life history, and morphology. |
| CONSULTANT |
Cornell Veterinary Medicine diagnostic support system. Signs, symptoms, diagnoses, and literature references. | |
| Veterinary Conference
Proceedings |
Tables of contents, guides for authors, and impact factor information for some 254 journals in veterinary medicine. | |
| Wildlife Disease Information Node |
Site developed by the National Wildlife Health Center, USGS, supplies news, data, monitoring and implications of wildlife disease including avian influenza, CWD, and West Nile Virus. | |
| Veterinary Journals: Table of Contents |
Provides tables of contents for over 160 veterinary journals not indexed in MEDLINE. | |
| Wildlife Rehabilitation Database |
Contains baseline hematology data and basic biological information for some avian and mammalian species. | |
| WILDPro |
An electronic encyclopedia providing information on the natural history, health, and management of captive and free-ranging wild animals. |
| Academic
Search (1984-) |
Full-text database of more than 3000 journals covering a broad range of material. | |
| Human
Population & Natural Resource Management |
Provides access to the contents of 561 publications treating such topics as: Human population dynamics, Population - Environment Relations, Ecotourism, Sustainable Living, Sustainable Consumption, Environmental Awareness and Environmental Education. | |
| ProQuest
Newspapers |
Searchable access to articles from 41 national and Wisconsin newspapers, and includes full-text for most. | |
| Social
Sciences Full Text (1983-) |
Indexes more than 415 key periodicals in the fields of economics, sociology, and environmental studies. Full-text for some articles. |
Resources by Topic
Mammals
American Society of Mammalogists
Society promotes interests in the study of mammals covering disciplines
from paleontology to ecology and evolution.
Bat Conservation International,
Inc.
Devoted to protection, restoration, and habitat management for bats worldwide.
Bat Conservation of Wisconsin
To provide education, research, management, inventory and monitoring of bats
for the state of Wisconsin.
International Wolf
Center
Emphasis is on educating the public about wolves.
Mammal Species of the World (Smithsonian)
Database with over 4,000 mammal species that can be searched by scientific
name, family name, or common name.
Managing Wildlife Damage: Black Bears
Quality Deer Management Association
Organization dedicated to quality white-tailed deer populations, wildlife habitats,
and ethical hunting through education, research, and management.
Timber Wolf Information
Network (TWIN) (Waupaca, WI)
Devoted to education and conservation efforts of the Wisconsin wolf population.
Whitetails Unlimited
Organization devoted to conservation of white-tailed deer habitat, education
efforts, and promotion of the hunting tradition.
Wisconsin Elk Reintroduction
Study
Information about the reintroduction of elk into Wisconsin.
Wisconsin
Wolf Management Plan
From the Wisconsin DNR, site includes information on wildlife biology and ecology,
wolf management, wolf health monitoring, and wolf education programs.
Aldo Leopold
Aldo Leopold Foundation (Baraboo,
Wisconsin)
Foundation seeks to restore the ecological health and integrity of the prairie,
oak savanna, woodland, and riparian communities.
Aldo Leopold Nature Center, Monona, WI
Aldo Leopold Wilderness Research Institute
A brief biography from the Wisconsin DNR
Reptiles and Amphibians
AmphibiaWeb (University of
California in conjunction with the Digital Library Project, UC Berkeley)
Taxonomic information for every species of amphibian in the world. It included
descriptions, life history, conservation, references, photos and range maps.
The Center for North American Amphibians and Reptiles (CNAAR)
Center for Reptile and Amphibian Conservation and Management
Crocodilian Sites on the Web (Crocodile Specialist Group)
The EMBL
Reptile database (European Molecular Biology Laboratory)
Taxonomic data,including scientific names, synonyms, distributions and related
data for all reptile species.
FrogWeb: Amphibian Declines & Malformations, Center for Biological Informatics, USGS
Herpetology, Pacific Southwest Research Station, USDA Forest Service
North American Amphibian
Monitoring Program (Patuxent Wildlife Research Center, USGS)
A searchable database of literature and reports dealing with the decline among
the amphibian species.
Partners in Amphibian and Reptile Conservation (PARC)
Savannah River Ecology Laboratory Herpetology Program
Society for the Study of Amphibians and Reptiles(SSAR)
Wisconsin Frog and Toad Survey (WFTS)
Birds
American Ornithologists' Union
Bird Checklists of the United States (USGS Northern Prairie Wildlife Research Center)
BirdNet (Ornithological Council)
International Crane Foundation
National Wild Turkey Federation
Ornithological Worldwide Literature
Pheasants Forever
Quail Unlimited
Raptor Center (University of Minnesota)
Raptor Information System, USGS, Snake River Field Station
Searchable
Ornithological Research Archive (SORA)
Smithsonian
Migratory Bird Center
Wisconsin Society for Ornithology
Wisconsin Waterfowl Association
Fish
Bring Back the Natives--Conservation of Native Fishes , USDA Forest Service
Fishes of Wisconsin by George C. Becker (the entire book in an electronic format)
Fish & Aquatic Ecology Unit, USDA Forest Service
Great Lakes Indian Fish and Wildlife Commission
National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS), NOAA Fisheries Service
North American Native Fishes Association
University of Washington, Fish Collection
WDNR Bureau of Fisheries Management & Habitat Protection
Endangered Species
Endangered Species Program, US Fish & Wildlife Service
EPA Endangered
Federal Register - Endangered Species
Record of all the US federal regulations and proposals, including the latest
dealing with endangered species.
Indiana Endangered
Wildlife
Indiana list of endangered species and research, management, educational efforts,
and land acquisition for endangered species.
Illinois Endangered
Species Protection Board
Illinois endangered species list and state protection act.
Iowa Threatened and
Endangered Species Protection Program
Brief description of Iowa's program with a link to its list of endangered and
threatened species.
Minnesota
DNR-Divison of Ecological Resources
Links to Minnesota's rare and endangered species, scientific and natural areas,
publications, and information about the state's habitats.
NatureServe
Network of resources and information addressing endangered species and threatened
ecosystems.
Species
Protected under the Endangered Species Act, NOAA Fisheries
List of endangered marine species.
Wisconsin DNR-Endangered
Resources
Wisconsin endangered resources programs, management plans and Natural Heritage
Inventory, and reports on rare species, non-game species, invasive species,
and state natural areas.
Hot Topics
Avian Influenza
Avian Influenza (Bird Flu), CDC (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention)
Avian Influenza (Bird Flu), USDA
Avian Influenza: Frequently Asked Questions, World Health Organization
Spotlight: The Spread of Avian Influenzavirus H5N1, 2005, CAB International
Chronic Wasting Disease
Chronic Wasting Disease Research Guide, Steenbock Library
Chronic Wasting Disease Resources, AGNIC Wildlife Damage Management
Chronic
Wasting Disease and Wisconsin Deer, Wisconsin DNR
Basic information on Chronic Wasting Disease, maps of deer harvesting, surveillance
for CWD in Wisconsin and cases of CWD in the US, and other related links.
USDA,
APHIS Chronic Wasting Disease Page
USDA Veterinary Services factsheets, news releases, CWD statistics, and links
to state programs.
Climate Change
Center for Climatic Research, UW-Madison, Nelson Institute
Conducts disciplinary and interdisciplinary research on past and present state of global climate and its impact upon ecosystems.
Center for Sustainability and the Global Environment, UW-Madison, Nelson Institute
Conducts interdisciplinary research on the changing and complex relationships between global environmental systems and human activity.
Climate, World Health Organization
Links to fact sheets and publications about the human-health impacts of global climate change.
Climate Change, Environmental Protection Agency
Site supplies links to information regarding the 'state of knowledge', health and environmental effects, United States climate policy, and practical, personal action.
Climate Program Office, NOAA
Site supplies links to climate data (archived and outlook), interactive analysis tools, and reports and publications regarding global climate change.
Union of Concerned Scientists
In addition to the tab, "global warming", site supplies information--news and publications--about clean energy, invasive species, food quality and sustainability, and security-related issues.
West Nile Virus
CDC
West Nile Virus Information, Division of Vector-Borne Infectious
Disease
Information page includes general background information, publications, slide
presentations, news & press releases, and other related links.
APHIS
West Nile Virus Surveillance, USDA Animal & Plant Health Inspection
Service
Site includes factsheets, APHIS-VS Emergency Management Operations Center (EMOC)
Notices/Warnings, case maps, and current status reports.
WestNileFever.Com
Factsheets, symptom & prevention information, maps of cases and news releases
for the general public.
USGS
West Nile Virus Page
US Geological Survey's news and links related to West Nile Virus.
West Nile Virus
Maps
From the National Atlas of the United States®.
Internet Gateway
BiologyBrowser, Biosis
Portal designed to connect researchers with free, useful life sciences resources,
news and conference announcements.
Natural Selection, Natural History
Museum, London
Gateway to evaluated Internet resources covering such academic disciplines
as botany, zoology, palaeontology, ecology and environmental science.
Books/Background Reading
MadCat
Search for books and background reading in MadCat -
Library Catalog. More
about Madcat
Useful subject terms in the area of wildlife ecology are:
Electronic Publications
Field Manual of Wildlife Diseases, National Wildlife Health Center, USGS
National Environmental Publications Internet Site (NEPIS) (Full-text EPA publications)
National Wetlands Inventory - Reports & Publications
University of Wisconsin Extension, Cooperative Extension Publications
Wisconsin Breeding Bird Atlas (WBBA)
Wetland
Restoration Handbook for Wisconsin Landowners
Cover and text of handbook from Wisconsin DNR to assist landowners wanting
to restore wetlands on their property.
Wildlife
and Your Land Series
Wisconsin DNR publications designed for the landowner interested in managing
land for wildlife protection.
Statistics/Facts
Endangered Species, North American Association for Environmental Education
IUCN Red List of Threatened Species
World Conservation Monitoring Centre
People, Places, Organizations
UW-Madison
Libraries
Departments
- Gaylord Nelson Institute for Environmental Studies
- School of Veterinary Medicine
- Department of Forest and Wildlife Ecology
- Zoology
Centers
- Arboretum
- Center for Limnology
- Land Information & Computer Graphics Facility (LICGF)
- Molecular and Environmental Toxicology Center
- Water Resources Institute
State
Federal
- The Bureau of Land Management (BLM)
- Department of the Interior
- Environmental Protection Agency
- Fish and Wildlife Service
- National Park Service
- National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Fisheries
- National Wildlife Refuge System , US Fish & Wildlife Service
- Natural Resources Conservation Service, USDA
Organizations
- Great Lakes Information Network
- The Nature Conservancy
- National Wildlife Federation
- Sierra Club
- Wildlife Management Institute
- The Wildlife Society
- UW Student Chapter of The Wildlife Society
Calendars/Conferences
Agricultural Conferences, Meetings, Seminars Calendar (AgNic)
Papers Invited,
(Business One, Inc. product)
Useful, searchable resource for tracking calls for papers and conference information.
Public and subscription features, student opportunites.
Jobs and Funding
Job Hunting
- American Fisheries Society Jobs Bulletin
- CALS Career Services (UW-Madison)
- Employment Opportunities in Wildlife & Fisheries, TAMU
- Job Hunting on the Internet (from Drop-in Workshop at Steenbock)
- National Park Service Employment Information
- National Wildlife Federation, Conservation Career Gateway
- Ornithological Societies of North America
- Peace Corps
- Riley Guide: Employment Opportunities and Job Resources on the Internet
- Society of Wetland Scientists
- Student Conservation Association (SCA)
- USA Jobs--federal job opportunities
- Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources Employment Opportunities
Grants and Funding Opportunities
Community of Science
On-line resource for networking with colleagues, promoting research, and seeking
funding opportunities.
Grants Information Collection
Collection of resources dedicated to scholarships, fellowships, grants, and
other funding opportunities.
This page available at http://steenbock.library.wisc.edu/subjectguide/wildlife.htm
Please send comments about this page to: Karen Dunn
