Home >> Subject Guides >> Veterinary
Medicine
Journal & Research Databases
| General Databases | Newspapers and Popular Magazines |
General Databases
| Agricola | Animal science, biology, breeding, nutrition and veterinary science. | |
| Agricola | Animal science, biology, breeding, nutrition and veterinary science. More about Agricola | |
| Biological Abstracts | Journal literature covering virtually every life science discipline including biochemistry, biotechnology, clinical and experimental medicine, immunology, microbiology, neuroscience, pharmacology, public health and toxicology. | |
| Biological Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, Meetings) | Life science books, conference proceedings, meeting papers and research reviews. Journal articles are indexed in Biological Abstracts. | |
| CAB Abstracts | Veterinary science, animal health, animal nutrition, helminthology, protozoology, veterinary entomology, and mycology. | |
| CONSULTANT | CONSULTANT is a diagnostic support system
developed by Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine
and is used to suggest possible diagnoses or causes for clinical
signs and symptoms and to provide a brief synopsis of the
diagnosis/cause. CONSULTANT is supported by a database consisting
of approximately 500 signs/symptoms, about 7,000 diagnoses/causes,
and about 18,000 literature references including over 3000
web references.
|
|
| Current Veterinary Journals (Universite de Montreal) | Provides tables of contents and instructions for authors for over 160 veterinary journals. | |
| Fish & Fisheries Worldwide | Biology, nutrition, parasites, and diseases of fish. | |
| Ingenta | Veterinary and animal science journals are included among the 18,000 journals covered by this table of contents and document delivery service. Updated monthly. | |
| International Veterinary Information Service (IVIS) | Access to original clinical reviews on a wide variety of veterinary topics. Must Register. | |
| PrimateLit | Provides access to the scientific literature on nonhuman primates spanning 1940 to the present and includes all publication categories (articles, books, abstracts, technical reports, dissertations, book chapters, etc.) and many subject areas (behavior, colony management, ecology, reproduction, field studies, disease models, veterinary science, psychology, physiology, pharmacology, evolution, taxonomy, developmental and molecular biology, genetics and zoogeography). | |
| PsycINFO | Includes articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, book reviews, and other publications in psychology including subjects such as behavior, cognition, communication, and perception in humans and animals. | |
| PubMed | Although PubMed focuses mainly on human medicine, it contains information on veterinary diagnosis and treatment, animal testing, research, rights, and regulation. Coverage of veterinary journals has increased in recent years. More about PubMed | |
| TEKTRAN Database | Database from the USDA Agricultural Research Service which includes results of recent research in animal well-being, diseases, nutrition, parasites, and reproduction. | |
| Toxline | Toxline, National Library of Medicine's production, covers the pharmacological, biochemical, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals. | |
| Veterinary Conference Proceedings | Tables of contents and indexes to subjects and authors. | |
| Web of Knowledge | Veterinary and animal science journals are included among the 8000 international journals that WOK covers. Updated weekly. Best for finding articles citing a particular author or paper. Steenbock Library offers an Alert Service whereby a weekly search can be run against Web of Knowledge with results delivered automatically to your email. | |
| Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide | Biology, nutrition, parasites, and diseases of wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. | |
| Zoological Record | Animal ecology, physiology, taxonomy, evolution, life history, morphology, and nomenclature. Veterinary medicine is covered selectively. | |
| Academic Search (1984-) | Academic Search is a full text database of more than 3000 journals covering a broad range of material. | |
| NEXIS (LEXIS/NEXIS) Academic Universe Web | LEXIS/NEXIS ACADEMIC UNIVERSE is an online service composed of approximately 5,000 legal, news, reference, and business sources. Mostly full text. | |
| ProQuest Newspapers | ProQuest Newspapers lists articles from 41 national and Wisconsin newspapers, and includes full text for most. | |
| ProQuest Research Library (1988-) | ProQuest Research Library indexes more than 2,000 periodicals, and provides the full text of nearly 1,000 of them. |
Resources by Topic
Gateways
- Veterinary Medicine
- NetVet
- WWW Virtual Library-Veterinary Medicine
- Martindale's Virtual Veterinary Center
- HealthWeb - Veterinary Medicine
- AltVetWeb (Alternative Veterinary Medicine)
- EpiVetNet (Epidemiology)
- Medicine
- Animals
- Agriculture
Reference: Directories, Glossaries, Links, Etc.
- BioABACUS (New Mexico State University)
- Clinical Epidemiology and Evidence-Based Medicine Glossary (John M. Gay, Washington State University)
- Definitions and Abbreviations of Veterinary Terms (Washington State University)
- Life Science Dictionary
- Medical Dictionary (CancerWeb)
- Medical Dictionary (MedicineNet)
- Medical Dictionary (Merriam-Webster)
- Medical Encyclopedia (Medline Plus, National Library of Medicine)
- Merck Manual (free but must register)
- Merck Veterinary Manual Electronic version of the Merck Veterinary Manual searchable by topic, species, specialty, disease, and keyword.
- Multilingual Dictionary of the Horse
- Multilingual Glossary of Technical and Popular Medical Terms
Saunder's Comprehensive Veterinary Dictionary - Veterinary Abbreviations and Acronyms
Veterinary Journals
- UW-Madison Electronic Journals
- Free Medical Journals.com
- NetVet-Veterinary Publications and References
- MedBioWorld
- University of Washington's Health Links
- Current Veterinary Journals
Author Resources
Veterinary Education/Instruction Materials/Exams
- Veterinary Programs (NetVet)
- Veterinary Internship Residency Matching Program
- CLIVE: Computer-aided Learning in Veterinary Education (UK Veterinary Schools)
- CONVINCE - Database of CAI educational programs
- Penn Vet: Computer-Aided Learning Pilot Project (University of Pennsylvania)
- Veterinary Anatomy and Radiology (University of Georgia)
- Veterinary Instructional Materials Online (University of Florida)
- Veterinary Studies (Murdoch University, Perth, Western Australia)
Animal Alternatives Databases and Resources
- AVAR: Alternatives in Education Database (Association of Veterinarians for Animal Rights)
- Alternatives to Skin Irritation Testing in Animals
- Altweb: Alternatives to Animal Testing on the Web (Johns Hopkins Center for Alternatives to Animal Testing)
- Altweb: Pain Management Database
- Animal Welfare Information Center (US Department of Agriculture)
- Animal Welfare Institute Laboratory Animals Databases Primate Enrichment Database, Lab Animal Refinement Database, and Database of Refinement and Environmental Enrichment for All Laboratory Animals
- Animal Behavior and Welfare Sites
- ANZCCART: Australian and New Zealand Council for the Care of Animals in Research and Teaching
- Bibliography: Alternatives to the Use of Live Vertebrates in Biomedical Research and Testing (National Library of Medicine)
- Biographics Laboratory 3R Computational Alternatives to Animal Testing
- Center for Alternatives to Animal Testing (Johns Hopkins)
- Comprehensive Search Strategies for Animal Research Protocols (University of California Center for Animal Alternatives)
- CRIS: Current Research Information System (USDA) Reporting system for USDA funded research projects.
- CRISP: Computer Retrieval of Information on Scientific Projects (National Institutes of Health)
- EURCA: European Resources Center for Alternatives in Higher Education
- FRAME: Fund for the Replacement of Animals in Medical Experiments
- IACUC.ORG (Institutional Animal Care and Use Committees)
- ILAR (Institute for Laboratory Animal Research)
- Laboratory Animal Resources (University of Wisconsin School of Medicine)
- NCA (Netherlands Centre Alternatives to Animal Use)
- NICEATM/ICCVAM
- NORINA Audiovisual alternatives to laboratory animals in teaching.
- Research Animal Resources Center (UW-Madison)
- University of California Center for Animal Alternatives
Hot Topics
- Chronic Wasting Disease
- Chronic Wasting Disease (Steenbock Library)
- Disaster Response
- Disaster Response: Top 10 Ways to Make a Real Impact (Blood-Horse Publications)
- Mad Cow Disease
- Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy (BSE) (USDA)
- BSE Information Links & Resources (Washington State University)
- BSE Inquiry
- Center for Veterinary Medicine : Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy
- Cows for Fear: Is BSE a Threat to Human Health (National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences)
- Extension Responds: BSE, Bovine Spongiform encephalopathy (Mad Cow Disease)
- FAO Bovine spongiform encephalopathy publication
- Information Concering BSE For the Scientific World
- Q &A Regarding Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy and Creutzfeldt-Jakob Disease (CDC)
- Foot and Mouth Disease
- Foot and Mouth Disease (University of Georgia)
- Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons
- VetGate
Veterinary Discussion Forums
- NetVet-Veterinary
and Animal Mailing Lists: includes more than 100 mailing
lists to join
- VETPLUS-L (Veterinary Professionals List) provides an electronic forum for veterinarians, physicians, and professionals in related fields to discuss animal health topics. It serves as a place for professionals and scholars to interact and discuss special issues relating to animal care and management.
- Veterinary Information Network a veterinary information source available by subscription
- AVMA Discussion Groups a veterinary information source available by subscription
Species
Electronic Zoo (Comprehensive animal site organized by animal species. Also includes links to animal images and sound files)
Avian | Bovine | Canine | Caprine | Equine | Feline | Laboratory Animals | Ovine | Primates | Reptilian and Amphibian | Swine | Wildlife and Fish | General Animal Sites | Pets |
Avian
- On Avian Botulism (National Wildlife Health Center)
- Avian Cholera (National Wildlife Health Center)
- Avian Influenza (World Health Organization)
- Avian Pox (National Wildlife Health Center)
- Chicken Genome Mapping Project Wageningen University
- Field Manual of Wildlife Diseases:General Field Procedures and Diseases of Birds(National Wildlife Health Center)
- US Poultry Genome Project (USDA-CSREES)
- Poultry Links (US Poultry Genome Project)
- Raptor Center
- Raptor Clinical Cases (Raptor Center)
- Raptor Information System Large collection of literature on birds of prey, with approximately 30,000 references on raptor biology and management
- Ratite Database Bibliographic information on ostriches, emus, rheas and cassowaries. Site is no longer maintained.
- Respiratory Infections in Domestic Poultry Flocks (NebGuide, Nebraska)
- Recognition of Parthenogenesis in Incubated Turkey Eggs (Oregon State University)
- Diseases of Psittachine Birds (University of Georgia)
- Turkey Taxonomy (National Center for Biotechnology Information, NCBI)
- Poultry Injections and Venipuncture Sites (University of Arizona)
- Vaccination Guide for the Small Poultry Flock (NebGuide, Nebraska)
Bovine
- About Bovine Ocular Neoplasia (NebGuide, Nebraska)
- BOVMAP -
Laboratoire de génétique biochimique - Jouy-en-Josas,
Institut
National de Recherche Agronomioue, Paris, France - Cattle Genome Mapping Project - Meat Animal Research Center (MARC), USDA
- Dairy Cattle Reproduction and Health Publications (Univ. of Florida)
- Foot and Mouth Disease (Hot Topics Section)
- priondata.org
- Johne's Information Center (Univ. of Wisconsin-Madison)
- National Animal Genome Research Program (CSREES)
- Bovine Digital Skin
Lesions - D. Döpfer, Tierärztliche Hochschule Hannover
(TiHo),
Bundesrepublik Deutschland (Germany) - Immunogenetics of Bovine Leukemia Virus (BLV) Infection in Cattle (Texas A&M University)
- Mad Cow Disease (Hot Topics Section)
- Beef Cattle Management and Health Calendar (University of Florida)
- Health
Management and Recommended Vaccinations for Dairy Replacements (University
of Nebraska, Lincoln)
Canine
- Breeds (American Kennel Club)
- Canine Emergency Drugs Calculator (Colorado State University)
- Color Vision in the Dog (Dr Jay Neitz et al, Medical College of Wisconsin)
- Deafness in Dogs and Cats (Louisiana State University)
- Dr. P's Dog Training (UW-Stevens Point)
- Dog Owner's Guide
- Dog Age Calculator (Cindy's K-9 Clips)
- Dog Breed Information and Photos (University of Minnesota)
- DOGMAP - International Society for Animal Genetics, Switzerland
- The FHCRC Dog Genome Project Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
- Greyhound Research Database Over 1,500 citations and abstracts regarding Greyhound research, including clinical research by practicing veterinarians.
- International Greyhound Research
Database
Caprine
- Goatmap Database (Institut National de la Recherche Agronomique (INRA), France)
- Meat Goat Vaccination Program ( GoatWorld.com)
Equine
- Art and Science of Equine Production ( University of Kentucky)
- Welcome to the Land of Lameness (University of Pennsylvania)
- Equine/Horse Dental Care Guide
- Equine Dentistry Cases
- Equine Health Care (Bayer Corporation)
- Foal Vaccination Schedule (Great Lakes Veterinary Clinic, Neenah, WI)
- Horse Genetics (University of California, Davis)
- Horse Vaccination Schedule (Davie County Large Animal Hospital, PA)
- Internal Parasites of Horses (University of Georgia)
- Joint Structure (Bayer Corporation)
- Multilingual Dictionary of the Horse
- Radiology and the Purchase Exam in Performance and Sport Horses (University of Pennsylvania)
Feline
- Cat Age Calculator (Animal Protective Association)
- Cat Drug Dosage Calculator
- Cat Fanciers Glossary
- CFA Cat Breeds (Cat Fanciers' Association)
- Dissection Guide: Cat (University of Alberta)
- Deafness in Dogs and Cats (Louisiana State University)
- Feline Health Center (Cornell University)
- Feline Kidney Transplantation (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
- Feline Leukemia Virus FAQ
- Feline Practice Guidelines (American Association of Feline Practitioners)
- Feline Taxonomy (National Center for Biotechnology Information)
- Feline Emergency Drugs Calculator (Colorado State University)
- Feline Vaccination Guidelines (Winn Feline Foundation)
- Gestation Calendar
- Virtual Cat Anatomy (Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College)
Laboratory Animals (rat, mouse, etc.)
- Atlas of Developmental Abnormalities in Common Laboratory Mammals (International Federation of Teratology Societies)
- Micro MRI Atlas of the Mouse (California Institute of Technology
- Drug Dosage Calculator for Rabbits and Formulary (Charcoal & Ash Rescue Koalition)
- Dissection of the Male Rat (Cornell University)
- Edinburgh Mouse Atlas (University of Edinburgh, UK)
- European Collaborative Interspecific Mouse Backcross Database (MBx)
- High Resolution Mouse Brain Atlas ( Harvard Medical School)
- Histology Atlas of the Mouse Mammary Gland (National Institutes of Health)
- Mouse Brain Library and Atlas (University of Tennessee)
- Mouse Genome Informatics (Jackson Laboratory)
- NIH Mouse Initiative Web Site (National Institutes of Health)
- NIH Rat Genomics and Genetics (National Institutes of Health)
- RATMAP Rat Genome Database (Roslin
Institute, Edinburgh, UK)
Ovine
- Arkdb Sheep Database (Roslin Institute, Edinburgh, UK)
- Sheep Genome Maps (Meat Animal Research Center, USDA)
- Sheep Diseases: Scrapie (Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, United States Department of Agriculture)
- The Use of Vaccines in Sheep (University of Minnesota)
- Vaccinations in Sheep Flocks (NebGuide, Nebraska)
Primates
- Apes Project (National Human Genome Research Institute, NIH)
- PrimateLit (UW-Madison Primate Research Center)
- Primate Info Net (UW-Madison Primate Research Center)
- Primate Taxonomy (National Center for Biotechnology Information, NCBI)
Reptiles and Amphibians
- Amphibian Embryology Tutorial (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
- Crocodilian Biology Database (Crocodile Specialists Group)
- Diseases of Reptiles and Amphibians (University of Georgia)
- EMBL Reptile Database (European Molecular Biology Laboratory)
- Reptile Medicine Cases (Ohio State)
- XENBASE: A Xenopus Web
- XTROPICALIS (University of Virginia)
Swine
- American Association of Swine Veterinarians
- USDA Veterinary Services-Swine.
- ARKdb Pig Database (Roslin Institute)
- Pig Gene Mapping (Iowa State University)
- Swine Genome Mapping Project (Meat Animal Research Center, USDA)
- Swine Testing and Genetics Evaluation System (Purdue University)
- Pig Injection Techniques (Rural NI Portal)
Wildlife and Fish
- Invasive Pathogens and Emerging Diseases in Wildlife
- Chronic Wasting Disease (Steenbock Library)
- Comparative Placentation
- Field Manual of Wildlife Diseases:General Field Procedures and Diseases of Birds (National Wildlife Health Center)
Fish & Fisheries
Worldwide Biology, nutrition, parasites, and diseases of
fish.
Wildlife and Ecology Studies
Worldwide Biology, nutrition, parasites, and diseases of
wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians.
WildPro - Wildlife Quick Guide (Steenbock Library)
- Zoo and Wild Animal Veterinary Dental Care (ZOODENT International, London, U.K.)
- Parasitic and Infectious Diseases of White-Tailed Deer in Oklahoma () Oklahoma State University
- Diseases of Exotic Animals and Wildlife (University of Georgia)
- Aquaculture Health Page
General
- Livestock Breeds (Oklahoma State Univ.)
- Animal Connections (Texas A&M)
- How Well Do Dogs and Other Animals Hear? (Louisiana State University)
- ADDS Center Databases
- Animal Congregations, or What Do You Call a Group Of.....? (Northern Prairie Wildlife Research Center)
- Manual of Standards for Diagnostic Tests and Vaccines (Office international des épizooties)
Pets
- ASPCA
- American Kennel Club
- American Veterinary Medical Association Presents: Care for Pets (Iowa State Univ.)
- Calling All Pets (University of Wisconsin Extension and Wisconsin Public Radio)
- MedlinePlus--National Library of Medicine
- Pet Education
- Pet Loss Support Hotline
- Waltham World of Pet Care
Specialties
Alternative Medicine
- Lectures on Acupuncture (Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece)
- Alternative Veterinary Medicine
Anatomy
- Comparative Mammalian Brain Collections
- Amphibian Embryology Tutorial
- UWMS Histology (University of Wisconsin Medical School)
- CALnet Programmes for Veterinary Science Students (University of Bristol, U.K. & University College Dublin, Ireland
- Neurscience 0004 (University of Pennsylvania)
- Veterinary Dissection Images (University College Dublin, Ireland)
- Abdomen and Pelvis Dissection Guides (University College Dublin, Ireland)
- Small Animal Nephrology and Urology Notes
Cardiology
- Auscultation Library: Breath Sounds, Bovine, Equine, Canine, Feline, Etc. (Colorado State University)
- Case Studies in Small animal Cardiovascular Medicine (UC Davis)
- Veterinary Cardiology Online
Clinical Medicine
- Clinical Problem Solving in Internal Medicine (Ohio State University)
- Clinical Skills (University of Minnesota)
- Veterinary Clinical Medicine (Priory Lodge Education Ltd.)
- Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care Medicine (Colorado State University)
- Advanced Veterinary Life Support - Animal CPR for Dogs and Cats (Park East Animal Hospital)
- EMS and Veterinary Medicine
- EMS and Veterinary Medical Materials (Park East Animal Hospital, Manhattan, N.Y.)
- Enteral Nutrition Calculator for Dogs and Cats (Colorado State University)
- Small Animal Medicine - Infectious Diseases (Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine)
- Small Animal Respiratory Medicine (REALPLAYER) (Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine)
- Seizures
in Dogs (Ohio State University)
Dentistry
- Cases (Academy of Veterinary Dentistry (AVD))
Dermatology
- Dermatology Case Review (Oklahoma State University)
Diseases, Viruses, Parasites
- Animal Diseases (Univ. of Nebr. Lincoln)
- Veterinary Parasitology Image Gallery (University of Wisconsin)
- Diagnosis of Veterinary Endoparasitic Infection (University of Pennsylvania)
- Veterinary Clinical Parasitology Images (Oklahoma State University)
- Veterinary Parasitology 5333 (Oklahoma State University)
- Johne's Information Center
- Virus Databases On-Line The Universal Virus Database and other databases providing reference collections, tutorials, images and genome data.
- Veterinary Virology (University of Saskatchewan)
- Animal Virus Databases (Institute for Animal Health, U.K.)
- Electron Micrographs of Animal Viruses (Queens University of Belfast)
- Viral Diseases of Animals (University of Saskatchewan)
- Zoonotic Diseases (University of California, Santa Barbara)
- Zoonotic Diseases: Parasitic Diseases Spread from Animals to People (Centers for Disease Control & Prevention)
- Animal Diseases (KIBIC, Stockholm, Sweden)
- Foreign
Animal Disease Report (United States Department of Agriculture)
- Bacterial Names with Standing
in Nomenclature (Nationale Vétérinaire de Toulouse,
France)
- Veterinary Parasitology
Epidemiology
- Office International des Epizooties Provides full-text links to many OIE publications.
- Veterinary Epidemiology and Evidence-based Medicine Papers (John M. Gay, Washington State University) A list of basic veterinary epidemiology resources
- Hot Topics: Chronic Wasting Disease, Foot and Mouth Disease, Mad Cow Disease
- Clinical Epidemiology and Evidence-Based Medicine Glossary (Washington State University)
- Epidemiology Concepts for Disease in Animal Groups (Washington State University)
- Epidemiology and Biostatistics (University of Pittsburgh)
Genetics
- NCBI Entrez Taxonomy Homepage
- Online Mendelian Inheritance in Animals References to Mendelian inheritance literature for animal species other than the human, rat and mouse. More about Online Mendelian Inheritance in Animals
- Online Cytogenetics of Animals References to the literature of cytogenetics.
- Population Genetics Royal Veterinary and Agricultural University
Histology
- Self-Teaching Programme Histology
- UWMS Histology (University of Wisconsin Medical School)
- Internet Guide to Veterinary Microscopic Anatomy (University of Florida)
- Laboratory Exercises: Veterinary Histology (Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine)
Neurology
Oncology
- Veterinary Oncology -OncoLink (University of Pennsylvania)
Ophthalmology
- Canine
Cataract Surgery (University of Wisconsin)
- Ophthalmology Case of the Month (American Society of Veterinary Ophthalmology)
- Veterinary Ophthalmology Information Centre (Eyevet Consulting Services, Canada)
- Ophthalmology (Ohio State University)
- Diagnostic Spotlight (Canine Eye Registration Foundation)
Pathology
- ACVP Virtual Pathology Slide Conference (American College of Veterinary Pathologists (ACVP))
- Ophthalmic Pathology Cases (University of Georgia)
- Bristol Biomedical Image Archive (University of Bristol)
- Clinical Pathology Lecture (Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine)
- Clinical Pathology Modules (Cornell University)
- Necropsy Show and Tell (Cornell University)
- The 47th Pathology of Laboratory Animals (POLA) Course (Armed Forces Institute of Pathology (AFIP))
- Veterinary Pathology Investigative Techniques (Vetcutis, U.K)
- Veterinary Pathology Tutorials (University of Bristol)
Pharmacology
- FDA Approved Animal Drug Products Online Database Center for Veterinary Medicine (CVM), FDA
- Food Animal Residue Avoidance Database Current drug label information, official tolerances for drugs and pesticides, descriptions of screening tests and the effects of chemicals in food animals. More about Food Animal Residue Avoidance Database
- Green Book - FDA Approved Animal Drug List Listing of all FDA approved animal drugs and methods for use from 1989 to the present. More about Green Book
- Mosby's Drug Consult
- RxList - The Internet Drug Index
- Case Studies in Clinical Pharmacology (University of Pennsylvania)
- Therapeutic Drug Monitoring (Texas A&M University)
- CVM/FDA On-line Library (Center for Veterinary Medicine (CVM), FDA)
- Formulary - Veterinary Formulary (University of Minnesota)
- Veterinary Emergency Drug Calculators (Colorado State University)
Radiology
- Radiology
Teaching (Ohio State University)
- Veterinary
Radiology and Ultrasound - Colored Illustrations Index (American
College of Veterinary Radiology)
- Uroradiology (Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine)
Surgery
- ACVS Sample Certification Examination Questions)(American College of Veterinary Surgeons, Inc
- Fracture Planning (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
- Principles of Surgery (University of Pennsylvania)
- Surgery Lab Techniques: VM 545 (Michigan State University)
- Textbook of Small Animal Orthopaedics (University of Pennsylvania)
- Anesthesia and Analgesia: Veterinary Medical Care (Stanford University)
Theriogenology
- Animations for Learning Reproductive Biology in Animals (Oklahoma State University)
- Embryology (UNSW Embryology, University of New South Wales, Australia)
- Animal Science - Reproductive Physiology (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
- Biology of the Mammary Gland Database (National Institutes of Diabetes, Digestive and Kidney Diseases, NIH)
- Lactation Biology (University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign)
Toxicology
- TOXNET Developmental and reproductive toxicology, environmental teratology. More about TOXNET
- Compendium of Pesticide Common Names (Alan Wood)
- Extension Toxicology Network (EXTOXNET)
- Canadian Poisonous Plants Information Service (Agriculture and Agri_Food Canada)
- Guide to Poisonous and Toxic Plants (US Army Center for Health Promotion and Preventive Medicine)
- Plants Toxic to Animals (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
- Poisonous Plants Information Database (Cornell University)
- Poisonous Plant Database (US Food and Drug Administration)
Urology
- Small Animal Medicine II: Urogenital System (Washington State University)
- Small Animal Nephrology and Urology (University of Wisconsin)
Books/Background Reading
MadCat
Seach for books and backround reading in MadCat - library Catalog. More about Madcat
Statistics/Facts
- This section is under development.
People, Places, Organizations
UW-Madison | State | National | International | Libraries and Information Centers
UW-Madison
State
National
- American Veterinary Medical Association
- Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS)
- Animal Welfare Information Center
- Centers for Epidemiology and Animal Health (CEAH)
- FDA Center for Veterinary Medicine
- National Wildlife Health Center
- U.S. Department of Agriculture
International
Libraries and
Information Centers
- Steenbock Memorial Library (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
- Online Veterinary Libraries (veterinary medicine libraries around the world)
- Medical Library Association-Veterinary Medical Library Section
- U.C. Davis Center for Animal Alternatives
Jobs and Funding
Job Leads
- North Carolina Veterinary Medicine Association Help Wanted Veterinarians
- UW-Madison School of Veterinary Medicine job opportunities
- Veterinary Practice News
- Veterinaryjobs.com
- VetClassifieds.com
- VetQuest Classifieds
- Vet Recruiter
- USDA Job Search
Veterinary Careers
This page available at http://steenbock.library.wisc.edu/subjectguide/vetsites.htm
Please send comments about this page to: Barbara Hamel
