General Guides to Statistical and Data Resources
Internet Crossroads in Social Science Data, UW Data and Program Library Service
Searchable index to over 825 annotated links to data-related resources on the Internet
Undergraduate Research Guide: Statistics, College Library
Describes sources of statistics from books in their collection and web sites
on a variety of topics.
U.S. Census Resources on the Web: Introduction, Memorial Library
Describes and links to web sites that contain data collected by and statistics published by U.S. Census Bureau. Includes cautions and tips for using these sites.
Agrofood Systems Statistics
Agricultural
Statistical Resources on the Internet, Steenbock Library
Annotated list of international, national, and state and regional ag statistics.
Data and Statistics, USDA, National Agricultural Statistics Service
National, state, and county-level agricultural statistics are available for
many commodities and other agricultural topics. Sections include Quick Stats, which offers the ability to query by
commodity, state(s) and year(s), and censuses of agriculture, 1987-2002. Also includes interactive census maps for 2002, NASS online publications, and searchable statistics by state for all US states, including Statistics by State: Wisconsin.
Food Security Statistiics, Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
Downloadable statistics and maps, worldwide coverage.
Statistics on Cooperatives, UW Center for Cooperatives
Statistical reports on food cooperatives.
Community and Population Statistics
American Fact Finder, US Census Bureau
Easy way to find Census 2000 information. "Your source for population, housing, economic and geographic data."
CDC
Wonder, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Provides a wide variety of reports and statistical public health data.
ChildStats.gov
Official web site of the Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics.
County and city extra : annual metro, city, and county data book
Print resource available in campus libraries, began publication in 1992.
FedStats: gateway to statistics from over 100 U.S. Federal agencies
Access official statistics collected and published by more than 100 Federal agencies without having to know in advance which agency produces them.
Kids Count Online Data, Anna E. Casey Foundation
Collection of databases with state-level, community-level and census data on the status of children in the United States. Options include the ability to generate custom profiles, line graphs, maps, and
rankings, and download raw data.
National Center for Children in Poverty
Child Poverty Facts and State and Local Info links have statistical information.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Contains U.S statistics in many subject areas, state rankings and state profiles. Data available in pdf format, beginning with 1878 edition of the Abstract. Statistics in Brief for 2006 also available in html and Excel formats.
Statistical Resources on the Web: Health, University of Michigan Library Documents Center
Annotates many comprehensive subject and topic statistical sources. Topics include Accidents, Disease, Health Insurance, HMOs, Nursing Homes, Risk Behaviors, Substance Abuse, and many more.
UW-Madison Applied Population Laboratory (APL)
Offers reports, maps, and census profiles for Wisconsin. Reports and Maps deal with specific topics such as Wisconsin's Hispanic or Latino population, and Wisconsin Food Security. In addition to items available free online, APL will custom reports for specific populations and geographies for a fee.
WisStat
This database created by APL contains thousands of demographic and economic variables for the state of Wisconsin, its counties and smaller communities. It can be used to generate tables, county or topical profiles, or online maps.
Environment Statistics
EarthTrends: Environmental Information, World Resources Institute
Access to a collection of databases, country profiles and maps on the full range of environmental, social and economic trends that shape our world.
World Development Indicators: Data Online ![]()
WDI contains statistical data for more than 550 development indicators and time series data from 1960-2000 for more than 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.
World Development Indicators: Text Online![]()
WDI contains statistical data for more than 550 development indicators and time series data from 1960-2000 for more than 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.
History Statistics
FedStats: gateway to statistics from over 100 U.S. Federal agencies
Access official statistics collected and published by more than 100 Federal agencies without having to know in advance which agency produces them.
Historical United States Census Data Browser
The data presented here describe the people and the economy of the US for each state and county from 1790 to 1960.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
This annual compilation of U.S statistics is available in pdf format, beginning with 1878 edition of the Abstract.
International Issues Statistics
FAOSTAT: FAO Statistical Databases
A collection of online databases containing more than 1 million time-series records covering international agricultural statistics. Topics include: agricultural production, agricultural trade, food balance sheets, fertilizer and pesticides, land use and irrigation, forest products, fishery products, population, agricultural machinery and food aid shipments. Additional statistical information available from FAO's Statistics Division and from its Country Profiles and Mapping Information System.
World Development Indicators: Data Online![]()
WDI contains statistical data for more than 550 development indicators and time series data from 1960-2000 for more than 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.
World Development Indicators: Text Online![]()
WDI contains statistical data for more than 550 development indicators and time series data from 1960-2000 for more than 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.
Knowledge Systems Statistics
American Fact Finder
Easy way to find Census 2000 information from the US Census Bureau. "Your source for population, housing, economic and geographic data.
FedStats: gateway to statistics from over 100 U.S. Federal agencies
Access official statistics collected and published by more than 100 Federal agencies without having to know in advance which agency produces them.
Pew Internet and Family Life Project
The Pew Internet & American Life Project produces reports that explore the impact of the Internet on families, communities, work and home, daily life, education, health care, and civic and political life.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Contains U.S statistics in many subject areas, state rankings and state profiles. Data available in pdf format, beginning with 1878 edition of the Abstract. Statistics in Brief for 2006 also available in html and Excel formats.