Subject Guides:  Rural Sociology

Books

MadCat is the catalog of books, journals, and other materials held in UW-Madison libraries. It includes links to many documents that are available in full text. Some of these are free via the internet, while others are licensed for use only by UW faculty, staff and students.

Below are a few key reference titles. To find more books effectively by subject, try MadCat's Guided Search. (See also Help with Madcat)

Selected Reference Titles

Borgatta, E.F., and R.J.V. Montgomery, eds. (2000). Encyclopedia of sociology. New York: Macmillan. 5 v.

Dunlap, R.E., & W. Michelson, eds. (2002) Handbook of environmental sociology. Westport, CT: Greenwood.

Gorham, G.A., ed. (1997). Encyclopedia of rural America : the land and people. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO. 2 v.

Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.Johnson, A.G. (2000). The Blackwell dictionary of sociology : a user’s guide to sociological language. 2nd ed. Oxford: Blackwell. (Online version via netLibrary)

Johnson, W.A. (2006). The sociology student writer’s manual. 5th ed. Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Pearson Prentice Hall.

Magill, F.N., and H.L. Delgado, eds. (1995). International encyclopedia of sociology. London: Fitzroy Dearborn. 2 v.

Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.Palmisano, J.M., ed. (2001). World of sociology. Detroit: Gale. (Online version of this 2 volume resource is part of the xreferplus database.)

Sociology Writing Group. (2001). A guide to writing sociology papers. 5th ed. New York: Worth.

Turner, J.H., ed. (2001) Handbook of sociological theory. New York: Kluwer.

Search MadCat for additional titles