Subject Guides:  Retailing


Journal & Research Databases

Broad Coverage
Business/Retailing
Consumer Behavior
Newspapers and Popular Magazines

Broad Databases Covering Social Sciences

Academic Search Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Many academic areas including business, social sciences, and humanities. More than 3000 journals plus New York Times and Wall Street Journal. Journals included usually cover core literature for each discipline.

Business Library's Country Information Research Guide Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. free version of database
Overviews of countries including business and economics, political, and social background information.

Proquest Research Library Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Mix of more than 2000 general interest and academic journals that cover the arts, business, education, health, humanities, psychology, sciences, and the social sciences

Business/Retailing/Economics

ABI Inform Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Indexes more than 1300 scholarly and business trade periodicals. Excellent source of information on management and business including consumer behavior.

Business & Industry Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Information on public and private companies, industries, products, new technologies, market size, and trends from over 900 leading trade and business publications.

Business Source Elite Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Covers many areas of business including management, economics, finance, banking and accounting. More than 900 scholarly and popular business magazines are included.

Corporate Affiliations Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Provides corporate linkage information on more than 170,000 of the most prominent parent companies and their affiliates, subsidiaries and divisions.

Econlit Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
More than 300 scholarly English language periodicals and books in the field of economics.

Thomson Research Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Integrated online research tool that combines detailed business financial and management information with more than 6 million source documents.

more..

 Consumer Behavior

Agricola Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Indexes 2,500 journals, as well as USDA publications, Extension service documents and more. Its subject matter covers all aspects of agriculture including food safety, food preferences, nutrition, and consumer needs as they relate to agriculture. There is also a free version free version of database from the National Agriculture Library.

PsycINFO Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Produced by the American Psychological Association, it contains citations and abstracts of the world's literature in psychology and related subjects from more than 1300 journal titles from more than 50 countries.

Social Science Full Text Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Over 415 key periodicals in the fields of economics, politics and foreign affairs, public administration, public health, sociology, criminology, environmental and urban studies, psychology and anthropology.

Sociological Abstracts Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
This database indexes and abstracts 2,000 worldwide journals in sociology.

Web of Science - Social Science Citation Index Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Unique resource to search by cited authors and to find articles sharing one or more cited reference. It indexes more than 8,000 peer-reviewed journals, providing complete bibliographic data and author abstracts.

more...

Newspapers and Popular Magazines

Alternative Press Index Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Indexes approximately 300 alternative, radical, and left publications that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change. Ninety per cent of the publications indexed in API are unique; they are not covered in more mainstream indexes.

ProQuest Newspapers Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
More than 500 national, international and Wisconsin newspapers, plus other news sources. Includes Milwaukee Journal/Sentinel.

LEXIS/NEXIS Academic Universe Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Approximately 5,000 legal, news, reference, and business sources including news sources, magazines, wire services, newsletters, trade journals, company and industry analyst reports, and broadcast transcripts. Includes Wisconsin State Journal, Capital Times and Milwaukee Journal/Sentinel.

Readers' Guide Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
240 general interest periodicals covering news and current events in politics, business, science, education, religion, the arts, foreign affairs, sports and hobbies, fashion, food and cooking, and health and nutrition.

Left Index Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Provides indexing to "the diversity of literature on the left, with a primary emphasis on politically and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside the academy and a secondary emphasis on significant but little known sources of news and ideas." Topics covered include politics, economics, the labor movement, ecology and environment, women's studies, race and ethnicity, social and cultural theory, sociology, art and aesthetics, philosophy, history, education, law, and globalization.

more...

Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.= License Restricted About = open to everyone

Data Resources

Applied Population Laboratory
Provides consultation and training as well as researching current demographic and economic topics.

WisStat
Online demographic data server for Wisconsin.

Data and Program Library Service
Central repository of data collections used by the social science research community at the UW-Madison.

Internet Crossroads in Social Science Data Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Over 700 annotated links to data-related resources on the Internet.
iPOLL Databank Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Full-text, question-level retrieval system for United States public opinion back to 1935 from the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research.
DPLS Online Data Archive
Small subset of the DPLS data collection made publicly available for direct web download.
DPLS Catalog

Center for Demography and Ecology Library
Specialized collection in population studies with emphasis on particular areas in accordance with the priorities and research interests of Center faculty and staff.

CDECAT
To locate data files available at CDE.
Data Resources at CDE Information Services
Detailed descriptions of data available at CDE.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Provides access to an immense archive of social science data for research and instruction. Housed at the University of Michigan.


Print Journals and Magazines at Steenbock

Some of the current subscriptions at Steenbock library. Other historical titles may be found by searching MadCat. Print journals are located alphabetically by title, unless noted.
Architectural digest
Architectural record
Architecture : the AIA journal
Business Week (current 3 months)
Chain Store Age
Interior design
Interiors
Journal of architectural and planning research
Journal of interior design
Store windows (2000-2002)
           HF5845 S87
Storefronts and facades
          NA6225 S76
Stores
Stores and retail spaces
         NK2195 S89 S757
Stores of the year
        NK2195 S89 S76
Wisconsin architect

Other Print Journals at Business Library

Business Week
Forbes
Fortune
Harvard Business Review
Journal of retailing
 

Selected Online Subscription Journals Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.     Use CitationLinkerto locate articles.

Advertising age
Adweek
American salesman
Architectural record
Architectural review
Architecture : the AIA journal
Brandweek
Business Week
Chain store age

Dealerscope merchandising
Drug store news
DSN retailing today
Forbes
Fortune
International journal of retail & distribution management
Journal of retailing Retail merchandiser
Video store
Video store magazine

Online Free Retailing Magazines

Selected Trade Magazines

Apparel
Beverage World
Chain Store Age
Catalog Age
Convenience Store News
Counter Action (New Zealand)
DSN Retailing Today
Food Logistics
Gourmet Retailer Magazine
Home Furnishing News
National Retail Federation
Progressive Grocer
Restaurant Business
Retail Traffic
The Retail Bulletin (UK)
Shopping Centers Today
Stores
Value Retail News (Outlet Stores)
Vertical Systems Reseller

Marketing/Advertising

Advertising Age
Adweek
AKA.TV (captive audience networks)
B to B
Creative
DM News
MediaWeek

Technology

Consumer Goods Technology
Executive Technology
Eye on Retail Information Systems Newsletter
Integrated Solutions for Retailers
Retail Systems
Retail Systems (UK)
Retail Technology (UK)
RIS: Retail Information Systems

Ecommerce

Ecommerce Times
Emarkerter
Eretail News
Internet Retailer

Display/Merchandising

Display & Design Ideas
Interior design
Interiors & Sources
National Association of Store Fixture Manufacturers
Retail Merchandiser
Visual Store

General Business

Barrons
Business Week
Forbes
Fortune
Money

Link Collections

Retail Journals and Magazines
Comprehensive collection including Retail Trade, Sales and Sales Management, Marketing and Advertising, Market Analysis, Management Isuues, Small Business, General Business Magazines and Newspapers, and Business Software. From Ryerson University

Retail Industry Links (from NASFM)

Public Library Databases

ReferenceUSA Company Database
For LinkCat borrowers. "A subscription database that contains information on more than twelve million U.S. businesses and one million Canadian businesses. Data is compiled from Yellow Page and Business White Page telephone directories; annual reports, 10-Ks and other SEC information; federal, state, provincial and municipal government data; Chamber of Commerce information; leading business magazines, trade publications, newsletters, major newspapers, industry and specialty directories; and postal service information."

South Central Library System Reference Databases
Variety of databases available to LinkCat borrowers.

BadgerLink
Provides all Wisconsin residents access to Proquest and Academic Search Elite. A project of the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction (DPI).


Books and Background Reading

MadCat | WorldCat | NetLibrary | Books24x7 | Thesaurus | Recent Books @ Steenbock

Seach for books and backround reading in MadCat - the library catalog. More about Madcat
Useful subject terms in the area of Retailing are:

Advertising--Brand name products
Consumer behavior
Consumers--History
Consumption (Economics)--Social aspects--History
Department stores
Electronic commerce
Inventory control


Marketing
Merchandising
Point of sale systems
Product coding
Radio frequency identification systems
Retail trade
Retail trade--History
Retail trade--Management
Retail trade--United States--Management
Sales
Sales promotion
Self-service stores

Stores, Retail
Stores, Retail--Planning
Shopping--Computer network resources
Shopping--Psychological aspects
Shopping--Social aspects--History
Shopping centers--Planning
Shopping malls
Shopping malls--Design and construction


WorldCat Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Catalog of more than 49 million books, serials, audiovisuals and more owned by over 9,000 OCLC member libraries around the world, including UW-Madison and the Library of Congress. One of its many uses is the ability to make online interlibrary loan requests for books.

netLibrary Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. open to everyone
Online books covering many topics. Here's a sampling of recent titles:

Recent Books on Retailing at Steenbock

General Reference

DeskRef: Sources for Quick Answers

refDesk.com

 Internet Site Collections

Internet Public Library

Librarians' Index to the Internet

Library Spot.com


Statistics and Facts

Annual Reports and Filings
Company web sites also sometimes provide annual reports.

10KWizard
Streamlines SEC EDGAR research.

Securities and Exchange Commission

EDGAR
Find financial reports on public companies filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission.

Public Register’s Annual Report Service
Annual reports from a large number of participating public companies. Reports mailed to you, free of charge and within 24 hours.

Business.com

Retail Industry Overviews

Century Time Line of Retailing
From the University of Indiana Center for Retailing Education and Research in Retailing

Food Industry Center
A great variety of research on the retail food industry. From U of Minn. See publications.

Hoover's Online
Snapshots, descriptions, analysis and news for the retail industry in general and for specific segments. Includes competitor information. Subscription required for most content.

Shopping Center Census - USA
ICSC and the National Research Bureau Census provides an estimate of the total population of shopping centers.

Retail Trade Statistics

Retail and Wholesale Trade
From the U.S. Census Bureau

Advance Monthly Sales for Retail and Food Services
Monthly Retail Sales & Inventories
Quarterly Retail E-Commerce Sales
Annual Retail Trade Survey
Historical Retail Trade and Food Services
Economic Census

Annual Benchmark Report for Retail Trade - USA
U.S. Census Bureau's detailed report of retail sales, purchases, accounts receivable, and inventories for retail trade and food service from January 1992 through February 2004.

Producer Price Index
Measures the average change over time in the selling prices received by domestic producers of goods and services.

bookWho's Buying Apparel / by the New Strategist editors (2005)

- - Wisconsin Statistics

County Business Patterns, Wisconsin
Track county trends in Wisconsin.

County Workforce Profiles of Wisconsin
Information about the workforce for all Wisconsin counties, from the Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development.

Retail Sales Figures

BusinessWire Monthly Retail Report
Monthly and annual retail revenue reports into easy to use charts. Information includes most recently ended month, as well historical data back to 1997. Free registration required.

Bizstats
Includes summary of industry profitability, retail benchmarks at Sales per Foot & Sales per Store, Safest & Riskiest Small Businesses. Also the total number of US businesses and total size of US markets by Industry.

Direct Selling Statistics
From the Direct Selling Association

Monthly Chain Store Sales by Retailer
Monthly same-store comparable sales report and archives includes both the current year and historical archives, from Chain Store Age. Free registration required.

PR Wire's Monthly Sales Comparison
"On the first Thursday of each month, most major retailers issue their same-store sales figures via PR Newswire. We compile this data the same day for a company-by-company review of monthly and year-to-date results." Email notification available.

Top US Retailers

Forbe's Lists
Wide variety of rankings including largest US and world companies, "best" small and big companies and executive pay.

Top 100 Retailers - STORES
From STORES magazine, the annual review and list of the Top 100 Retailers in the USA. Includes sales figures, income, number of stores and a brief comment.

Top 100 Specialty Store Retailers - STORES
From STORES magazine, the annual review and list of the Top 100 Speciality Store Retailers in the USA. Includes volume, earnings, units and a brief comment.

Top 100 Catalogers - Catalog Age
Catalog Age annual ranking of the largest catalog companies in the United States. Includes sales and market segment information.

Top 100 Retailers - Chain Store Age
Free registration required. The top 100 retailers in the USA, including sales and profit numbers, from Chain Store Age, includes historical data back to 1996. The more recent data also has useful percentages by segment.

Fastest Growing Privately Held Companies - Inc.com

America's 50 Largest Supermarket Chains - Progressive Grocer

Top 50 Convenience Store Companies for 2002 - Convenience Store News

22 Largest Factory Outlet Center Markets for 2000 - Value Retail News

Top Global Retailers

Forbe's Lists
Wide variety of rankings including largest US and world companies, "best" small and big companies and executive pay.

Top 250 Global Retailers - STORES
From STORES magazine, the annual review and list of the Top 250 Global Retailers. Includes economic, demographic and industry insights on the global marketplace.

Top 100 Global Retailers - Chain Store Age
Free registration required. Chain Store Age lists the top 100 retailers from around the globe along with their country of origin. There are also archives going back to 1996 if you need historical data.

Top 50 Online Retailer Sites for 2004 - Internet Retailer

Business Directories

Corporate Registration Information Service (CRIS)
Locate licensed businesses, partnerships, and companies in Wisconsin.

Hoovers' Online
Short, informative profiles of major U.S. businesses and major industries. Most content subscription based.

ReferenceUSA Company Database
For LinkCat borrowers. "A subscription database that contains information on more than twelve million U.S. businesses and one million Canadian businesses. Data is compiled from Yellow Page and Business White Page telephone directories; annual reports, 10-Ks and other SEC information; federal, state, provincial and municipal government data; Chamber of Commerce information; leading business magazines, trade publications, newsletters, major newspapers, industry and specialty directories; and postal service information."

Thomas Register of American Manufacturers
Search by company name, brand name, product, or service for a brief free profile.

Wisconsin Business Information

Business Reference

Business.gov
Business information, forms, and assistance from the US government.

GreenBook
Worldwide directory of marketing research companies and services.

Madison Public Library's Business Guide
Links for small business and Wisconsin business information.

Milwaukee Public Library's Business Guide
Wide variety of business-related links.

UW-Madison Business Library's Guides to Finding Information

Classification Codes
    Standard Industrial Code
    North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)


Other Resources by Topic

How to Research a Retailer

UW-Madison Business Library's Guides to Finding Information

Wisconsin Business Information

Build Your Business (Wisconsin)
Business start-up information from Wisconsin.gov.

Madison.com's Book of Business
Find services, suppliers, and information about local business and demographics.

Madison Newspapers Community Pages
Choose "Business and Professional Organizations" for links to local business organizations.

ReferenceUSA Company Database
For LinkCat borrowers. "A subscription database that contains information on more than twelve million U.S. businesses and one million Canadian businesses. Data is compiled from Yellow Page and Business White Page telephone directories; annual reports, 10-Ks and other SEC information; federal, state, provincial and municipal government data; Chamber of Commerce information; leading business magazines, trade publications, newsletters, major newspapers, industry and specialty directories; and postal service information."

Statistics by County

UW Small Business Development Center
Information about resources, classes, and the free Small Business Access Line.

Wisconsin Business Services
Resources from state agencies, programs, and information.

Wisconsin Business Wizard
Provides information on starting and operating a business in Wisconsin.

Retail News / Press Releases

Retailing News
Free email news briefing from the National Retail Federation.

Retail Nation
Worldwide retail sector news headlines.

Department and Discount Retail News from Yahoo Finance
Also other areas such as apparel, speciality, and catalog.

Retail News Headlines from Inlumen Portal

Retail Headlines from Business Wire

Retail News from PR Newswire

Retailing News from Bizjournals.com

Retail Industry Stock Overviews from Reuters

Ecommerce

Top 50 Online Retailer Sites for 2004 - Internet Retailer

Boston Consulting Group's Publications Database
The Boston Consulting Group's detailed study on Internet retailing in Europe and the fight for market share (registration required).

Global Online Retail Study 2001
This excellent report from Ernst & Young takes a detailed look at online retailing, the changes of the past year, plus the outlook and trends for 2001 and beyond.

Retail & Consumer Products
Reports from Ernst & Young

Center for Research in Electronic Commerce
From UT Austin. Several good reports.

Online Retailing Quick Stats
Shop.com has compiled a variety of stats from many different sources. Dates are cited to help you determine which are the most current.

Advertising Spending

Data Center
Free registration required. Advertising and marketing industry data compiled by the Ad Age Research.

Internet Ad Spending 2000
CyberAtlas looks at more than $13 billion Web businesses will spend in the year 2000, according to ActivMedia Research.

Consumer Behavior

American Customer Satisfaction Index - Scores by Industry
ACSI is a cross-industry national indicator that links customer satisfaction to financial returns and is produced through a partnership among the University of Michigan Business School, the American Society for Quality and the CFI Group.

Claritas' Data Resources Free Information
"Determine the lifestyle of the people who live in your neighborhood, examine the demographics of your market area, analyze the propensity of your customers to purchase specific goods and services."

Consumer Polls

AC Nielsen Trends & Ratings
Consumer survey information on many topics. Areas covered include consumer loyalty, market dynamics and retail performance.

Gallup Organization
Provides market research and consulting services for Fortune 500 clients. It also publishes America's leading barometer of public opinion, the Gallup Poll.

Harris Poll
Polls "measure, and trend, the knowledge, opinions, behaviors and motivation of the general public." A wide variety of subjects are covered including politics, the economy, healthcare, foreign affairs, science and technology, and lifestyles.

Polling 101
Designed for the novice, POLLING 101 provides definitions, examples, and explanations that serve to introduce interested students to the field of public opinion research. From the Roper Center.

Polling the Nations Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Compilation of questions and responses from more than 14,000 national, state, local and special surveys in the U.S. and more than 80 other countries.

TrendWatching.com Newsletter
Free monthly newsletter "brings you the latest and greatest in consumer trends and related new business ideas."

book World consumer lifestyles databook : key trends

 


Jobs and Funding

College of Letters and Science/School of Human Ecology Career Services one of the best sites
Career advising, workshops and recruitment information and job postings.

Family and Consumer Sciences Career Connection
From the American Association of Family and Consumer Sciences.

US Bureau of Labor Statistics

Grants Information Center one of the best sites
Memorial Library site with extensive information on grants.

Job Hunting on the Internet one of the best sites
Steenbock Library overview of tools and techniques for conducting an online job search.

RSP (Reference Service Press) Funding
Contains up-to-date information on thousands of financial aid programs including fellowships, loans, grants and awards.

Career Collection one of the best sites
College Library guide to books, e-books, sample MadCat book searches, library databases, and web sites.


Associations / Organizations

American Marketing Association

Center for Retailing Education and Research
From the University of Florida.

Center for Retailing Education and Research in Retailing
From the University of Indiana

Center for Retailing Studies
From Texas A&M University.

Direct Marketing Association

National Retail Federation

International Council of Shopping Centers


This page available at http://steenbock.library.wisc.edu/subjectguide/retailing.htm

Please send comments about this page to: Jean Ruenger-Hanson


Last updated: November 13, 2007
About Us | Contact Us | ©2005 Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System

Steenbock Memorial Library is the primary resource library for the University of Wisconsin-Madison's College of Agricultural and Life Sciences, School of Human Ecology, School of Veterinary Medicine and UW Extension, Cooperative Extension.