CALS UNDEGRADUATE HONORS THESES AND CAPSTONE PAPERS
Beginning in 2007, these papers are available online at http://minds.wisconsin.edu/handle/1793/6662.  Paper copies of older titles are available on the second floor of Steenbock Library, at the end of the Reference Collection.
YEAR/AUTHOR AUTHOR TITLE
2008
2008/Lloyd Lloyd, Daniel Phosphorus fertility and the physiological response of creeping bentgrass and annual bluegrass (Full Text)
2007
2007/Bittner Bittner, Tara Comparison of non-heme liver iron and iron metabolism protein levels in superoxide dismutase 1 knock-out mice versus superoxide dismutase 1 wild-type mice (Full Text)
2007/Bobeck Bobeck, Elizabeth A, Studies on the heat stability of egg yolk antibody (lgY) (Full Text)
2007/Buske Buske, Paul Identification of two binding partners for the bacterial actin homolog MreB (Full Text)
2007/Chau Chau, Fong Ching Starvation responses of invasive and non-invasive Eurytemora affinis populations (Full Text)
2007/Chu Chu, Chun Him (Bosco) Protein-DNA interactions involved in the initiation of DNA replication (Full Text)
2007/Damodaran Damodaran, Ashvini An investigation on the effects of mutations in the ATG12 autophagy pathway of Arabidopsis thaliana (Full Text)
2007/Duvnjak Duvnjak, Petar Optimization of recombinant E. coli protein expression in growth medium (Full Text)
2007/Freiberg Freiberg, Sara M. Delta-opioid receptor (DOR) activation prolongs respiratory  motor output during oxygen-glucose deprivation (OGD) in neonatal rat spinal cord in vitro (Abstract Only)
2007/Guarascio Guariscio, Matthew J. Determining the impacts of residential lakeshore development and various physical factors on largemouth bass (Micropterus salmoides) growth rates (Full Text)
2007/Herzog  Herzog, Amanda The effect of neuropeptides on growth and function of bovine articular chondrocytes (Full Text)
2007/Hintz Hintz, Adam S. Gaze-evoked blinks in rhesus monkeys (Full Text)
2007/Ho Ho, Bonnie Yiu A genetic approach to understanding co-regulated MAPK genes in Arabidopsis thaliana (Full Text)
2007/Hoegger Hoegger, Mark J. Decreased production of superoxide by isolated retinal ganglion cell mitochondria (Not available)
2007/Jansen Jansen, Kristin Lynn Identification of the Functional Domains of Arabidopsis FLS2 (Full Text)
2007/Klink Klink, Jenna E. coli contaminated drinking water in rural Uganda: Using results to make an impact (Full Text)
2007/Lai Lai, Tsz Chung To determine the functional relevance of circadian Fabp7 expression in memory consolidation (Abstract Only)
2007/Lim Lim, Hui Jun Characterization of ZIIR element of BZLF1 promoter in the context of the whole Epstein - Barr Virus genome (Full Text)
2007/Mansukhani Mansukhani, Neel Characterization of my18, a mutant exhibiting abnormal expression of the C. elegans polycystic kidney disease gene (Full Text)
2007/Martin Martin, Christopher T. Reduction of androgen induced reactive oxygen species (ROS) production as a method of preventing prostate cancer (Full Text)
2007/Mateo Mateo, Michael Importance of CCW12 gene expression in zinc deficient Saccharomyces cerevisiae (Full Text)
2007/Matson Matson, Daniel R. Transgenic zebrafish that carry inducible zic2a fusion proteins (Full Text)
2007/Pendley Pendley, Chad MHC class I allele characterization in Indonesian cynomolgus macaques (Full Text)
2007/Singh Singh, Harpreet Efficiency of dietary calcium use for skeletal growth and mineralization in young pigs fed diets with various phosphorus concentrations (Full Text)
2007/Sorenson Sorenson, Claudia I. The effects of the Anopheles gambiae CLIPC3 and CLIPC1 genes on melanization of an abiotic target (Full Text)
2007/Strasburg Strasburg, Annalyse The effects of 1,25 D3 on the mouse osteopontin promoter (Full Text)
2007/Tan Tan, Meng Kwang Marcus Tanscriptome comparison of ionizing radiation resistant strain of Escherichia coli, CB2000, and naturally occurring strain of Escherichia coli, Founder (Full Text)
2007/TanSH Tan, Si Hui Stable expression and purification of Juvenile Hormone Binding Protein from Drosophila melanogaster Schneider line-2 cells (Full Text)
2007/Tang Tang, Grace Isolation and characterization of Drosophila melanogaster central processing mutants (Full Text)
2007/VanderWielen VanderWielen, Lynn Utilizing oscillating magnetic fields to manipulate embryonic tissues (Full Text)
2007/Vicksta Vicksta, Marie Present management practices and future possibilities for the Concha Prieta (Anadara tuberculosa) in the community of San Felipe, Ecuador (Full Text)
2007/Webster Webster, Daniel E. The role of a soluble, competitive FGF receptor in embryonic stem cell-derived hematopoiesis (Full Text)
2007/Wochinski Wochinski, Abby Engineering of maltose-binding protein to employ a poly-arginine tag and improve protein purification (Full Text)
2007/Zahn Zahn, Sarah Submerged macrophytes in Big Spring Creek, WI: Distribution and influence on phosphorus dynamics (Full Text)
2006
2006/Andreoli Andreoli, Philip Robert Evidence of benefit of common cold treatments: professionals' opinions
2006/Chang Chang, Chia-Wei (Jenny) The role of helicase sequence motif III in RecQ DNA helicase mechanism
2006/De Vita De Vita, Michael; Wadhera, Rishi Assessment of streptococcal prevalence and survivability on foods and contact surfaces
2006/Furlong Furlong, Meghan Jo'An Activation and suppression of macrophages: implications for cancer immunotherapy (Full Text )
2006/Janowak Janowak, Christopher F. A strategy to identify the cis-acting upstream regulatory elements of a gene encoding an mRNA binding protein
2006/Kirchdoerfer Kirchdoerfer, Robert Cotranslational aggregation of apomyoglobin polypeptides monitored by fluorescence resonance energy transfer
2006/Mak Mak, Siu Ho Effect of mouse astrocytes on the survival and maturation of human embryonic stem cell derived motor neurons
2006/Pick-Jacobs Pick-Jacobs, John Charles The aryl hydrocarbon receptor: mapping organ distribution of ITC and its implications to hint physiological function
2006/Teo Teo, Rachel Shien-Ying Refolding the hemolymph juvenile  hormone binding protein of manduca sexta
2006/Wu Wu, Edmund Siu-To Differentiating agents and cytotoxic drugs synergize to kill human leukemia HL-60 cells
2006/Zaman Zaman, Najia Combined inhibitory effects of green tea polyphenols and selective COX-2 inhibitors on growth of human prostate cancer cells LNCaP and PC-3 
2005
2005/Amend Amend, Sarah Emily The identification of putative Dpp silencers in the sox neuro and Dichaete genes
2005/Cepeda Cepeda, Javier Andrés Performing Exonuclease III deletions on the gene encoding for the microtubule associated protein TPX2
2005/Czypinski Czypinski, Linda Visual and autitory localization performance in the rhesus monkey
2005/Frame Frame, Nicholas Jon PSTPIP1: an adapter protein sent to the back of migrating cells
2005/Gordon Gordon, Elizabeth A. Ventricular assist device therapy: multidisciplinary approach reduces postoperative length of stay and decreases hospital cost
2005/Guerard Guerard, Emily Jean The design and synthesis of a combinatorial library of dipeptoids: new routes to antimicrobials
2005/Hemauer Hemauer, Sarah J. Exaggerated expiratory pressure compromises cardiac function during exercise in health and chronic heart failure
2005/Kabara Kabara, Ed Senior thesis [subject is SorCS1 gene, mouse chromosome 19, related to diabetes in BTBR and B6 mouse strains]
2005/Koh Koh, Cheryl M. The impact of superoxide dismutase deficiency on iron regulatory protein 1 in mouse liver
2005/Kuntsman Kunstman, John W. Feasability [sic] of saccharomyces cerevisiae as a vehicle for identifying host factors in Hepatitis B virus replication
2005/Mastroianni Mastroianni, Melissa Wnt signaling can substitute for estrogen to induce division of Erα=positive cells in a mouse mammary tumor model
2005/Patzer Patzer, Rachel E. Use of a high protein diet to counteract the detrimental effects of dexamethasone on the growth and intestinal development of neonatal pigs
2005/Quinn Quinn, Margaret Mary Intra-articular protection of canine cranial cruciate ligaments with partial rupture injury
2005/Radtke Radtke, Andrea The role of peroxidase in mosquito immunity
2005/Schlieve Schlieve, Christopher R. Biochemical activity of reactive oxygen species scavengers do not predict neuronal survival
2005/Schwartz. Schwartz, Meghan Oral feeding model of endotoxin exposure in poultry
2005/Smiltneek Smiltneek, Andrea Jo Recovery of skeletal growth and mineralization from dietary calcium deficiency in young pigs
2005/Stapel Stapel, Nicholas R. Genetic analysis of a hook-like tail (Hlt) phenotype in the rat
2005/Theusch Theusch, Elizabeth Valerie Cytoskeletal and genetic requirements for zebrafish germ plasm segregation during egg activation and early cleavage
2005/Thoms Thoms, Michael Certified organic production of dry beans: exploring the effects of calcitic limestone on nutrient availability in the soil
2005/Wong Wong, Evera Sze-wah Synthesis and biological activity of potent Vitamin D receptor antagonists
2005/Wylie Wylie, Korey Pharmacologic analysis of Drosophila sleep mutants: does juvenile hormone play a role in insect sleep regulation?
2004
2004/Ballering Ballering, Katie Sunrise Characterization of a putative siderophore biosynthetic gene cluster in Agrobacterium tumefaciens C58
2004/Barszcz Barszcz, Natalie E., Eric C. Neeno-Eckwall, and Michael R. Culbertson Testing the role of Upf2p as a bridge between Upf1p and Upf3p in yeast
2004/Chu Chu, Hamlet H. Cooperation between different antigen specific T cells promotes immune responses in the central nervous system
2004/Culbert Culbert, Patrick Davis Monitoring housing development in forested areas with remotely sensed data
2004/Federhart Federhart, Katherine Expression of Cyp26A1, Cyp26B1 and Cyp26C1 in the early rat embryo in retinoid sufficiency, insufficiency and excess
2004/Hariharan Hariharan, Luxme Identifying geographic disparities in the early detection of breast cancer, Dane County, Wisconsin, 1981-1998
2004/Ho Ho, Lena Genetic screen for a suppressor of C17 RecA-related mitomycin C sensitivity
2004/Hoffman Hoffman, Kristi L. Urinary system malformations and the stillborn: A population-based study
2004/Isadore Isadore, Adam Henry Role of Sema3D and Neuropilin1A, 2A, 1B, and 2B in cranial neural crest cell migration
2004/Jennings Jennings, Benjamin C. Familial hypertrophic cardiomyopathy mutation G203S alters cardiac troponin I phosphorylation
2004/Karl Karl, Julie A. Characterization of mutant alleles of osm-5, a proposed autosomal recessive polycystic kidney disease gene in Caenorhabditis elegans
2004/Kopplin Kopplin, Laura Trafficking and function of mutant P2X7 Receptors
2004/Krueger Krueger, Kelly Assessment of educational phone calls as a critical component of a nutrition intervention based on the transtheoretical model
2004/Laeser Laeser, Scott. Evaluation of effects of riparian and streambank restoration activities on water quality in a southern Wisconsin agricultural stream
2004/Lee Lee, Meng-Tse Preparation and characterization of DnaK chaperone peptide binding domain
2004/Liss Liss, Adam Identification of genes correlating to 2,3,7,8-tetrachlorodibenzo-p-dioxin toxicity using a murine kidney model
2004/Lye Lye, Ming Fong Thermodynamic effects of urea on the denaturation of oligomeric DNA
2004/Mata Mata, Christine. Tribles homolog 3 (trib3), hepatic nuclear factor 4 alpha (Hnf4/), and forkhead/winged helix transcription factor (Foxa2) underlying a chromosome 2 in
2004/McCarthy McCarthy, Julia Marian Long-term study on the rusty crayfish (Orconectes rusticus) invasion of a northern temperate lake: the effects on macroinvertebrate communities
2004/Meyer Meyer, Jamie L. Effects of dietary protein and non-nutritive bioactive factors in milk on growth and enterocyte proliferation in neonatal pigs
2004/Mich Mich, John Characterization of RNase A variants containing selenocysteine
2004/Mills Mills, Jordan P. Extra-hepatic vitamin A concentrations in captive Rhesus (macaca mulatta) and Marmoset (callithrix jacchus) monkeys
2004/Pabian Pabian, Sarah New method for determining probabilities of anuran road mortality
2004/Quam Quam, Jessica. Effects of white yolk concentration on maturation, fertilization, and blastocyst development of bovine embryos produced in vitro (Full Text)
2004/Romsa Romsa, Amanda Extending the use of the doubly labeled water method to environments with changing water sources
2004/Saryan Saryan, Ani Effects of BAPTA/AM and mercury on intracellular calcium levels with regard to 3H-2-deoxyglucose transport in 3T3-L1 adipocytes
2004/Thomas Thomas, Jarrod Structural analysis of small RNA molecules using NMR spectroscopy
2003
2003/Anderson Anderson, Sara Evidence for the presence of a regulator of fatty acid metabolism in Staphylococcus aureus
2003/Andrews Andrews, Shane Regulation of the gene crinkled by the genes atonal, spineless, and Distal-less in Drosophila melanogaster
2003/Aw Aw, Sherry Identification and characterization of PUF proteins in Arabidopsis thaliana
2003/Boehm Boehm, Eva Rose Anne Village of Suring : Revitalizing a rural village community by revealing the people of that place
2003/Bruegl Bruegl, Amanda S. Utilization of custom oligo-nucleotide arrays to analyze pools of Tn5 insertion mutants
2003/Carlisle Carlisle, Erica Intestinal development in the neonatal piglet a useful model for the pre-term infant
2003/Condon Condon, Kathryn Subcellular localization of cathepsin B in neuronal ischemia
2003/Connors Connors, Whitney Michael Design of downtown LaPointe, Wisconsin
2003/Crain Crain, Jessica M. Novel tetracycline regulated system for complementation of genetically null herpes simplex virus
2003/Eilbes Eilbes, Timothy Analysis of introducing green infrastructure to Columbus, WI and communities under 10,000 citizens
2003/Eimerman Eimerman, Patrick R. Effect of fat type and level on Clostridium botulinum in process cheese products
2003/Halbekken Halbakken, Tim Village of Pewaukee River walk and green infrastructure design project
2003/Harris Harris, Elizabeth Raf-induced change in e-cadherin and cellular adhesion in gastrointestinal neuroendocrine BON cells
2003/Khwaja Khwaja, Shariq S. Characterization of the mouse mammary progenitor cell population
2003/Kiehnau Kiehnau, Kari Lynn Town of Grand Chute: Creating an identity, a sense of place
2003/Laurie Laurie, Zach Sustainable design as a model for environmental education
2003/Leone Leone, Vanessa Anne Effects of conjugated linoleic acid on yolk absorption in chicks post hatch
2003/Maniar Maniar, Jay M. Determining natural targets of nonsense-mediated mRNA decay in Caenorhabditis elegans
2003/Minski Minski, Laura St. Francis green energy infrastructure
2003/Nguyen Nguyen, Steve M. Amplification of a reactive oxygen species signal in axotomized retinal ganglion cells
2003/Paglione Paglione, Libby Enhancing environmental education through landscape narratives
2003/Pink Pink, Katie Ann Secrets of the landscape: Revealing the underground railroad
2003/Ray Ray, Jesse Shawano inner city bike trail corridor: Study of urban e-ways influenced by the principles behind green infrastructure
2003/Sessions Sessions, Meredith Grace Kewaunee County's Bruemmer Park redesign (Full Text)
2003/Skowlund Skowlund, Michael Investigation in sustainable education through nature center design
2003/Spindler Spindler, Matthew J. Characterization of axotactin gene structure and protein analysis
2003/Sternberg Sternberg, Adam G. Humoral immune response to the immunocytokine hu14.18-IL2 can be directed against the idiotype or Fc-IL2 region
2003/VandenHeuvel VandenHeuvel, Adam Urban green infrastructure study for the city of Ashland, Wisconsin
2003/Vos Vos, Laura Rose Kenosha county center grounds: Teaching ecology and creating community
2003/Yu Yu, Karen I-Chun Compensatory substitutions are required for viability of simian immunodeficiency viruses that escape from Gag CM9-specific CTLs
2002
2002/Arneson Arneson, Jessica L. Historic Harbor Walk network : Algoma, Wisconsin, an investigation into sustainable design and a community's self-image
2002/Aschbrenner Aschbrenner, Mathew Impact of pilocarpine on crypt goblet cell concentration in the small intestine of dexamethasone treated neonatal piglets
2002/Binkowski Binkowski, Sarah Baird Creek Parkway : ecological design and planning for trails and connections, protecting and linking natural environments and users
2002/Bolling Bolling, Bradley In vitro phase II enzyme-induction and antioxidant properties of green beans
2002/Cronk Cronk, Spencer On development, agency, and humility : a compilation of essays regarding travel
2002/Daley Daley, Tim REST4 relieves Sin3-mediated transcription repression
2002/Duscher Duscher, Paul Berg Anesthetic effects on hippocampal learning and memory
2002/Gebel Gebel, Erika B. Determination of the relationship between hydrogen bond length and reduction potential in clostridium pasteurinum rubredoxin by paramagnetic 15N NMR s
2002/Goninen Goninen, Jason Lakeland Hills Golf Course expansion in Lodi, Wisconsin : creating an ecologically sensitive and socially welcoming golfing experience
2002/Greinert Greinert, Suzanne Airline yards : connecting the valley & community
2002/Harvey-Jones Harvey-Jones, Elizabeth Sixth Street viaduct redevelopment Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2002/Howard Howard, Rebecca L. Sturgeon Bay a downtown revitalization
2002/Huffaker Huffacker, Stephen Jeffrey Cardiomyocytes derived from human embryonic stem (hES) cells
2002/Huppert Huppert, Theodore J. Development of single molecule microscopy methods and techniques for the purpose of studying membrane associated proteins
2002/Kohlmann Kohlmann, Kyle Jerome Master plan development for Glacier Hills County Park : Washington County, Wisconsin
2002/Koltes Koltes, James The influence of BMP15 on ovulation rate in cattle
2002/Kurniawan Kurniawan, Henry Analysis of subunits of GPI Transamidase: Generation of polyclonal antibody and mutational analysis of Gaa1p
2002/Laundre Laundre, Bryan J. Use of cyclopropanated fatty acid substrate derivatives as mechanistic probes for stearoyl-ACP desaturation
2002/Mattingly Mattingly, Paul Silverwood County Park : a mentally restorative experience
2002/Merry Merry, Ginger Allelic imbalance in a mammary carcinoma susceptibility locus on chromosome 10 in rat mammary carcinomas induced by 7,12-dimethylbenz[a]anthracene
2002/Miller Miller, Jessica C. Kemp Natural Resources Station masterplan redesign
2002/Ooi Ooi, Lisa and Kevin Mitchell and Brian G. Fox Senior thesis report : Structure and function analysis of effector protein in T4MO enzyme complex
2002/Porter Porter, Joseph Innovative and pragmatic design solution for Brownfield redevelopment
2002/Reuter Reuter, Jason W. Cloning and characterization of UNC-85 a post-embryonic cytokinesis mutant in caenorhabditis elegans
2002/Sawtelle Sawtelle, Stacy. Meeting the health care needs of the Latino communities in Dane, Jefferson, Rock and Walworth counties
2002/Schoenike Schoenike, Julie Village of Osceola a sustainable open space plan
2002/Siodlarz Siodlarz, Stephen W. Pope Park project : a greenspace restoration
2002/Stock Stock, Harmony Sue Ice Age Falls neighborhood
2002/Tham Tham, Yen 4-oxoretinol binds to RARs and serves as an activator of RAR-mediated gene expression
2002/Theisen Theisen, Joshua W.M. Role of autographa californica nucleopolyhedrovirus DNA replication in induction of apoptosis in drosophila melanogaster cells
2002/Vanden Hoek Vanden Hoek, Heidi Urban redevelopment strategy for the Port of Milwaukee
2002/Williams Williams, Kari L. Reap the ride---together, helping to harvest a healthy tomorrow
2002/Williams A Williams, Aaron Jay Hank Aaron State Trail : a legacy millenium trail
2002/Wilson Wilson, Nathan T. Tyrosine to alanine mutation in herpes virus entry mediator renders the co-receptor unable to mediate herpes simplex virus-1 entry.\