Last Updated: June 28, 2010

A | C | D | E | F | G | H | J | K | L | N | P | Q | R | S | T | Z

Reference Books Located in Steenbock Stacks & Reference Collection (REF)

LOC CALL NUMBER VOL TITLE
A -- GENERAL WORKS
  AE5 E333 2001   Encyclopedia Americana.
  Online AE5 E363 1990   New Encyclopaedia Britannica
  AG5 A69 2000   Famous first facts, international edition : a record of first happenings, discoveries, and inventions in world history
  AG5 K315 1981   Famous first facts : a record of first happenings, discoveries, and inventions in American history
  Online AS2 W6   World of Learning
  Online AS911 A2 F69   Foundations in Wisconsin
  Online AY67 N5 W71 (2005)   World almanac and book of facts
C -- AUXILIARY SCIENCES OF HISTORY
  CT103 M47 1995   Merriam-Webster's biographical dictionary.
D -- HISTORY (GENERAL) AND HISTORY OF EUROPE
  D11 T83 1994   People's chronology : a year-by-year record of human events from prehistory to the present
  DT5 A27 (2001/02)   Africa at a glance
E -- HISTORY: AMERICA
  E169.12 E5 1997   Encyclopedia of rural America : the land and people
F -- HISTORY: AMERICA
  F581 W57 1998   Wisconsin's past and present : a historical atlas
G -- GEOGRAPHY. ANTHROPOLOGY. RECREATION
  G103.5 W42 1997   Merriam-Webster's geographical dictionary
  Online G122 W67 (2007)   World factbook
  G1021 G6 2000   Goode's world atlas
  G1021 G417 1994   Encyclopedic world atlas
  G1021 H284 2000 (atlas case)   Hammond world atlas
  G1021 K3842 1995 (atlas case)   Book of the world
  G1021 N38 1999 (atlas case)   Atlas of the world (National Geographic Society)
  G1021 R23 1991   New international atlas (Rand McNally and Co.)
  G1021 T5644 2003 (atlas case)   Times Comprehensive Atlas of the World
  G1046 G3 L4 1994   Atlas of the environment
  G1200 R365 2008 (atlas case)   Road atlas, United States, Canada, and Mexico
  G1201 J1 P5 1996   Atlas of American agriculture : the American cornucopia
  G1405 D4 (atlas case) (2003)   Illinois atlas & gazetteer.
  G1410 D4 (atlas case) (2003)   Michigan atlas & gazetteer.
  G1415 C6 1972   Atlas of Wisconsin
  G1418 D3 M34 2001   Dane County, Wisconsin street & road atlas
  G1415 D4 (atlas case) (2004)   Wisconsin atlas & gazetteer
  G1425 D45 (atlas case) (2003)   Minnesota atlas & gazetteer.
  GE10 C68 1995   Conservation and environmentalism : an encyclopedia
  GE10 E38 2003 2 v Environmental encyclopedia
  GE10 E49 1998 8 v Encyclopedia of environmental analysis and remediation
  GE10 E53 1994   Encyclopedia of the environment
  GE10 E53 1999   Encyclopedia of environmental science
  GE10 P67 2000   Dictionary of environmental science and technology
  GE50 C56 1997 2 v Chronology of twentieth-century history.
  GE55 B43 2000 2 v American environmental leaders : from Colonial times to the present
  GE55 W67 1997   World who is who and does what in environment & conservation
  GE105 F36 2002   Famous first facts about the environment
  GE300 E53 1998   Encyclopedia of ecology & environmental management
H -- SOCIAL SCIENCES
  H41 S63 1996   Social science encyclopedia
  HA1 M37 3 v Matter of fact
REF HA12.5 U63(2004)   Statistical yearbook. Annuaire statistique
  HA17 D56 1991   Dictionary of U.S. government statistical terms
  HA17 K4 1990   Dictionary of statistical terms.
  HA33.5 B47 1998   Finding statistics online : how to locate the elusive numbers you need
  HA36 K87 1997   Global data locator
  Online HA202 A36   County and City Data Book
REF Online & HA202 U5 (2009)   Statistical abstract of the United States
  HA203 A45 (2001)   Almanac of the 50 states
REF HA203 C68 (2004)   County and city extra : annual metro, city, and county data book.
  Online & HA203 S63 2004   Social change in America : the historical handbook, 2004
  HA203 S734 (1999)   State profiles : the population and economy of each U.S. state.
  HA214 E94 1999   Regional markets : the demographics of growth and decline (This book has been moved to the stacks. See http://www.census.gov/ for similar information)
  HA214 S73 1998   Statistical portrait of the United States : social conditions and trends
  HA935 S8 v 38   Statistical abstract of Latin America
  HC14 C632 (2001)   CRB commodity yearbook
  HC14 C632 supp.   CRB yearbook statistical update
  HC59 W667 (2005)   World resources : a report by the World Resources Institute and the International Institute for Environment and Development
  Online HC59.15 W656 (2001)   World development indicators Data Online Text Online
  HC59.69 G8413 (2007)   World guide
  HC79 E5 G518   Dictionary of environment and sustainable development
REF HC79 E5 M24 (2002)   Madison area sustainability organizations
  HC79 H53 G37 (2008)   Greater Madison area ... directory of high-tech companies
  HC110 C6 A438 1997   American women. (This book has been moved to the stacks. See http://www.census.gov/ for similar information)
REF HC110 C6 O34 v 10 (2006)   Household Spending: Who spends how much on what
  HC110 C63 C638 v 14 (2001)   Consumer sourcebook.
  HC110 I5 R87 1996   Official guide to American incomes (This book has been moved to the stacks. See http://www.census.gov/ for similar information)
  Online HC411 A74   Asian Development Outlook
  Online HC411 K29 v.32 (2001)   Key indicators of developing Asian and Pacific countries
  HD1401 D62 2 v Doane's agricultural report.
  Online HD1421 F367 v.1   FAO statistical yearbook (both volumes are available online but only vol. 1 is available at Steenbock in print format)
REF Online & HD1751 A43 (2008)   Agricultural statistics
  HD1751 P35 (2004)   Produce services sourcebook
  Online
HD1769 C46 1997 v.1 pt. 49
HD1769 C46 1997 v.1 pt. 51
  1997 census of agriculture
(complete listings)
(part 49, chapter 1) (part 49, chapter 2) Wisconsin state and county data
(part 51, chapter 1) (part 51, chapter 2) United States summary and state data
  Online   2002 census of agriculture (United States)
(complete listings)
(Volume 1, chapter 1, Wisconsin state level data)
(Volume 1, chapter 2, Wisconsin county level data)
(Volume 1, chapter 1, U.S. national level data)
(Volume 1, chapter 2, U.S. state level data)
  Online HD1491 U5 D57   Directory of Farmer Cooperatives
  HD2425 D54 (2004)   National trade and professional associations of the United States.
  HD3446.A3 W57 (2001)   Directory of Wisconsin cooperatives.
  HD8065 A32   Handbook of U.S. labor statistics : employment, earnings, prices, productivity, and other labor data
  HD9000.9 U5 A182 (2002/03) 3 v Thomas food & beverage market place (moved to stacks)
  HD9001 D57 (2000)   Directory of American agriculture.
  HD9001 N372 (2005)   Annual membership directory (National Frozen and Refrigerated Foods Association)
  HD9003 P32 (2007)   Packer : produce availability & merchandising guide.
  HD9004 M54 1996   Who's buying food & drink : who spends how much on food and alcohol, at and away from home (This book has been moved to the stacks. See Mintel Reports for similar information)
  HD9037 W5 W52 (2007)   Directory (Wisconsin Agri-service Association)
  HD9275 U6 D33 (2003)   Dairy facts
  Online HD9280 C5 (2004)   Cheese market news. Market Directory.
  HD9284 U4 W5 (2005/06)   Who's who in the egg and poultry industries in the United States and Canada.
  HD9321.4 W4 2004   Who's buying groceries
  HD9348 U5 B48   Beverage World Databank
  HD9414 M43 (2006)   Meat & poultry facts
  HD9486 U3 F284 (2008) 2 v Hot line farm equipment guide quick reference guide
  HD 9660 P33 U546 2000/01   Pesticide Directory
  HD9727 I3 N672y (2005)   Regional industrial buying guide.
  HD9751 W7 (1993/94)   Wood technology.
  HD9825 F32 (2002)   Fact sheet : Wisconsin's pulp, paper and allied industry ...
  HD9929.2 A1 W67 (2002)   World directory of manufactured fiber producers.
  HD9929.2 A1 W67 (suppl)   World directory of manufactured fiber producers.
  HD9971 U6 W56 (1996)   Who's buying for the home. (This book has been moved to the stacks. See Mintel Reports for similar information)
REF HD9999 B44 B45 (2009)   BioScan
REF HF1040 C65 1991   Commodity prices
REF HF1040.7 C46 1989   Commodities price locator
  HF5413 C66 (2003)   Co-op America's national green pages.
  HF5429 O788 2008   Fairchild Dictionary of Retailing
REF HF5585 P7 P7 (2007-08)   Blue book.
  HF5714 G45   Handbook of universal conversion factors.
  HN60 S284 2000   Places rated almanac
  HQ536 S727 1999   Statistical handbook on the American family
  Online HQ792 U5 K53 (1999)   Kids count data book.
  Online HS17 G29   Encyclopedia of Associations
  HT123 P552 (2003) 2 v Places, towns, and townships.
J -- POLITICAL SCIENCE
  JA51 S7 (2005)   The statesman’s year-book
  JF515 D39 1998   New Robert's rules of order
  Online JK421 A3 (2004/05)   United States government manual.
  JK468 P76 P83 2003   Public records online : the national guide to private & government online sources of public records
  Online JK6031 (2007/08)   State of Wisconsin blue book.
  JS451 W65 L67 1998   Wisconsin community guide
K -- LAW
  KF3775 A68 K57 1995   Environmental dictionary : and regulatory cross reference
L -- EDUCATION
  L11 U5 (1995)   Thesaurus of ERIC descriptors
  Online L901 P446  

Peterson's graduate and professional programs

  LA226 A65 (2001)   American universities and colleges.
REF Online & LB2342 U58b (2008-09) 4 v Budget (University of Wisconsin System)
  LD6110 S64   Speakers directory (UW-Madison)
N -- FINE ARTS
  NK30 F55 1989   Penguin dictionary of decorative arts
  NK30 M38 2000   Materials & techniques in the decorative arts : an illustrated dictionary
  NK116 C66 1997   Contemporary designers
  NK1165 C6 1985   Conran directory of design
REF NK1165 E48 1997 2 v Encyclopedia of interior design
  NK1166 I45 1991   Illustrated dictionary of twentieth century designers
  NK1370 B93 (1994)   The design encyclopedia
  NK1390 H44 1993   Landmarks of twentieth-century design : an illustrated handbook
  NK1390 J35 1991 3 v Designers international index
  NK1390 J85 1993   Thames and Hudson encyclopaedia of 20th century design and designers
  NK1390 P53 1990   Dictionary of 20th-century design
  NK1404 W66 2000   Women designers in the USA, 1900-2000 : diversity and difference : Jacqueline M. Atkins ... [et al.]
  NK1570 D46 1984   Design on file
  NK2205 D5 2001   Dictionary of furniture
  NK2205 G54 1991   Complete dictionary of furniture
P -- LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE
REF PA2365 E5 O9 1982   Oxford Latin dictionary
  PC1640 O95 2001   Oxford Paravia il dizionario inglese-italiano, italiano-inglese
  PC2640 G684 2001   Grand dictionnaire Hachette-Oxford : franpcais-anglais, anglais-franpcais
REF PC4640 O94 2003   Oxford Spanish dictionary : Spanish-English/English-Spanish
  PE1591 K54 1992   Roget's 21st century thesaurus in dictionary form : the essential reference for home, school, or office
  PE1591 R73 1992   Roget's international thesaurus.
  PE1625 N54 2002 2 v Shorter Oxford English dictionary on historical principles.
  Online PE1625 O8   Oxford English Dictionary
  PE1625 W36 1986 (2nd floor dictionary stand)   Webster's third new international dictionary of the English language unabridged
  PE1693 D4 1992   Abbreviations dictionary
  PE1693 G3 2000 3 v Acronyms, initialisms & abbreviations dictionary : a guide to acronyms, abbreviations, contractions, alphabetic symbols, and similar condensed appella
  PE2839 A47 1997   American Heritage dictionary of idioms
  PF3640 O94 2001   Oxford-Duden German dictionary : German-English/English-German
  PG2640 W5 2000   Oxford Russian dictionary
  PN4841 A1 G26 (1998) 3 v Gale directory of publications and broadcast media.
  PN4841 A1 G26 v. 131   Gale directory of publications and broadcast media : update
  PN6081 B27 1992   Familiar quotations : a collection of passages, phrases, and proverbs traced to their sources in ancient and modern literature (Bartlett, John)
  PN6084 N2 D53 1998   Dictionary of environmental quotations
Q -- SCIENCE
  Q121 I48 1999   International encyclopedia of science and technology
  Q121 M3 1992 20 v McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of science & technology : an international reference work in twenty volumes including index.
  Q121 V3 2002 2 v Van Nostrand's scientific encyclopedia
  Q121 V65 1999 3 v Facts On File encyclopedia of science, technology, and society
  Q123 A33 1992   Academic Press dictionary of science and technology
  Q123 C68 1999   Dictionary of science.
  Q123 C482 1988   Chambers science and technology dictionary
  Q123 D52 1994   Dictionary of Science
  Q123 H88 1993   Hutchinson dictionary of science
  Q123 L37 1995   Larousse dictionary of science and technology
  Q123 M34 1994   McGraw-Hill dictionary of scientific and technical terms
  Q123 Y485 1987 2 v Ying Han ke ji ci tian = An All-inclusive English-Chinese dictionary of scientific and technical terms
  Q125 C482 2002   Chronology of science : from Stonehenge to the Human Genome Project
  Q125 H557 1991   Timetables of science : a chronology of the most important people and events in the history of science
  Q125 R335 2000   Reader's guide to the history of science
  Q141 B25 1994   American women in science : a biographical dictionary
  Q141 B254 1998   American women in science : 1950 to the present : a biographical dictionary
  Q141 B528 2000 2 v Biographical dictionary of scientists.
  Q141 B5285 2000 2 v Biographical dictionary of women in science ; pioneering lives from ancient times to the mid-20th century
  Q141 B53 1994 2 v Biographical encyclopedia of scientists
  Q141 C52 1989   Chambers concise dictionary of scientists
  Q141 C55 2000   Concise dictionary of scientific biography
  Q141 E37   Biographical dictionary of American science : the seventeenth through the nineteenth centuries
  Q141 H88 1997   Random House Webster's dictionary of scientists.
  Q141 L28 1994   Larousse dictionary of scientists
  Q141 N726 1999   Notable Black American scientists
  Q141 N728 2001 5 v Notable scientists from 1900 to the present
  Q141 O25 2001   Encyclopedia of world scientists
  Q141 O27 2002   International encyclopedia of women scientists
  Q141 P398 1994   Prominent scientists : an index to collective biographies
  Q161.2 Z35 1990   Basic facts for basic science
  Q173 B25 1995   New York Public Library science desk reference
  Q173 S427 1999   Scientific American science desk reference.
  Q173 S428 2000   Scientifically speaking : a dictionary of quotations
  Q199 M68 1994   Milestones in science and technology : the ready reference guide to discoveries, inventions, and facts
  QA40 A85   Handbook of mathematical calculations; for science students and researchers
  QA47 M3152 v 30 (1996)   CRC standard mathematical tables and formulae
  QA276.25 C72 1991   CRC standard probability and statistics : tables and formulae
  QA300 E44 1993   Basic calculations for chemical and biological analyses
  QC88 J6   For good measure : a complete compendium of international weights and measures
  QC94 C67 1991   Conversion factors
  QC94 S72 1991   Standard practice for use of the international system of units (SI) : (the modernized metric system)
  QC983 W38 2001   Weather Almanac
  QD4 A2313 1994   Concise encyclopedia chemistry
  QD5 B4 1986   Concise chemical and technical dictionary
  QD5 C5 1997   Hawley's condensed chemical dictionary.
  QD5 C33 1996   Callaham's Russian-English dictionary of science and technology
REF Online & QD65 H32 (2004/05)   CRC handbook of chemistry and physics
  QD65 L362 1992   Lange's handbook of chemistry
  QD257.7 C73 1985 2v CRC handbook of data on organic compounds
  QD291 G53 1986   Beilstein's index : trivial names in systematic nomenclature of organic chemistry
  QD415 A25 B713 1997   Concise encyclopedia biochemistry and molecular biology.
  QD415 A25 E53 2004 4 v Encyclopedia of biological chemistry
  QH13 F35 1999   Facts on File dictionary of biology
  QH26 B535 1997   Biographical dictionary of American and Canadian naturalists and environmentalists
  QH26 N68 1996   Notable women in the life sciences : a biographical dictionary
  QH46.5 C54 1991   Index to illustrations of animals and plants
  QH75 P76 1991 4 v Protected areas of the world : a review of national systems
  QH76.5 M53 G7 2000   Audubon Guide to the National Wildlife Refuges: Northern Midwest : Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, Wisconsin
  QH77 N56 B43 2001 6 v Beacham's guide to the endangered species of North America
  QH83 S89 (1982) 2 v Synopsis and classification of living organisms
  QH104 A53 2001   Prairie directory of North America : the United States and Canada
  QH301 B56 v. 2004 Shelved at Reference Desk   Biosis Serial Sources
  QH302.5 D5 2000   Dictionary of biology.
  QH302.5 M382 1997   McGraw-Hill dictionary of bioscience
REF QH310 A39 1972 3 v Biology data book,
  QH318 L45 1999   Life sciences on file
  QH427 E53 2001 4 v Encyclopedia of genetics
  QH427 K55 2002   Dictionary of genetics
  QH442 G462 (2000)   Directory of biotechnology companies
  QH506 C74 1999 4 v Encyclopedia of molecular biology
REF QH 506 C87 1993 5 v Current protocols in molecular biology
  QH506 K333 2004b 2 v Dictionary of gene technology : genomics, transcriptomics, proteomics
  QH513 D38 1996   Data book on mechanical properties of living cells, tissues, and organs
  QH540.4 A44 1989   Dictionary of the environment
  QH581.2 D525 1999   Dictionary of cell and molecular biology
REF QH583.2 C87 1998 3 v Current protocols in cell biology
REF QH585 C87 1998 2 v Current protocols in cytometry
  QK9 C685 1985   Timber Press dictionary of plant names
  QK9 P465 1999   Penguin dictionary of plant sciences
  QK10 S7 1992   Botanical Latin : history, grammar, syntax, terminology, and vocabulary
  QK11 A5 1942   Standardized plant names.
  QK11 F46 (1990-97)   FPI : flowering plant index.
  QK11 M29 1987   Plant book : a portable dictionary of the higher plants utilising Cronquist's An integrated system of classification of flowering plants (1981) and cu
  QK13 Q38 2000 4 v CRC world dictionary of plant names : common names, scientific names, eponyms, synonyms, and etymology
  QK96 G69 1995 2 v World checklist of seed plants
  QK96 M413 2000   Book of wood names = Buch der Holznamen = Les noms des bois = Los nombres de las maderas
  QK98.2 B7 1990   Plant, animal & anatomical illustration in art & science : a bibliographical guide from the 16th century to the present day
  QK110 F55 1993 8 v Flora of North America : north of Mexico
  QK117 G75   Gray's Manual of botany; a handbook of the flowering plants and ferns of the central and northeastern United States and adjacent Canada.
  QK195 C44 1998   Checklist of the vascular plants of Wisconsin
  QK495 L52 P483 1994 2 v Phytochemical dictionary of the Leguminosae
  QK600.35 A36 2001   Ainsworth & Bisby's Dictionary of the fungi by P.M. Kirk ... [et al.] ; with the assistance of A. Aptroot ... [et al.].
  QK600.35 U4513 2000   Illustrated dictionary of mycology
  QK647 I45 1991b   CSIRO atlas of hardwoods
  QK710.5 U55 1996   Units, symbols, and terminology for plant physiology : a reference for presentation of research results in the plant sciences
  QK725 D64 1988b   Glossary of plant tissue culture
  QK861 C45 2001   Chemical dictionary of economic plants
  QK938 F6 S145 2001 2 v Diccionario de plantas de interbes agrbicola
  QK981 M54 1998   Dictionary of plant genetics and molecular biology
REF QL7 G7813 2004 17 v Grzimek's animal life encyclopedia
  QL9 C66 1999   Dictionary of zoology
  QL46 M85   Index to illustrations of living things outside North America : where to find pictures of flora and fauna
  QL76 E53 2001 3 v Encyclopedia of the world's zoos
  QL82 B435 1998 3 v. Beacham's Guide to International Endangered Species
  QL151 C62 1981   Complete field guide to North American wildlife, Eastern edition
  QL151 T49   Index to illustrations of the natural world : where to find pictures of the living things of North America
  QL434 P48y 1991   Arthropods of medical and veterinary importance : a checklist of preferred names and allied terms
  QL462.3 E47 2004 3 v Encyclopedia of entomology
  QL462.3 E52 2003   Encyclopedia of insects
  QL462.3 G67 2001   Dictionary of entomology
  QL462.3 G73 1985   Spanish-English-Spanish lexicon of entomological and related terms : with indexes of Spanish common names of arthropods and their Latin and English eq
  QL462.3 T67 1989   Torre-Bueno glossary of entomology
  QL468 C65 1997   Common names of insects & related organisms, 1997
REF QL474 A76 2000   American insects : a handbook of the insects of America north of Mexico
  QL628 M53 T66 1990   Fishes of the central United States
  QL628 W6 B43 1983   Fishes of Wisconsin
  QL684 W6 R63 1991   Wisconsin birdlife : population & distribution past & present
  QL701 G7913 1990 5 v Grzimek's encyclopedia of mammals.
  QL703 E53 1984   Encyclopedia of mammals
  QL703 W222 1999 2 v Walker's mammals of the world.
  QL706.8 B87 1988   Collins guide to the rare mammals of the world
  QL708 C67 1991   World list of mammalian species
  QL708 M35 1993   Mammal species of the world : a taxonomic and geographic reference
  QL737.2 B55 1992   Biological values for selected mammals
  QL806 A55 1999   Animal anatomy on file
  QP11 E53 1991 8 v Encyclopedia of human biology
  QP33.5 G4513 1981   Geigy scientific tables
  QP38 H7933 1995   Human body : an illustrated guide to its structure, function, and disorders
  QP141 A37813 1987   Dictionary of food and nutrition
REF QP141 A63 (1968)   Metabolism.
  QP141 B523 1998   CRC desk reference for nutrition
REF QP141 E526 2005 4 v Encyclopedia of human nutrition
  QP141 F68 1992 2 v Founders of nutrition science : biographical articles from The journal of nutrition, volumes 5-120, 1932-1990
  QP141 H338 2000   Biochemistry of human nutrition : a desk reference.
  QP141 R93 1995   Nutrition and health dictionary
  QP251 E635 1998 4 v Encyclopedia of reproduction
  QP512 G55 1997   Glossary of biochemistry and molecular biology
  QP512 O94 2000   Oxford dictionary of biochemistry and molecular biology
  QP514.2 P73 1989   Practical handbook of biochemistry and molecular biology
  QP533 K87 1981   Handbook of vitamins, minerals, and hormones
REF QP551 C86 1996 3 v Current protocols in protein science
  QP601 E5158 2001 21 v Springer handbook of enzymes
  Online QP601 I54 1992   Enzyme nomenclature 1992: recommendations of the Nomenclature committee of the International Union of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology on the nomenclature and classification of enzymes
REF QP620 C87 2000 3 v Current protocols in nucleic acid chemistry
  QR9 E53 2000 4 v Encyclopedia of microbiology
REF QR9 S56 2006   Dictionary of microbiology and molecular biology
  QR9 S74 1992   Stedman's Bergey's bacteria words
  QR9 W675 2003 2 v World of microbiology and immunology
  QR74.5 H36 1990   Handbook of protoctista : the structure, cultivation, habitats, and life cycles of the eukaryotic microorganisms and their descendants exclusive of an
  QR74.5 I44 1993   Illustrated glossary of protoctista : vocabulary of the algae, apicomplexa, ciliates, foraminifera, microspora, water molds, slime molds, and the othe
REF QR81 A5 1994
  Bergey's manual of determinative bacteriology
Online: Vol Two: The Proteobacteria, Parts A - C (in Knovel)
  QR81 A77 1989   Approved lists of bacterial names
  QR81 A77 1989 supp.   Index of the bacterial and yeast nomenclatural changes : published in the International journal of systematic bacteriology since the 1980 Approved lis
REF QR81 B46 2001 v. 1   Bergey’s manual of systematic bacteriology
REF QR81 B46 2001 v. 2 pt A   Bergey's manual of systematic bacteriology
REF QR81 B46 2001 v. 2 pt B   Bergey's manual of systematic bacteriology
REF QR81 B46 2001 v. 2 pt C   Bergey's manual of systematic bacteriology
  QR100 B58 2002 6 v Encyclopedia of environmental microbiology
  QR358 E53 2000   Encyclopedia of Food Microbiology
  QR115 F7313 1992   Dictionary of food microbiology
  QR180.4 C78 1995   Illustrated dictionary of immunology
  QR180.4 H47 1995   Dictionary of immunology
  QR185.8 C95 I24 1995   Dictionary of cytokines
  QR245 J66 1993   Stedman's ATCC fungus names
  QR325 A85 1991   Atlas of invertebrate viruses
  QR351 B64 1991   Dictionary of plant virology, in five languages, English, Russian, German, French, and Spanish
  QR358 E53 1999 3 v Encyclopedia of virology
  QR358 H85 1989   Virology : directory & dictionary of animal, bacterial, and plant viruses
  QR358 M34 2001   Dictionary of virology
  QR360 S674 2002   Springer index of viruses
  QR394 S74 1992   Stedman.s/ICTV virus words
R -- MEDICINE
  R121 D73 (v. 79)   Dorland’s illustrated medical dictionary
  RA1242 P66 S543 2000   Indirect food additives and polymers : migration and toxicology
  RM671 A1 P481 2001   PDR for nutritional supplements.
  RS51 M3 1990   Pharmacological and chemical synonyms : a collection of names of drugs, pesticides and other compounds drawn from the medical literature of the world
  RS55 U542 (2001)   USP dictionary of USAN and international drug names.
  Online RS75 P5 (v. 59)   Physicians’ desk reference : PDR
(Select 'Drugs' tab)
REF Online & RS356 M52 (2001)   Merck index
  Online RS356 M53   Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
S -- AGRICULTURE
REF S129 A25 (2008)   Wisconsin agricultural statistics.
  S411 D245 1985   Black's agricultural dictionary
  S411 D573 1998   Dictionary of agriculture
  S411 E713 1994 4 v Encyclopedia of agricultural science
  S411 H47 1991   Agriculture dictionary
  S411 L55 1995   Dictionary of agriculture : from abaca to zoonosis
  S441 S29   Encyclopedia of American agricultural history
  S494.5 D3 C32 1995   CAB Abstracts online manual.
  S494.5 I47 A47 (2000)   Agricultural information resource centers : a world directory
  Online S494.5 I47 A474 1990   Agricola subject category codes with scope notes : modified AGRIS.
  Online S494.5 I47 H6   How to Get Information From the United States Government
  S494.5 W3 E54 2003   Encyclopedia of Water Science
  S544 C68 (v. 78)   County agents directory
  S571.5 A37 (2001)   Agricultural showcase.
  S584.4 D53 1997   Dictionary of renewable resources
  S584.4 E53 2003 3 v Encyclopedia of agrochemicals
  S585 T48 (2001)   Agricultural chemicals. Book I, Insecticides, acaricides and ovicides
  S585 T482 (2002)   Agricultural chemicals. Book II, Herbicides
  S585 T483 (1999/2000)   Agricultural chemicals. Book III, Miscellaneous agricultural chemicals
  S585 T484 (2000)   Agricultural chemicals. Book IV, Fungicides
  S585.8 W35 1997   Manual of agrichemical identification and emergency management
REF S587 A73 v 18   Official methods of analysis of the Association of Official Analytical Chemists
  S592 E53 2002   Encyclopedia of soil science
  S592 G58 2001   Glossary of soil science terms.
  S592 L6913 1991   Dictionary of soil science
  S592 S59 2001   Soil and environmental science dictionary
  S592.4 M85 1992   Munsell soil color charts.
  S605.5 O74 (1999)   Organic pages : Organic Trade Association's ... North American resource directory
  S605.5 U672 1999   Upper Midwest organic livestock producers' directory
  S633 F32 v. 2006   Crop Protection Handbook
REF Online & S671 A321 v. 2003   ASAE Standards 2003
  S677 O343 (2005)   Official guide. Northcentral region
  Online S920 W67   World Directory of Environmental Organizations
  SB45 E486 2004   Encyclopedia of Plant and Crop Science
  SB45 G57 1992   Glossary of crop science terms
  SB45 N37 1994   Dictionary of horticulture
  SB107 M38 2001 6 v Mansfeld's encyclopedia of agricultural and horticultural crops (except ornamentals)
  SB107 W59 1999   World economic plants : a standard reference
  SB113.4 S43 (2005)   Seed & crops digest buyer’s desk reference
  SB115 G37 1998   Gardener's source guide.
  SB115 S3 (2008)   Seed savers (yearbook)
  SB115 W52 2004   Garden seed inventory : an inventory of seed catalogs listing all non-hybrid vegetable seeds available in the United States and Canada
  SB123.5 P5 1990   Plant patent directory.
  SB175 F33 1998   Cornucopia II : a source book of edible plants
  SB188.4 E5 2004 3 v Encyclopedia of Grain Science
  SB191 M2 S73 1980   Standard analytical methods of the member companies of Corn Refiners Association, Inc.
  Online SB211 P8 P688   Membership Directory (Potato Association of America)
  SB317.53 A45 (2004-05)   ASHS membership directory
  SB317.56 U6 N67 1992   North American horticulture : a reference guide
  SB317.58 E94 10 v New York Botanical Garden illustrated encyclopedia of horticulture
  SB320.6 N37 (1995/96)   National gardening survey
  SB351 H5 H3714 (1999/00)   Herbal green pages : a publication of the Herb Growing & Marketing Network.
  SB351 H5 S562 1997   Culinary herbs
  SB355 B7 1997   Brooks and Olmo register of fruit & nut varieties.
  SB362.3 T48 2001   Fruit, berry, and nut inventory : an inventory of nursery catalogs listing all fruit, berry, and nut varieties available by mail order in the United S
  SB403.2 A438 2002   AHS encyclopedia of plants and flowers
REF SB403.2 A45 1997   American Horticultural Society A-Z encyclopedia of garden plants
  SB407 D57 1998   Directory of flower & herb buyers.
  SB433 T828 2000   Turfgrass management information directory
  SB435 I582 (2001/02)   Member directory International Society of Arboriculture
  SB439 N38 1992   National Wildflower Research Center's wildflower handbook : a resource for native plant landscapes.
  SB450.95 A45 2003   American Horticultural Society encyclopedia of gardening
  SB450.95 D53 1992 4 v Dictionary of gardening
  SB450.95 D532 1994   Index of garden plants
  SB450.95 W96 1986   Wyman's Gardening encyclopedia
  SB450.97 G37 (2001) 10 v Garden literature : an index to periodical articles and book reviews.
  SB450.97 L37 1990   Larousse gardening and gardens
  SB465 E63 2001 3 v Encyclopedia of gardens : history and design
  SB469.33 L362 (2004)   Landscape architecture directory ...
  SB469.25   Dictionary of Landscape Architecture and Construction
  SB600 C65 1994   Common names for plant diseases, 1994
  SB611 W42 (1998)   Weed control manual
  SB611 Z56 1989   Weeds and words : the etymology of the scientific names of weeds and crops
  SB728 E53 2001 2 v Encyclopedia of plant pathology
  SB728 H65 1998   Dictionary of plant pathology
  SB728 S44 1997   Glossary of plant-pathological terms
  SB731 W47 2001   Westcott's plant disease handbook
  SB733 F27 1989   Fungi on plants and plant products in the United States
  SB950.2 F4 1994   Federally registered pesticides : FRP 1995
  SB950.3 G7 C762 1997   Crop protection directory
  SB950.7 E63 2002   Encyclopedia of Pest Management
REF SB950.9 C761 (2008) (v. 24)   Crop protection reference : CPR
REF SB950.9 T872 (2003)   Turf & ornamental reference for plant protection products : T&OR
  SB951 P434 2000   Pesticide manual : a world compendium.
  SB951 I527 (2001)   The Insecticide, herbicide, fungicide quick guide
  SB951 T5 2000   Tree, turf and ornamental pesticide guide
  SB951.4 G53 1991   Herbicide use in the United States
  SB951.4 W43 1994 & Supp.   Herbicide handbook
  SB951.5 I59 (1997)   Insect control guide
  SB951.5 I592 (1999)   Insect and disease control guide
  SD126 D535 1998   Dictionary of forestry
  SD126 E53 2004 4 v Encyclopedia of forest sciences
  SD434 P257 1988   Commercial timbers of the world
  Online SF61 E18 2005   Encyclopedia of Animal Science
  SF95 F33 (20051)   Feed additive compendium
  SF98 A2 D57 (2000/01)   Direct-fed microbial, enzyme & forage additive compendium.
  SF105 S313 1992   Colour atlas of livestock breeds : 220 breeds in words and pictures
  SF191.4 F442 1995   Cattle breeds : an encyclopedia
  SF203 M218 2000   Directory of feeds & feed ingredients
  SF229 D53 1991   Dictionary of milk and dairying
  SF229 E52 2003 4 v Encyclopedia of dairy sciences
  Online SF247 W57   Wisconsin Dairy Plant Directory
  Online   Wisconsin Master Cheesemaker Directory
  SF250.5 S35 1995   Dictionary milk = Milch = lait = leche
  SF275 C84 K87 1992   Encyclopedia of fermented fresh milk products : an international inventory of fermented milk, cream, buttermilk, whey, and related products
  SF291 H37 1995   International encyclopedia of horse breeds
  SF411.36 U6 U2   U.S. pet ownership & demographics sourcebook
  SF609 B53 2001   Black's veterinary dictionary
  SF609 B566 1999   Saunders comprehensive veterinary dictionary
REF SF611 A53 (2008/09)   AVMA membership directory and resource manual
  SF611 W582 (2005)   Membership directory. (Wisconsin Veterinary Medical Association)
REF Online & SF748 M47 2005   The Merck veterinary manual
  SF756.47 E26 1994   Economic report on veterinarians & veterinary practices.
  Online SF776 U5 D52   Veterinary Internship and Residency Matching Program
  SF915 C651 (2001/02)   Veterinary pharmaceuticals & biologicals : VPB
  SF917 C65 (2006)   Complete handbook of approved new animal drug applications in the United States
See Animal Drugs @ FDA
  SF917 C645 (v. 8)   Compendium of veterinary products
  SF996 A93 1992   Average physiological values
  SH20.3 E53 2000   Encyclopedia of aquaculture
T -- TECHNOLOGY
  Online T12 T6   Thomas Register
  T12.3 W57 W57 (2001)   Wisconsin business service directory.
  T55.3 H3 C65 (1991)   Consolidated list of products whose consumption and/or sale have been banned, withdrawn, severely restricted or not approved by governments.
  TD169.3 G55 1989   Glossary of environmental terms and acronym list (missing as of 8/1/060
  TD9 L44 1998   Environmental engineering dictionary
  TD9 W95 2001   Facts on File dictionary of environmental science
  TD169.6 N45 (2000)   No-kill directory.
  TD193.2 B76 (2001)   Vital signs : the trends that are shaping our future
REF TD196 A34 M66 1997   Agrochemicals desk reference
  TD196 C45 A97 1999   Dictionary of environmentally important chemicals
  Online TD196 O73 V47 1996   Handbook of environmental data on organic chemicals (In Knovel)
  TD351 V36 1990   Water encyclopedia
  TD426 M66 1996   Groundwater chemicals desk reference
  TD785.5 C64 1996   Encyclopedia of garbage
  TK5105.875 I57 M39 (1999)   How to access the federal government on the Internet
  TP248.16 C66 1992   Dictionary of biotechnology
  TP248.16 E537 2003 3 v Encyclopedia of applied plant sciences
  TP248.16 F54 1998   Glossary of biotechnology terms
  TP248.16 S84 2001   Facts on File dictionary of biotechnology and genetic engineering
  TP248.16 W35 1995   Language of biotechnology : a dictionary of terms
  TP248.27 A53 E53 2000 2 v Encyclopedia of cell technology
  TP248.27 F86 J66 1994   ATCC names of industrial fungi
  TP248.3 F57 1999 5 v Encyclopedia of bioprocess technology : fermentation, biocatalysis, and bioseparation
  TP248.3 I562 (2003)   Nature biotechnology directory
REF TP368.2 D53 2004   Dictionary of food compounds with CD-ROM : additives, flavors, and ingredients
  TP368.2 E57 2003   Encyclopedia of agricultural, food, and biological engineering
  TP368.2 E62 2000 4 v Encyclopedia of food science and technology.
  TP369 H36 1986   Encyclopedia of food engineering
  TP418 B86 2005   Fenaroli's handbook of flavor ingredients George A. Burdock.
  TP450 F52 1993   Flavor and fragrance materials 1993 : worldwide reference list of materials used in compounding flavors and fragrances.
REF TP455 F66 2003   Food chemicals codex
  TP456 C65 M37 1991   Handbook of U.S. colorants : foods, drugs, cosmetics, and medical devices
  TP493.5 A1 A56 v. 54   Quick frozen foods ... annual processors’ directory and buyers’ guide
  TP503 L56 1996   Complete beverage dictionary
  TP568 D53 1998   Dictionary of beer and brewing : 2,500 terms, including 400 new!
  TP570 A1 A634 1992   Methods of analysis of the American Society of Brewing Chemists
REF TP671 A48 (2004)   Official methods and recommended practices of the American Oil Chemists' Society
  TS24 W6 W71 (2002)   Wisconsin manufacturers directory.
  TS947 R67 1994   Complete footwear dictionary
  TS1085 A6 1996   Dictionary of paper
  TS1088 L79 (2001)   Lockwood-Post’s directory of the pulp, paper, and allied trades
  TS1109 T274 (2002/03)   TAPPI test methods
REF TS1309 F34 1996   Fairchild's dictionary of textiles
  TS1309 T47 1995   Textile terms and definitions
  TS1312 A86 (1997)   ATI directory : the textile red book
  TS1312 B6 (2001)   Davison’s textile blue book : United States and Canada
  Online   Wisconsin Meat Establishment Directory
  TS1955 E52 2004 3 v Encyclopedia of meat sciences
  TS1955 I53 1991   International meat science dictionary
  TS2149 W56 1989   Dictionary of milling terms and equipment
REF TT494 C66 1997   Garment and textile dictionary
REF TT503 B33 1995   Guide to historic costume
  TT503 B53 1992   Fashion terminology
  TT503 C34 2003   Fairchild dictionary of fashion
  TT505 A1 C66 2002   Contemporary fashion
  TT505 A1 I5 2002   In an influential fashion : an encyclopedia of nineteenth-and twentieth-century fashion designers and retailers who transformed dress
  TT505 A1 M37 1987   McDowell's directory of twentieth century fashion
  TT505 A1 S7 1997   St. James fashion encyclopedia : a survey of style from 1945 to the present
  TT505 A1 S74 2004   Who's who in fashion
  TT507 C67 (1995)   Clothing & textile arts CD-ROM
  TX15 D8 1988   Domestic technology : a chronology of developments
  TX335 C669 1993   Consumers' guide to product grades and terms : from grade A to VSOP--definitions of 8,000 terms describing food, housewares, and other everyday items
  TX349 A234 1990   Cassell food dictionary
  TX349 A236 1993   International dictionary of food & nutrition
  TX349 B4 1999   Bender's dictionary of nutrition and food technology
  TX349 B53 1999   Asian grocery store demystified
  TX349 D38 1999   Oxford companion to food
  TX349 D78 1996   Dictionary of nutrition and dietetics
  TX349 E45 (2004) 2 v Encyclopedia of food and drink in America
  TX349 E47 2003 10 v Encyclopedia of food sciences and nutrition
  TX349 F575 1994 2 v Foods & nutrition encyclopedia
  TX349 L33 2001   Webster's new world dictionary of culinary arts
  TX349 M266 1999   Encyclopedia of American food & drink
  TX349 M613 1988   Larousse gastronomique : the new American edition of the world's greatest culinary encyclopedia
REF TX349 O94 2007   Oxford companion to American Food and Drink
  TX349 P353 2000   Food : a dictionary of literal and nonliteral terms
  TX355 T72 1995   Food chronology : a food lover's compendium of events and anecdotes from prehistory to the present
  TX373 S93 2004   Meat cuts and muscle foods : [an international glossary]
  TX531 D37 1991   Data sourcebook for food scientists and technologists
  TX541 R254 1995   Food properties handbook
REF TX545 C87 2001   Current protocols in food analytical chemistry
REF TX551 B64 2005   Bowes & Church's food values of portions commonly used
  TX551 F48 1989   Margo Feiden's The calorie factor : the dieter's companion.
  TX551 N42 1992   Corinne T. Netzer encyclopedia of food values.
REF TX551 S73 (2008)   Food composition and nutrition tables
  TX551 U43 2001   NutriBase nutrition facts desk reference.
  TX553 A3 A84 1995   Handbook of food additives : an international guide to more than 7,000 products by trade name, chemical, function, and manufacturer
  TX553 A3 B87 1997 3 v Encyclopedia of food and color additives
  TX556 M5 N87 1992   Nutrition composition tables of milk and dairy products = Nhahrwerttabellen fhur Milch und Milchprodukte = Tableaux des valeurs nutritives de lait et
  TX563 C46 1995   Bacteriological analytical manual
  TX599 A4C (2006)   The Almanac of the canning, freezing, preserving industries
  TX600 D52 (2008)   Judge’s peerless food processors North America
  TX651 K57 1987   International cookery index
  TX712 S75 1997   Food equipment digest
  TX784 C3 (2007)   Candy buyers’ directory
  TX801 S353 2001   Vegetables from amaranth to zucchini : the essential reference : 500 recipes and 275 photographs
  TX905 K65 1987   Knight's foodservice dictionary
Z -- BIBLIOGRAPHY. LIBRARY SCIENCE. INFORMATION RESOURCES (GENERAL)
  Z692 S5 C55 1995   CAB International serials checklist.
  Z695.1 M48 U52c (2003) 2 v Medical subject headings.
  Z699.4 A4 A2y 1988   AGRICOLA subject category code index
  Z699.5 B53 B56 (1999/00)   BIOSIS search guide.
  Z699.5 Z66 Z66 (2002/03)   Zoological record search guide.
  Z713.5 U6 M67 1995 (desk)   Interlibrary loan policies directory
  Z732 W8 M85 1998   Multitype library resource directory
  Z732 W8 R4   Resource directory of libraries in Columbia, Dane, Green & Sauk Counties.
  Online Z5071 C1 (1999)   CAB thesaurus
  Z5073 F67 (2003)   Alpha list of journals (Forest Products Laboratory)
  Z5074.B56 W37 1993   World list of serials in agricultural biotechnology
  Z5076 I57y 1990   International union list of agricultural serials.
REF Z5523 A52 3 v Chemical Abstracts Service source index. (CASSI)
  Online Z6941 U5 (2002) 5 v Ulrich's periodicals directory.
  Z6945 A2 L58 1985   Liste d'abrbeviations de mots des titres de publications en sberie (conforme aa ISO 4-1984) = List of serial title word abbreviations (in accordance w
  Z6945 S608 (2001)   Union list of serials
  Z6951 S82 (1974-85) 2 v Periodicals and newspapers acquired by the State Historical Society of Wisconsin Library.
  Z7991 Z88 (2000) (desk)   Zoological record serial sources
  ZA5055 U6 R63 1998   Tapping the government grapevine : the user-friendly guide to U.S. government information sources
  ZA5075 A53 2000   Internet blue pages : the guide to federal government web sites
  ZA5075 G682 (2003/04)   United States government Internet manual.
  ZZ5 P25 1991   National Library of Medicine recommended formats for bibliographic citation
  ZZ8.5 A25 1997   ACS style guide : a manual for authors and editors
  ZZ9.5 G37 2002   Complete guide to citing government information resources : a manual for social science & business research.
  ZZ11 A43 1991   ASM style manual for journals and books.
  ZZ11 A63 (1991)   ASHS publications manual
  ZZ11 S386 1994   Scientific style and format : the CBE manual for authors, editors, and publishers
REF ZZ 76.7 P83 2001   Publication manual of the American Psychological Association.
  ZZ119 A533 1998   American Medical Association manual of style : a guide for authors and editors.
REF ZZ119 A85 1996   Author's handbook of styles for life science journals
  ZZ171 F56 L5 1996   Electronic styles : a handbook for citing electronic information
  ZZ171 F56 W35 1998   Columbia guide to online style
  ZZ253 U58 1984   Style manual
  ZZ253 U58 1984 supp.   Style manual (Word division:)
REF ZZ253 U69 2003   Chicago manual of style
  ZZ286 E43 U54 1987   Chicago guide to preparing electronic manuscripts : for authors and publishers.
  ZZ1421 N46 1994   New York Public Library writer's guide to style and usage.
REF ZZ2369 G53 2003   MLA handbook for writers of research papers
REF ZZ2369 T8 1996   Manual for writers of term papers, theses, and dissertations
REF ZZ4783 A82 (2004)   Associated Press stylebook and briefing on media law.
  ZZ494.5 A96 P83 1998   Publications handbook and style manual.
  Shelved in Periodicals   Biological & agricultural index.
  Shelved at Reference Desk (1997)   List of serials indexed for online users