Abbreviations & Acronyms
Almanacs & Factbooks
Associations & Organizations
- Associations
Unlimited

- Associations on the Net (Internet Public Library)
- Gateway to Associations (American Society of Association Executives)
- Interaction: American Council for Voluntary International Action
- Union of International Organizations
- Scholarly Societies
Biographical Information
- UW
Madison Libraries

- Biography.com
- dmoz.org
Biography Directory
- Internet
Public Library Biography Links
Scientists
- 4000
Years of Women in Science
Very brief biographies of mostly pre-20th century women in science. Includes links to other biographical sources. - ISI Highly Cited
Tool to identify individuals that are the most highly cited within each category for the period 1981-1999, and comprise less than one-half of one percent of all publishing researchers.
Conversions & Equivalents
Census Data & Demographics
Country Information
- Memorial Library Guide : International and Geopolitical Research Resources
- Business Library Guide : Country Information
- CIA
World Factbook
Concise profiles of nations including a brief historical overview and sections on geography, people, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues. - Country Reports.org
- Free Public Record Sites
- Governments on the WWW
- International Resources--Government Publications
- State Department
Background Notes
Similar to the CIA World Factbook, but with a much more extensive section on each nation's history and information on diplomatic relations with the United States. - United Nations
Contains information on the organization and its activities.
Dictionaries/Thesaurus
General
Agriculture & Life Sciences
General Thesaurus
Directories
- UW
Madison Libraries
- UW-Madison Directory
- UW-Extension Directory
- Telephone Area Codes
- U.S. Postal Service ZIP Code Lookup
- Community of Science

Profiles of scientists and information on grants. - Current
Research @ University of Wisconsin

- University of
Wisconsin System Budget ("Red
Book")
Official published budget of the UW System. Includes both summaries and itemized lists of expenditures. - University of Wisconsin System
Encyclopedias
General
- Encyclopædia
Britannica Online

Online edition of the standard general encyclopedia. - Wikipedia
- xreferplus

General Science
Encyclopedia of Earth
"electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society"
- Knovel
Scientific and Engineering Online References

The content of more than 200 engineering reference handbooks and applied science data is interactive and cross-searchable. - Symbols.com
Animal Sciences
- Animal
Diversity Web
Animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan. - The
Birds of North America Online

- EBSCO Animals
- Encyclopedia
of Pest Management

- WILDPro

Physical Sciences
Plant Sciences
- Encyclopedia
of Agricultural, Food, and Biological Engineering

- Encyclopedia
of Plant and Crop Science

- Encyclopedia
of Soil Science

- Plants Database (USDA)
Focuses on vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
Journal Information
AbbreviationsWhere Journals Are Indexed
- ISI Thompson Master Journal List
- Ulrich’s
Periodical Directory

- Biological Abstracts Journal List
- Science Citation Index
- Social Science Citation Index
- Zoological Record Journal List
Journals by Subject
Acceptance Rates
- Publishing
at the Top of the Heap
Excellent summary from Science Magazine, including some sample acceptance rates and impact factors. - Publishing
for Academics : References from Pollack Library (Cal State
University)
Includes acceptance/rejection rates of academic publications - Journal
Article Acceptance Rates
An introduction to the topic plus resources in various disciplines. From the Univ of North Texas Libraries. - Who
Publishes What: A Guide to Publishing Opportunities in Magazines
and Journals
Guide to help writers, primarily in the social sciences and humanities, identify the most appropriate periodicals in which they might have their work published. From UW Madison Memorial Library.
Citation Rates
- ISI Highly Cited
Tool to identify individuals that are the most highly cited within each category for the period 1981-1999, and comprise less than one-half of one percent of all publishing researchers
Instructions to Authors
- Chemistry
Journals
One of the world's most comprehensive and up-to-date lists of internet-linked chemistry-related journals - Economic
Journals on the Web
A to Z list with links to journal information - Instructions to Authors
in the Health Sciences
Searchable database of web links to official information for over 3500 journals (Medical College of Ohio) - MedBioWorld
Medical and bioscience resource directory includes j ournals grouped by bioscience topics and medical specialities - PSYCLINE
Searchable database of psychology and social science journals - Uniform Requirements
for Manuscripts Submitted to Biomedical Journals
(International Committee of Medical Journal Editors)
- How
do I submit a paper to a scientific journal?
by Maxine Clarke, executive editor of Nature
Maps
- Steenbock Library : Images and Maps
- Map Library : GIS Resources
- xreferplus

- Wisconsin Interactive Map Server
- Color Landform Atlas of the United States
- NationalAtlas.gov
- Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
Publishers
Quotations
Reference Gateways
- Google : Local | Scholar | Maps | Soople
- Librarian's Index to the Internet
- Internet Public Library
- Infomine
- Researching Librarian
- Scout Report
- Digital Librarian
- Common Content
Statistics
- CDC Wonder
- FAOSTAT:
FAO Statistical Databases (Food and Agriculture Organization
of the United Nations)
- FedStats
- Statistical
Abstract of the United States
- Statistical
Universe
- NationMaster.com | StateMaster.com
- University
of Michigan Documents Center: Statistical Resources on the
Web
- U. S. Census Bureau
- WisStat
- World Development Indicators Access to data Access to text
Weather & Climate
- Crop weather (Wisconsin Agricultural Statistics Service)
- Crop Weather (USDA - National Agricultural Statistics Service)
- National Weather Service
- National Climatic Data Center Publications