Abbreviations & Acronyms
Almanacs & Factbooks
Associations & Organizations
- Associations
Unlimited

- Associations on the Net (Internet Public Library)
- Gateway to Associations (American Society of Association Executives)
- Interaction: American Council for Voluntary International Action
- Union of International Organizations
- Scholarly Societies
Biographical Information
- Biography.com
- Biography and Geneology Master Index

- Current Biograpghy

- dmoz.org
Biography Directory
- Internet
Public Library Biography Links
Scientists
- American Men and Women of Science

- Community of Science

The COS Expertise section contains 500,000 profiles of researchers in 1,600 institutions around the world. - 4000
Years of Women in Science
Very brief biographies of mostly pre-20th century women in science. Includes links to other biographical sources.
Census Data & Demographics
Citing Sources / Bibliographies
- RefWorks Preview Styles - See examples of how to cite references in-text and for bibliographies.
Lots of source types and citation styles!
- Open RefWorks
- Click Bibliography
- Click Preview Styles
- Select Preview style
- Uncheck Use References from your account.
- Style manuals in Steenbock Reference Collection (non-circulating)
- Writing Center Guides - Citing References in Your Paper
Conversions & Equivalents
Country Information
Dictionaries/Thesaurus
General Dictionaries
- American Heritage® Dictionary
- Cliché Finder
- CREDO Reference (formerly Xreferplus)

- dmoz.org Dictionary Directory
- Merriam-Webster Dictionary
- OneLook Dictionaries - search over 1000 dictionaries at once
- OneLook Reverse Dictionary
- Oxford
English Dictionary Online

General Thesaurus
- Merriam-Webster Thesaurus
- Roget's II: The New Thesaurus
- Thesaurus.com
- Visual Thesaurus
- Wordsmyth.net
Agriculture & Life Sciences
- Agriculture Glossary
- BioTech Life Science Dictionary
- GardenWeb Glossary of Botanical Terms
- MedBioWorld : Medical & Bioscience Dictionaries, Glossaries and Terminologies
- National Agricultural Thesaurus
- CREDO Reference (formerly Xreferplus)

Languages
Directories
- UW Libraries Staff Directory
- UW-Madison Directory
- UW-Extension Directory
- University of Wisconsin System
- University of
Wisconsin System Budget ("Red
Book")
Official published budget of the UW System. Includes both summaries and itemized lists of expenditures.
Encyclopedias
General
- Encyclopædia
Britannica Online

Online edition of the standard general encyclopedia. - Wikipedia
- CREDO Reference (formerly Xreferplus)

General Science
Encyclopedia of Earth
"electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society"
- Knovel
Scientific and Engineering Online References

The content of more than 200 engineering reference handbooks and applied science data is interactive and cross-searchable. - Symbols.com
Animal Sciences
- Animal
Diversity Web
Animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan. - The
Birds of North America Online

- EBSCO Animals
- Encyclopedia
of Pest Management

- WILDPro

Physical Sciences
Plant Sciences
- Encyclopedia
of Agricultural, Food, and Biological Engineering

- Encyclopedia
of Plant and Crop Science

- Encyclopedia
of Soil Science

- Plants Database (USDA)
Focuses on vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
Experts/Research areas
- Community of Science

The COS Expertise section contains 500,000 profiles of researchers in 1,600 institutions around the world. - UW Madison University Communications Experts Database
Primarily for journalists who seek the expertise of UW Madison faculty and staff. Each of these experts has agreed to talk with reporters on selected topics. - Current Research at University of Wisconsin

- Current Research at CIC Universities

- ISI Highly Cited

Tool to identify individuals that are the most highly cited within each category for the period 1981-1999, and comprise less than one-half of one percent of all publishing researchers.
Journal Information
AbbreviationsWhere Journals Are Indexed
- ISI Thompson Master Journal List
- Ulrich’s
Periodical Directory

- Biological Abstracts Journal List
- Science Citation Index
- Social Science Citation Index
- Zoological Record Journal List
Is this journal peer-reviewed / refereed?
- Ulrich’s
Periodical Directory

Search for the journal title (Title (Exact)) and look for the refereed symbol (
)
Journals by Subject
Publication
Acceptance Rates
- Publishing
at the Top of the Heap
Excellent summary from Science Magazine, including some sample acceptance rates and impact factors. - Publishing
for Academics : References from Pollack Library (Cal State
University)
Includes acceptance/rejection rates of academic publications - Journal
Article Acceptance Rates
An introduction to the topic plus resources in various disciplines. From the Univ of North Texas Libraries. - Who
Publishes What: A Guide to Publishing Opportunities in Magazines
and Journals
Guide to help writers, primarily in the social sciences and humanities, identify the most appropriate periodicals in which they might have their work published. From UW Madison Memorial Library.
Citation Rates
- ISI Highly Cited
Tool to identify individuals that are the most highly cited within each category for the period 1981-1999, and comprise less than one-half of one percent of all publishing researchers
Instructions to Authors
- Chemistry
Journals
One of the world's most comprehensive and up-to-date lists of internet-linked chemistry-related journals - Economic
Journals on the Web
A to Z list with links to journal information - Instructions to Authors
in the Health Sciences
Searchable database of web links to official information for over 3500 journals (Medical College of Ohio) - MedBioWorld
Medical and bioscience resource directory includes j ournals grouped by bioscience topics and medical specialities - PSYCLINE
Searchable database of psychology and social science journals - Uniform Requirements
for Manuscripts Submitted to Biomedical Journals
(International Committee of Medical Journal Editors)
- How
do I submit a paper to a scientific journal?
by Maxine Clarke, executive editor of Nature
Maps
Protocols
CSH Protocols (Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory)
- Wiley's Protocols
- Steenbock Reserves
- Current protocols in cell biology
- Current protocols in cytometry
- Current protocols in molecular biology
- Current protocols in nucleic acid chemistry
- Current protocols in protein science
- Or request the protocol you need through Library Express
Publishers
Quotations
Reference Gateways
- Google : Local | Scholar | Maps | Soople
- Librarian's Index to the Internet
- Internet Public Library
- Infomine
- Researching Librarian
- Scout Report
- Digital Librarian
- Common Content
Statistics
- CDC Wonder
- FAOSTAT:
FAO Statistical Databases (Food and Agriculture Organization
of the United Nations)
- FedStats
- Statistical
Abstract of the United States
- Statistical
Universe
- NationMaster.com | StateMaster.com
- University
of Michigan Documents Center: Statistical Resources on the
Web
- U. S. Census Bureau
- WisStat
- World Development Indicators Access to data Access to text
Weather & Climate
- Crop weather (Wisconsin Agricultural Statistics Service)
- Crop Weather (USDA - National Agricultural Statistics Service)
- National Weather Service
- National Climatic Data Center Publications