Journal & Research Databases
| General Plant Databases | Newspapers and Popular Magazines |
General Plant Databases
| Agricola
(National Agriculture Library) (1970-) |
Indexes 2,500 journals, USDA publications, state agricultural experiment station and extension services documents, and FAO publications. It covers agriculture, entomology, plant science, and integrated pest management. (One of the best) |
| Agricola
(1970-) |
Public access through the National Agricultural Library. |
| Agris
(FAO Agriculture-United Nations) (1986-) |
World-wide coverage of English and foreign-language journals, books, reports, conference papers, and patents in the natural resources field. |
| Agricultural
and Environmental Biotechnology Abstracts |
Indexes 123 journal titles covering plant and animal biotechnological developments, new applications in food industry, and new developments in the environmental field. |
| Biological
Abstracts (1980-) |
Journal literature covering virtually every life science discipline including biochemistry, biotechnology, entomology, microbiology,and toxicology.(One of the best). |
| Biological
Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, Meetings) (1991-) |
Life science books, conference proceedings, meeting papers and research reviews. Journal articles are indexed in Biological Abstracts. |
| Biotechnology
Abstracts (Derwent) (1982-) |
Genetic and biochemical engineering, tissue culture, biological control. |
| CAB
(Agriculture & Veterinary) (1972-) |
Subjects covered include entomology, integrated pest management, microbiology, plant pathology, and forestry. (One of the best) |
| CRIS
(Current Research Information System) (current year) |
CRIS is a list of current or recently completed research projects funded by the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA). |
| Current
Contents (1993-) |
Publications concerning plant pathology are included among 7500 international journals. Updated weekly. Steenbock Library offers a Current Contents Service for faculty, staff and graduate students in CALS whereby a weekly search can be run with results delivered automatically to your email. |
| Ecology
Abstracts (1982-) |
Access to about 350 research journals in ecology. A sub-set of the Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management Database. |
| Ingenta
(1988-) |
Ingenta contains more than six million citations to articles from more than 18,000 international magazines and journals, about half of which are in science, technology, and medicine. |
| Plant
Management Network (2000- ) |
The Plant Management Network is a cooperative resource for the applied plant sciences. This web site offers two peer-reviewed journals (Plant Health Progress and Crop Management), and a searchable database of related web pages from the Network's partner universities, companies, and associations. |
| University of Wisconsin
Extension, Cooperative Extension Publications |
Publications can be searched by keyword, or browsed by broad subject categories. Amost all publications are in PDF format and available freely. Some require purchase. |
Web of Knowledge (1982-)
|
Includes Science Citation Index. Best for finding articles citing a particular author or paper and to find articles sharing one or more cited reference. The Web of Science indexes more than 8,000 peer-reviewed journals. Includes journal articles, reviews, letters, notes, and editorials. Also possible to search by author, title, and institution. |
Newspapers and Popular Databases
| Academic
Search (1984-) |
Academic Search is a full text database of more than 3000 journals covering a broad range of material. |
| LEXIS
/ NEXIS Academic Universe |
LEXIS / NEXIS ACADEMIC UNIVERSE is an online service composed of approximately 5,000 legal, news, reference, and business sources. Mostly full text. |
| ProQuest
Newspapers |
ProQuest Newspapers lists articles from 41 national and Wisconsin newspapers, and includes full text for most. |
| ProQuest
Research Library (1988-) |
ProQuest Research Library indexes more than 2,000 periodicals, and provides the full text of nearly 1,000 of them. |
Resources by Topic
General Information Websites
The American
Phytopathological Society
APS is an international scientific organization that promotes the study of
plant diseases and their control through publications, meetings, symposia,
workshops, and the World Wide Web.
Plant Pathology at the
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Home page for the Plant Pathology Department in the College of Agricultural
and Life Sciences at UW-Madison. Overview of course offerings and related links.
The Plant Pathology
Internet Guide Book
A subject oriented internet resource guide for plant pathology, applied entomology,
and all related fields. On these pages you will find plant pathology related
internet sites and more useful resources. A bit dated, but still useful.
Agriculture Network
Information Center
Agricultural Information and Documentation System for America (SIDALC) is a
joint effort among national agricultural information systems and is coordinated
by the Inter-American Institute for Cooperation in Agriculture, IICA.
USDA Plant Health
Information from the USDA on Plant Diseases, Pest Management, Weed Management, Plant Health Research, and more.
Forest Pathology
Disease Fact Sheets (University of Wisconsin-Extension)
A list of fact sheets for major diseases of deciduous woody ornamentals, conifers, herbaceous ornamentals, and more. Available in both PDF or Word formats.
Warnell
School of Forest Resouces-Forest Entomology
Contains information on everything for Gypsy
Moths to Bark Beatles and houses the Bugwood Network
Forest
Insect and Disease Leaflet - USDA Forest Service
The Forest and Insect Disease Leaflets Master
Directory. A compilation of full-text documents with access to
ordering out of print leaflets.
Gypsy
Moth at Virginia Polytechnic Institute
A useful site that combines solid background
information and illustrative slides with more specific IPM and
other research projects. Includes an international gypsy moth contact
list.
Gypsy
Moth in North America
Provides an overview of gypsy moth and its history
with specific pages dedicated to topics including: defoliation,
management and life cycle. Includes numerous illustrative photos
and relevant links.
Gypsy
Moth in Wisconsin
Focuses on the impact and control of gypsy moth
in Wisconsin. Includes information on spraying, fact sheets and
links.
Fruit Pathology
Fruit Pathology (University of Wisconsin)
Includes links to research, disease profiles, pathogen images, and more . Cranberries and tree fruits are highlighted.
The American Cranberry (Steenbock Library and Agricultural Information NetWork) The mission of this site is to provide electronic access to the full scope of information about the American cranberry that will serve the informational needs of cranberry growers, researchers, and the general public. Content and organization is determined by librarians at Steenbock Library in collaboration with faculty from the departments of Horticulture and Plant Pathology at UW-Madison, including UW-Extension specialists.
Insect Pests
USDA Animal & Plant
Health Plant Inspection Service (USDA-APIS)
The site includes a searchable database of information about plant pests.
Illinois
Natural History Survey - Center for Economic Entomology
Provides information and literature on insect
pests and biological control; emphasis is on soybeans, therividae,
western corn rootworm, and the control of purple loostrife.
Insect
Pests and Management (Virginia Tech)
Link to section "Insect Pests" to find sites on individual pests, management
techniques, and hosts including household, garden, turf, fruit and vegetables
hosts.
Integrated Pest Management
Biological
Control: A Guide to Natural Enemies in North America (Cornell
University)
biocontrol guide provides photographs and descriptions of control agents of
insect, disease and weed pests in North America. Includes natural parasitoids,
predators, pathogens, and weed feeders.
Biological
Control Virtual Information Center (North
Carolina State University)
Links to biological control agencies and facilities including federal, state,
non-profit, and international organizations, research laboratories, and programs.
Center
for Integrated Pest Management (CIPM) North
Carolina State University)
The site contains descriptions of the center's projects, databases, and links
to CIPM web sites and other IPM sites.
Ecological
Database of World's Insect Pathogens (EDWIP) (Illinois
Natural History Survey)
Provides a searchable database for insect pathogens.
Entomology
Index: Integrated Pest Management (Iowa
State University,Dept. of Entomology)
A list of IPM Internet sites
IPMnet (Consortium
for International Crop Protection)
Dedicated to promoting economically efficient and environmentally sound protection
practices in developing countries. Links to Database
of IPM Resources (DIR), an information retrieval/referral
system and a compendium of directories of worldwide IPM information resource;
to a textbook and other publications on IPM.
National Integrated
Pest Management - Northeast Region
Northeastern US IPM regional site with job listings,
projects, reports, and calendar.
National
Integrated Pest Management Network - North Central Region
North Central US IPM site with resources for
pest problems including Vegetable
IPM a database from University of Minnesota
containing pest fact sheets and pest infestation updates for the
upper Midwest; SIRIC,
Soybean Insect Resource Information Center,
a database from Illinois Natural History Survey, Illinois Agricultural
Experiment Station containing literature and links to soybean literature;
a directory of North Central state contacts.
UW-Madison Integrated
Pest and Crop Management programs
Contains news, articles, contacts, and links
to other Internet IPM sites. Intended for the practitioner.
Turfgrass Pathology
Insects
on the WWW-Turf and Lawn Insect Pests (Virginia
Tech)
Links to many web pages from academic institutions on management, control and
general information on turf and lawn pests. Site initially designed for a course
of Insects & Human Society at Entomology of VT.
Insects
on the WWW-Urban Insect Pests (Virginia
Tech)
Links to many web pages from academic institutions on management, control and
general information on urban pests. Site initially designed for a course of
Insects & Human Society at Entomology of VT TECH.
Turfgrass
Entomology (Univ. of Nebraska)
Descriptions, images, identification tools, insecticide tables, and bibliography
on turfgrass insects.
Turfgrass Disease Diagnostic Clinic See description under Plant Disease Diagnostics
Plant Pathogenic Fungi
Plant Microbe Interactions
IPlant Virology
International Plant Virology Lab
Includes links to cooperative research projects on plant virology, UW-Madison undergraduate research projects, and collaborative instructional projects.
Descriptions of Plant VirusesThis site provides a central source of information about viruses, viroids and satellites of plants, fungi and protozoa, with some additional data on related animal viruses, including sequence information. Sponsored by the Association of Applied Biologists and Rothamsted Research.
Geminiviridae From the Danforth Plant Science Center
Plant Virology on the Web A part of "All the Virology on the Web", this site includes links to Institutes, Academic Departments, Plant Virus Labs, and specific plant virus information.
Plant Viruses Online These pages contain information on most species of virus known to infect plants. Includes data on host range; transmission and control; geographical distribution; physical, chemical and genomic properties; taxonomy and relationships; and selected literature references. These pages are a product of the VIDE (Virus Identification Data Exchange) project.
Vegetable/Field Crops Pathology
Vegetable Pathology (University of Wisconsin)
Contains links to the UW Vegetable Disease Control Trials, Vegetable Crop Updates, Wisconsin Seed Potato Certification Program, Weather and Planting Days information, as well as Powerpoint slide sets on vegetable pathology topics.
Vegetable Disease Fact Sheets (University of Wisconsin-Extension)
Fact Sheets on major diseases of vegetables, such as aster yellows, damping off, downy mildew, early blight, etc. Available in both PDF or Word formats.
Field and Forage Disease Fact Sheets (University of Wisconsin-Extension)
Fact Sheets on major diseases of field and forage crops, such as brown spot, ergot, fusarium head blight, soybean rust, etc. Available in both PDF or Word formats.
Note: For a complete list see Plant Disease Diagnostic Fact Sheets.
Soybean Plant Health(UW-Madison)Includes the latest research on all aspects of soybean plant health from the University of Wisconsin-Madison, including links to soybean health web sites beyond the UW-Madison.
Nematodes
Plant Disease Diagnostics
Plant Diagnostic Clinic(UW-Madison)
The University of Wisconsin-Madison/Extension Plant Disease Diagnostics Clinic (PDDC) provides
assistance in identifying plant diseases and provides educational information on plant diseases and their control.
While the Plant Disease Diagnostics Clinic focuses on plant disease problems in the state of Wisconsin, any interested
party is welcome and encouraged to take advantage of and participate in the Clinic's educational services and activities.
Wisconsin Disease Almanac
The Wisconsin Disease Almanac is a listing of diseases detected in Wisconsin. The almanac can be viewed by county, commodity, or as an entire listing by month.
Turgrass Diagnostic Clinic (University of Wisconsin) The laboratory provides a nonprofit service supported by the College of Agricultural and Life Sciences, UW-Extension, and the Department of Plant Pathology, UW-Madison. Its goal is to provide rapid, accurate and specific disease diagnostic information and management recommendations to turfgrass growers. The laboratory is also a site of research and development of new molecular technologies which will provide rapid, accurate diagnosis of pathogens currently difficult to detect.
Images
Botanical Society of America Online Image Collection Images currently cover Plant Geography, Plant Morphology, Phloem Development, Xylem Development, Floral Ontogeny, Lichens, Economic Botany, Carnivorous Plants, Organography, Pollen, Paleobotany, Plant Defense Mechanisms, Plant Anatomy, and Cellular Communication Channels
Google Image Search Comprehensive image search engine.Texas
Plant Disease Handbook
Organized by plant type, the TPDH includes definitions
of plant diseases as well as images for some but not all pathologies.
University
of Wisconsin- Madison Botany Teaching Collection
This searchable database contains numerous photos of plants. This collection
of resources was organized to serve the needs of the students and instructors
of the introductory course, General Botany. Others will find them useful for
references and as a source of teaching materials.
Vegetable Disease Powerpoint Slide Sets (University of Wisconsin Vegetable Pathology)
Includes slide sets on Potato, Bean, Cucumber, Carrot, Mint, and Fungicides
Books, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
- Encyclopedia of Plant and Crop Science The Encyclopedia of Plant and Crop Science is a single-source reference work to inclusively cover classic and modern studies in plant biology in conjunction with research, applications, and innovations in crop science. From the fundamentals of plant growth and reproduction to developments in agronomy and agricultural science, the Encyclopedia's content nurtures communication between these academically distinct yet intrinsically related spheres--offering a spread of clear, descriptive, and concise entries to optimally serve scientists, agriculturalists, policy makers, students, and the general public
- Crop
Protection Compendium:
The Crop Protection Compendium is an encyclopedic, mixed media tool that brings together a wide range of different types of science-based information on all aspects of crop protection. It encompasses not only pests, diseases and weeds and their natural enemies, but also the crops that are their hosts and the countries where they occur. - Ecology
and Natural Resources Digital Collection
The Ecology and Natural Resources Collection brings together, in digital form, two categories of primary and secondary publications: writings about research in ecology and natural resources conducted by University of Wisconsin faculty and staff; and unique or valuable titles in these fields held by the University of Wisconsin Libraries, including Aldo Leopold papers, 1903-1948; DNR Technical Bulletins; Prairie Proceedings: North American Prairie Conference; Wisconsin Land Economic Inventory. - Encyclopedia of Agricultural, Food, and Biological Engineering
- Encyclopedia of Pest Management
MadCat is the catalog of books, journals, and other materials held in UW-Madison libraries. More about Madcat.
Useful subject terms in the area of plant pathology are:
|
|
Statistics/Facts
CropMap An interactive map incorporating county crop statistics from the US Agricultural Census, and crop lists by state experts subdivided into traditional crops, recommended crops, experimental crops, and non recommended crops. Can be searched by crop, state,county, or keyword.
USDA-APHIS (Animal Health and Plant Health Inspection Service)
Wisconsin Agricultural Statistics
People, Places, Organizations
Calendars/Conferences | Academic Departments & Research Centers | Organizations & AssociationsCalendars/Conferences
Agricultural Conferences, Meetings, Seminars Calendar (AgNic)
Papers Invited(Business One, Inc. product), Useful, searchable resource for tracking calls for papers and conference information. Public and subscription features, student opportunities.
Academic Departments and Research Centers
Cornell University Department of Plant Pathology
Kansas State University Department of Plant Pathology
Montana State University Plant Sciences and Plant Pathology Department
North Carolina State University Department of Plant Pathology
North Dakota State University Department of Plant Pathology
Ohio State University Department of Plant Pathology
Purdue University Department of Botany and Plant Pathology
Rutgers University Plant Biology Program
Texas A & M University Department of Plant Pathology and Microbiology
University of Michigan Plant Pathology Department
University of Wisconsin-Madison Plant Pathology Department
Organizations and Associations
The American
Phytopathological Society
APS is an international scientific organization that promotes the study of
plant diseases and their control through publications, meetings, symposia,
workshops, and the World Wide Web.
The British
Society for Plant Pathology
BSPP was founded in 1981 for the study and
advancement of plant pathology. They support the professional interests
of plant pathologists worldwide and provide information and communicate
with members via a newsletter, web site and annual meeting.
Canadian
Phytopathology Society
CPS promotes research and education in plant
pathology, public awareness of the importance of plant diseases,
and discussion of all aspects of plant pathology in Canada and
internationally.
International Society
for Plant Pathology
The ISPP promotes the world-wide development
of plant pathology and the dissemination of knowledge about plant
diseases and plant health management.
Jobs and Funding
Job Hunting
CALS Career Services (UW-Madison College of Ag. and Life Sciences)
APS-Net: Careers and Placement
Job Hunting on the Internet (from drop-in workshop at Steenbock)
The Riley Guide: Employment Opportunities and Job Resources on the Internet (Job Listings takes you to job listings in Natural Sciences, discipline specific, government, major sources and more.)
Grants and Funding Opportunities
Community of Science
On-line resource for networking with colleagues,
promoting research, and seeking funding opportunities.
Grants
Information Center
Collection of resources dedicated to scholarships,
fellowships, grants, and other funding opportunities.
This page available at http://steenbock.library.wisc.edu/subjectguide/plantpath.htm
Please send comments about this page to: Patricia Herrling
