Subject Guides: News and Current Events Resources


Newspapers on Campus

Finding Newspapers by Title

1. - use to search for a newspaper by title.

2. MadCat - print, microform and some electronically available newspapers are listed in MadCat and can be searched by title.
Note: not all available newspapers are cataloged in MadCat.

Newspapers in Memorial Library : U.S. ; International

Newspapers in the Wisconsin Historical Society Library : general information ; search MadCat by title

Licensed News Databases

Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe (Truncate with ! )
Over 5,000 news, legal, and business sources. U.S. and international newspapers include Wisconsin State Journal (1992-), Capital Times (1992-), Milwaukee Journal/Sentinel (Sep 1995-) and New York Times (1990-).

Proquest Newspapers (Truncate with * )
Over 300 US and Wisconsin newspapers including Capital Times, Wisconsin State Journal, and Milwaukee Journal/Sentinel, Wall Street Journal, and New York Times (current 90 days only).

Proquest Historical Newspapers: New York Times (1851-2001) (Truncate with * )
Includes full-text and full-image articles since its beginning year. Digital reproductions of every page and every article from every issue are available in downloadable PDF files.

Ethnic Newswatch (Truncate with * )
Full-text collection of more than 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Spanish language publications are presented in Spanish.

Global Newsbank (Truncate with * )
Offers varying perspectives on international issues and events. Covering Africa, Asia, Europe, the former Soviet Union, Pacific Rim, Central and South America and the Middle East, it is ideal for researching a wide variety of international developments related to politics, economics, science & technology, culture and business.

World News Connection (Truncate with ? )
Major source of English language translations of foreign media compiled by the U.S. government from thousands of non-U.S. media sources, covering significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events.

All UW Madison News Sources

Top

UW Madison News & Student Newspapers

News@UW-Madison
Reports on current UW-Madison campus news from the Office of News and Public Affairs.

Wisconsin Week
Wisconsin Week is published biweekly and is the official newspaper of record for the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Badger Herald Web Site
Daily issue online - archived from 2001.

Daily Cardinal (Digital Cardinal)
Daily issue online - some archiving.

Top

Higher Education News

Chronicle of Higher Education
This site offers selected material from the weekly Chronicle of Higher Education including searchable job listings. Some material is available only to subscribers.

Agricultural News

USDA Newsroom

Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection Press Releases

Wisconsin and US Market News

USDA Weekly Weather and Crop Bulletin

@griculture Online

AgWeb.com

Headlinespot Agriculture Industry News

Yahoo! News: Farming and Agriculture

Alternative Press

Alternative Press Center Online Directory

Alternative Press Index

Association of Alternative Newsweeklies

Left Index

Current News Services

BBC

CNN Interactive

Headlinespot.com

MSNBC

WorldNews Network
WorldNews uses several hundred online news sources in 20 languages and presents them in over 500 subject and geographical categories.

Yahoo! News

Top

Madison and Wisconsin News

Capital Times (selected coverage)
Use LexisNexis or Proquest Newspapers for additional coverage.

Isthmus Daily Page

Milwaukee Journal Sentinel

Wisconsin State Journal (selected coverage)
Use LexisNexis or Proquest Newspapers for additional coverage.

Wisconsin Newspapers
List of Wisconsin newspapers from Newslink.

Selected Major US Newspapers

Chicago Tribune

Christian Science Monitor

Los Angeles Times

Minneapolis Star Tribune

New York Times

San Francisco Chronicle and Examiner

USA Today

Washington Post

Worldwide News Collections

NewsDirectory
Lists English-language newspapers from all over the world.

NewsLink
Sponsored by the American Journalism Review.

Newspapers: USA and Worldwide

NewsVoyager

OnlineNewspapers.com
List by country of more than 5000 newspapers.

News Archives

US Newspaper Archives on the Web
This site is compiled by the Special Libraries Association News Division.

International Newspaper Archives on the Web
This site is compiled by the Special Libraries Association News Division.

Time Magazine Archive
81 years of archives available and is keyword and date-searchable and includes cover images.

Top


This page available at http://steenbock.library.wisc.edu/subjectguide/news_sources.htm
Last updated: November 13, 2007
About Us | Contact Us | ©2005 Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System

Steenbock Memorial Library is the primary resource library for the University of Wisconsin-Madison's College of Agricultural and Life Sciences, School of Human Ecology, School of Veterinary Medicine and UW Extension, Cooperative Extension.