Subject Guides:  

Landscape Design

Design Center for American Urban Landscape
Projects and publications of the Design Center, within the College of Architecture and Landscape Architecture at the University of Minnesota.

IMLAB - Imaging Systems Laboratory
Large scale visualization resources developed by the Landscape Architecture Department at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Landscape Plants of the Upper Midwest
Interactive guide and searchable database compiled by William A. Hoch, UW Dept. of Horticulture. Provides information about over 600 species of trees, shrubs, vines and groundcover common in the region (hardiness zones 3, 4 and 5).

Urban Land Institute
A nonprofit, nonpartisan research and educational institute studying land use and real estate development policy and practice.

WWW Virtual Library - Landscape Architecture
Resource links provided by Rodney Hoinkes, Centre for Landscape Research, University of Toronto. This site has apparently not been updated since 2000.

Urban Ecology and Design

1000 Friends of Wisconsin
1000 Friends of Wisconsin & The Land Use Institute aims to educate citizens and policy makers about the benefits of responsible land use and protection of our economic, cultural and natural resources statewide.

Chicago Wilderness
Association of community groups and institutions in metropolitan Chicago whose missions include biodiversity protection. Links to habitat restoration descriptions, events, and An Atlas of Biodiversity for the Chicago area.

Cyburbia: The Urban Planning Portal
Portal site for urban planners and others interested in cities and the built environment, Cyburbia contains a directory of Internet resources relevant to planning and urbanism, information about mailing lists and newsgroups, and it hosts an active bulletin board and image hosting gallery.

Resource Centre on Urban Agriculture and Forestry (RUAF)
Resource centre seeking to facilitate the integration of urban agriculture in the policies and programmes of national and local governments, research institutions and NGO’s. Provides news and agenda calendar, bibliography (IE compatible), and magazine access.

Sustainable Urban Landscape Information Series (SULIS)
From the University of Minnesota, Department of Horticulture, SULIS provides sustainable landscape information, including design, plants, and maintenance information to the public and to the horticulture/landscape industry to create outdoor spaces that are functional, environmentally sound, cost effective and aesthetically pleasing.

Urban Parks Online, Project for Public Spaces
Site provides guidelines for creating and managing urban parks, case studies of successful urban parks, links to funding resources.

Urban Open Space Foundation
A local, Madison, Wisconsin foundation active in urban park planning.

The Urban Sphere (Global Development Research Center)
From the Global Development Research Center, Japan, the site includes links to full-text documents, dictionaries, statistics, organizations, urban ecology news, and other urban design web sites.

Regional Planning

Dane County Web Page
Links to county departments: Planning & Development, Land Conservation, Parks; reports & hearings.

Dane County Farmers' Market On the Square
Market vendor directory, virtual tour of the market, recipes, and resources.

Great Lakes Ecological Assessment Home Page
Multi-agency effort to collect and consolidate new and existing environmental, biological, and socioeconomic information in the Northern Lake States

The Nature Conservancy: Wisconsin Chapter
Profiles of preserves, conservancy events, chapter activities

Southwestern Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission
Planning & coordination for the physical, social, and economic development of Grant, Green, Iowa, Lafayette, & Richland counties in Wisconsin.

University of Wisconsin-Extension Local Government Center
Workshop listings, publications, and Internet links to issues concerning community planning, growth management, and transportation.

Historic Preservation

Advisory Council on Historic Preservation (ACHP)
An independent Federal agency created by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the major policy advisor to the Government in the field of historic preservation. Program, news, training, and education links.

Bureau of Land Management Historical Photographs, 1890s-1980s
Over 3,500 historical digital images, documenting the nation’s westward migration and the activities of the General Land Office and the Grazing Service. Most photos are public domain.

Catena: Digital Archive of Historic Gardens + Landscapes
Sponsored by the Bard Graduate Center for Studies in the Decorative Arts, Design, and Culture, this archive provides images and historical documentation about the villa as a landscape type. Other landscape types will be added in the future.

Centre for Canadian Landscape Architecture Archives (CCLAA)
A joint project of the University of Guelph Library, Special Collections & Library Development, and the School of Landscape Architecture, Guelph, Ontario.

Cultural Landscapes Bibliography
The bibliography was compiled by Mary Corbin Sies, Gilda Anroman, Claudia Rector, and Krista Park, with the present annotations contributed by the students.

Historic American Buildings Survey / Historic American Engineering Record / Historic American Landscape Survey (HABS/HAER/HALS)
These programs administered by the National Park Service in cooperation with the Library of Congress are charged with documenting important landscapes and architectural, engineering and industrial sites throughout the United States and its territories.

Land Record Reference
Guide to land history and transaction records.

National Center for Preservation Technology and Training (NCPTT)
NCPTT promotes the preservation and conservation of prehistoric and historic resources, including landscapes, in the US, through preservation technology and training. An interdisciplinary program of the National Park Service.

National Register of Historic Places
The official national list of cultural resources worthy of preservation. This site, maintained through the National Park Service has links for travel, teaching, publications and new features.

National Trust for Historic Preservation
Nonprofit organization dedicated to protecting historic buildings and the neighborhoods and landscapes they anchor.

Preservation Directory.com
Online resource directory to free research tools in the field of historic preservation, building restoration, heritage conservation and cultural resource management.

Society of Architectural Historians (SAH)
The Mission of the Society of Architectural Historians is to advance knowledge and understanding of the history of architecture, design, landscape, and urbanism worldwide.

Wisconsin Historical Society, Historic Preservation Division
Site of the federally designated State Historic Preservation Office for Wisconsin, assists with identifying and protecting archaeological sites, burial places, historic buildings and other resources such as shipwrecks and historic barns.

Restoration Ecology

Invasive Species Management

Center for Invasive Plant Management, Montana State University
Comprehensive site linking to information regarding invasive plant species, various national and regional (Western United States) concerns and contacts.

Invasive Species, Bureau of Endangered Resources, Wisconsin DNR
Information regarding native and non-native plants and animals. Links to DNR Technical Bulletins and on-line publications.

Invasive Plants Association of Wisconsin
Association devoted to promoting responsible stewardship of natural resources by understanding and managing invasive plant species.

Invasive Species Initiative
Site links to a management library of ESAs (Element Stewardship Abstracts) and a downloadable Weed Control Methods Handbook.

Midwest Resources

The Aldo Leopold Foundation
Strives to promote the care of natural resources and foster an ethical relationship between people and land, with programs and educational activities on the original Leopold Family Farm outside Baraboo, Wisconsin.

Benefits of Growing Native Plants (Minnesota DNR web page)
Introductory information on landscaping with native plants, also contains useful links including Native Plant References and Landscape Design with Native Plants

Chicago Wilderness
Association of community groups and institutions in metropolitan Chicago whose missions include biodiversity protection. Links to habitat restoration descriptions, events, and An Atlas of Biodiversity for the Chicago area.

Forest Health Protection (Wisconsin DNR web page)
Information about the Prevention and Treatment of Forest Tree Problems.

Green Landscaping with Native Plants
Sponsored by the EPA's Great Lakes National Program Office, this site offers resources for natural landscaping, plus a toolkit for local governments and a law review article on municipal weed laws.

Iowa Prairie Network
Local organization supporting preservation of tallgrass prairie; links to events and resources.

Landscape Plants of the Upper Midwest
Interactive guide and searchable database compiled by William A. Hoch, UW Dept. of Horticulture. Information about over 600 species of trees, shrubs, vines and groundcover common in the region (hardiness zones 3, 4 and 5), search can be limited to native plants.

Non-game Animals, Plants, & Natural Communities (Wisconsin DNR web page)
Includes working lists of threatened and endangered species by taxa and by county, and factsheets on individual species.

The Prairie Enthusiasts
Local Wisconsin-Illinois organization ; follow flora/fauna link to Finley's map of vegetation of Wisconsin in the 1830s.

U.S. Forest Service North Central Research Station
USDA Forest Service, St. Paul Field Office, providing information and assistance on forest health and tree care, and natural resources management.

The Water Resources Institute
UW-Madison based program aimed to research & solve water resource problems.

National Resources

The Bullitt Foundation
Pacific NW organization offering grants to regional non-profit groups. Site includes descriptions of projects and funding levels.

EPA Ecoregion Maps and GIS Resources
Downloadable maps and data to Level III (120 regions for 49 continental states). More detailed Level IV information is available for 34 states, including Wisconsin.

EPA River Corridor and Wetland Restoration
Government-sponsored clearinghouse for US river and wetland restoration projects.

Evergreen
Canadian-based non-profit organization; information and resources for school and community-based projects.

Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center
Texas-based non-profit organization dedicated to educating people about the environmental necessity, economic value, and natural beauty of native plants. Its Native Plant Information Network includes Native Plants Database and a searchable Image Gallery.

National Council for Science and the Environment
Non-profit organization providing resources for restoration, jobs, education.

Northern Prairie Wildlife Research Center
Includes a searchable database of northern prairie biological resources, and a publications database.

Plant Conservation Alliance
A consortium of federal agencies and non-federal cooperators focused on public-private partnerships for habitat restoration and preservation.

Plants Database
From the USDA's National Resources Conservation Service, includes links to plant factsheets, publications and sources.

Savanna Restoration Bibliography

US Bureau of Land Management
"It is the mission of the Bureau of Land Management to sustain the health, diversity and productivity of the public lands for the use and enjoyment of present and future generations."

U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service National Wetlands Inventory
Information on the characteristics, extent, and status of the Nation's wetlands and deepwater habitats. Includes maps and downloadable data.

Wetland Restoration Bibliography

Wetlands International

Organic Foods (Animal Husbandry and Farming)

Organic Foods, Resource Guide by Subject, Steenbock Library

Publications and Presses

Publications, Ecology Focus

International Classification of Ecological Communities:
Terrestrial Vegetation of the United States. Volume I. The National Vegetation
Classification System: Development, Status, and Applications
, The Nature Conservancy, 1998.

National Park Bookshops
National Park Service publications, various.

NRCS Plant Materials Program Publications From the USDA's National Resources Conservation Service, links to plant information documents developed by the USDA-NRCS and other Federal agencies.

Prairie Establishment and Landscaping
Illinois DNR Natural Heritage Technical Publication #2, 1997

USDA Forest Service North Central Research Station Publications
Publications from the St. Paul field office.

UWEX, Cooperative Extension- Publications
Agricultural, environmental and horticultural publications among others.

Publications, Historic Preservation Focus

Cultural Resource Management
Journal published by the National Park Service. Full text articles searchable by title, author and subject.

Guidelines for Evaluating and Documenting Traditional Cultural Properties
National Register Bulletin 38, National Park Service, includes recommended bibliography and sources, 1990, revised 1992 and 1998.

Presses

Dumbarton Oaks Publications
See selections under History of Landscape Architecture, or view titles available online from the link to New Feature: Electronic texts (online).

Johns Hopkins University Press
Search the book index for Environment:Landscape History.

Island Press
Publisher of timely and practical books about the environment for professionals, students, and general readers.

Planners Book Service
Book service of the American Planning Association.

Princeton Architectural Press
Publisher of books on architecture, landscape and design. Catalog is searchable by author, title and subject.

SpaceMaker Press
Publisher of books in landscape art and architecture, plus in-depth studies of individual projects and designers.

University of California Press
Search the book catalog under heading: Architecture.

Wiley Catalog
For selections in Landscape Architecture, see items under Architecture.

Yale University Press
Look under Browse our Bookshelves for items under Environmental and Landscape Studies, or search for a specific title.

Landscape Architects

Books

MadCat
Landscape architects will be indexed under the name of the individual designers. Enter the last name first followed by the first name or initial. Books highlighting the work of several landscape designers should be searched under the general heading: landscape architecture, landscape architects, or landscape gardening.

Journal articles

Art Full Text 1984- Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.Find It Enabled
Surveys over 300 English-language journals; indexes key landscape architecture journals; particularly useful for locating papers on key landscape architects.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals 1930- Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.Find It Enabled
The primary architecture index in North America; good coverage of articles about landscape architects and city planners

Reference

Biography and Genealogy Master Index 1976- Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Citations to over 4000 current and historical persons including renowned landscape architects.

Current Biography 1940 - Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Full-text biographies and obituaries of more than 15,000 people that have appeared in Current Biography Yearbook since 1940. Includes well-known landscape architects, planners, and designers.