Subject Guides: Landscape Architecture 

Landscape Architecture & Design

Open to everyone.   Art & Architecture Thesaurus On Line Helpful in finding subject headings for literature searches.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Find It Enabled Art Full Text (1984-) Surveys about 450 English-language journals; indexes key landscape architecture journals; particularly useful for locating papers on key landscape architects.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Find It Enabled Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (1930-) The primary architecture index in North America; good coverage of articles in landscape architecture and city planning.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Find It Enabled Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (1981-) A multidisciplinary database that covers many environment-related topics, including ecology, environmental engineering, human population & natural resource management, and water resources.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.   IngentaConnect Multidisciplinary database includes over 28,000 journals. Full text available within Ingenta for about 800 journals; for other articles listed in Ingenta, UW users should use FindIt to find copies.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Find It Enabled Web of Knowledge (1965-) Includes Arts & Humanities Citation Index beginning in 1982. Citation index for locating other articles that cite a particular author or paper.

Ecology & Restoration

Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Find It Enabled Agricola (National Agricultural Library) (1970-) Indexes 2,500 journals, USDA publications, including USDA Forest Service, state agricultural experiment station and foreign documents. Covers articles on natural resources, ecology, and plant studies from an applied view.
Open to everyone.   Agricola (1970-) Public access through the National Agricultural Library.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Find It Enabled Biological Abstracts (1969-) The premier research database in the life sciences that indexes journal articles; excellent coverage in ecology and plant studies.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Find It Enabled Biological Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, Meetings) (1991-) (Reports, Reviews, Meetings) 1991-. BA/RRM indexes reports, reviews, and meeting literature in the life sciences; a companion to Biological Abstracts
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Find It Enabled CAB (Agriculture & Veterinary) (1910-) CAB from the Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux in Great Britain indexes worldwide agricultural literature including ecology and plant studies .
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Find It Enabled Ecology Abstracts (1982-) Provides access to about 350 research journals in ecology. It covers interactions of all organisms, plants and animals, to their environment and to each other.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Find It Enabled GEOBASE (1980-) Provides citations and abstracts to some 2,000+ scholarly journals, as well as books, reports, and theses related to geography, geology and ecology. Interdisciplinary and international in scope.
Open to everyone.   PLANTS Database PLANTS provides standardized plant names and a photo gallery. Sponsored by the USDA, Natural Resources Conservation Service, Biological Conservation Sciences Division, National Plant Data Center (NPDC)
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Find It Enabled Web of Knowledge (1965-) This database tracks references to cited authors or cited articles from over 8,000 peer-reviewed journals in three databases: Science Citation Index (1965-), Social Sciences Citation Index (1982-), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1982-)

Historic Preservation

Open to everyone.   American Landscape and Architectural Design, 1850-1920 Library of Congress American Memory site, a collection of lantern slides presenting views of American buildings and landscapes during the time period. Search by keywords or browse by subject.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Find It Enabled America: History and Life (1964-) Historical database with emphasis on United States and Canadian History.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Find It Enabled Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984) Indexes some 450 key English and foreign-language periodicals covering art, architecture, graphics, crafts, decorative arts, industrial and interior design.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Find It Enabled Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (1930-) The primary architecture index in North America; good source of articles in architecture, landscape architecture and city planning written since 1930.
Open to everyone.   Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture Electronic Facsimiles Searchable facsimiles of 18th-20th century source materials on topics including domestic architecture and landscape gardening

Landscape Architects

Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Find It Enabled Art Full Text (1984-) Surveys over 300 English-language journals; indexes key landscape architecture journals; particularly useful for locating papers on key landscape architects.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Find It Enabled Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (1930-) The primary architecture index in North America; good coverage of articles about landscape architects and city planners.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.   Biography and Genealogy Master Index (1976-) Citations to over 4000 current and historical persons including renowned landscape architects.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.   Current Biography (1940-) Full-text biographies and obituaries of more than 15,000 people that have appeared in Current Biography Yearbook since 1940. Includes well-known landscape architects, planners, and designers.