Subject Guides: Interior Design


Journal & Research Databases

General
Art & Design

Business
History

Psychology
Newspapers

General

Academic Search Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Many academic areas including business, social sciences, and humanities. More than 3000 journals plus New York Times and Wall Street Journal.

ProQuest Research Library Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Mix of more than 2000 general interest and academic journals that cover the arts, business, education, health, humanities, psychology, sciences, and the social sciences.

Reader's Guide Full-Text and Retrospective (1890- ) Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Indexes more than 240 general interest periodicals, including the New York Times. Its subject matter covers news and current events in all subject areas.

Art & Design

Art Full Text Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Indexes about 450 journals and covers archaeology, architecture, art history, crafts, decorative arts, graphic arts,industrial and interior design, landscape architecture, museology, and film, video and photography.

Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984) Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Subject matter includes broad coverage of art, architecture, graphics, crafts, decorative arts, industrial and interior design, photography, film and video. Predecessor to Art Full Text.

Design and Applied Arts Index Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
International index to over 450 design and craft journals. All areas of design and craft are covered, including industrial design, interior design, environmental design, computer-aided design, furniture design, textile design, graphic design, and design and craft theory.

Humanities Full Text Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Indexes 400 English language periodicals. Its subject matter covers archaeology and classical studies, art, film, folklore, history, journalism, linguistics, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, and theology.

Index to Nineteenth-Century American Art Periodicals (1844 - 1907) Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Indexes 42 art journals published in the United States during the nineteenth century. Coverage includes artists and illustrators, architecture and design, exhibitions and sales, decoration and collecting.

InformeDesign
Database of easy-to-read Research Summaries for designers. Sponsored by the American Society of Interior Designers and the University of Minnesota. Free, but registration is required.

Business

ABI/INFORM Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Covers more than 1300 scholarly and trade business periodicals and popular journals such as Forbes, Fortune, and Business Week. Information on management techniques, corporate strategies, trends, and business conditions.

Business Full-Text Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Indexes 400 key business periodicals, including trade magazines and scholarly journals. Its subject matter covers all aspects of business, from management, production, and marketing to activities of specific businesses and trades.

Business Source Elite Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Indexes more than 2500 scholarly and popular business magazines. Covers many areas of business including management, economics, finance, banking and accounting.

History

America: History and Life Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
More than 1700 social science and humanities journals in the field of United States and Canadian history.

Historical Abstracts Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Indexes and abstracts information in world history and the related social sciences and humanities, excluding the U.S. and Canada. (See America: History and Life for U.S. and Canadian coverage.)

Reader's Guide Full-Text and Retrospective (1890- ) Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Indexes more than 240 general interest periodicals, including the New York Times. Its subject matter covers news and current events in all subject areas.

Psychology

PsycINFO Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Covers world's literature in psychology and related subjects from over 1300 journals.


Newspapers

NEXIS (LEXIS/NEXIS) Academic Universe Web Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Online service composed of approximately 5,000 legal, news, reference, and business sources. Mostly full text.

ProQuest Newspapers Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Articles from 41 national and Wisconsin newspapers, and includes full text for most.

Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.= License Restricted (About) = open to everyone


Resources by Topic

= image collection

Architecture

20th Century Architecture and Interior Design
The Gittscho-Schleisner Collection is "comprised of over 29,000 images primarily of architectural subjects, including interiors and exteriors of homes, stores, offices, factories, historic buildings, and other structures." They are located primarily in the northeastern United States, mainly the New York City area, and Florida.

Archguide
Created by the Belgian Architects Association, ArchGuide is a searchable, very comprehensive online catalogue of international architecture web sites. Notable are the sections on magazines and architectural photography.

Architecture and Building
Topics covered by this guide include architecture, building and construction, design, housing, planning, preservation, facility management, energy and the environment, and landscape architecture.

American Landscape and Architectural Design, 1850-1920
Approximately 2,800 lantern slides represents an historical view of American buildings and landscapes. From the Library of Congress.

Architecture Visual Resources Library
Database of online images of architecture, urbanism, landscape architecture, art and design from UC Berkeley.

ArchNet Digital Library
Images of contemporary buildings, historical monuments and general views with special focus on the Islamic world.

Asian Historical Architecture
Photographic survey of Asia's architectural heritage. Here you can view over 8500 photos of 539 sites in seventeen countries.

Chicago Imagebase
"Web-based project aimed at enhancing knowledge about the built environment of the Chicago region. On this site you will find a wide variety of images and other data along with information on how to use this data to study the city. "

Cities and Buildings Database
"Collection of digitized images of buildings and cities drawn from across time and throughout the world, available to students, researchers and educators on the web."

Great Buildings Collection
"Gateway to architecture around the world and across history documents a thousand buildings and hundreds of leading architects, with 3D models, photographic images and architectural drawings, commentaries, bibliographies, web links, and more, for famous designers and structures of all kinds."

History of Western Architecture
Includes a variety of historical periods and design styles. Also related section on Japanese Architecture in Kyoto.

Houses of the Future
Six houses made of different materials present affordable, environmentally sustainable, prefabricated housing in Australia that are also futuristic and innovative in their design.

Periferia : Architecture and Urban Design in the Carribean
20th century images of Carribean architecture. Also links to urban design and related web sites.

Public Buildings : American Images
Small collection of color postcards of the 1910's through 1940's. Includes libraries, post offices, courthouses and other public buildings.

Society of Architectural Historians Image Exchange
Compiled of member's personal image collections and created for educational use. Includes both a World Survey section and American Survey section of core sets of history of architecture images.

S P I R O
Site offers images for a vast number of topography charts, plans, diagrams and images. The database is international in scope and covers prehistoric sites to the present day. From UC Berkeley.

Art History

Art Images for College Teaching
Images of art and architectural works in the public domain with emphasis on ancient, medieval, and Renaissance European art and architecture.

Art History Resources on the Web
Extensive collection of international resources arranged chronologically and geographically.

Artcyclopedia
Works of art by over 8,000 famous painters, sculptors and photographers can be viewed online, at art museums and image archives worldwide.

Finding (Art) Images on the Internet (Kohler Art Library)
Includes links to UW-Madison Art History Department databases and many useful tips

Grove Art Online Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Full text of the original 34 volume Dictionary of Art (1996). Cover all aspects of the visual arts (painting, sculpture, graphics, architecture, decorative arts, and photography) from prehistory to the present.

Timeline of Art History
A chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated especially by the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection.

WorldArt
Over 35,000 images from throughout the world. From California State University System.

Codes and Standards

ADA Accessibility Guidelines for Buildings and Facilities
Contains scoping and technical requirements for accessibility to buildings and facilities by individuals with disabilities under the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA).

Contractor's License Reference Site
See License Requirements or Find Out if A Contractor is Licensed in That State

Illustrated Guidelines for Rehabiliting Historic Buildings
From the Heritage Preservation Services of the National Park Service.

Municipal Codes Online
Oridinances for many counties and cities.

Color in Design

Color Association of the United States
Professionals in the field of color styling, color use, color research, marketing and merchandising.

Color, Contrast and Dimension
Interactive site that explains color theory and how to use it in design through examples and exercises.

Color Matters-Color Theory
An explanation about color theory.

Herman-Miller: The experience of Color
An analysis of color and it's effects on humans.

Inter-Society Color Council
Professional society in the field of color in the United States, encompassing the arts, sciences and industry,

Commercial Interiors

Fotosearch: Commercial Interiors
Stock photography and royalty free photographs.

USArchitecture.com
Online directory of commercial interior design firms.

Design & Decorative Arts

100 Years of Design
Excerpts from the upcoming book, Significant Mass-Produced Products of the 20th Century, by Carroll M. Gantz. From the Industrial Design Society of America.

Artifact
Database of international links to a wide variety of art and design based industries, organisations and resources.

Artist's Toolkit
Interactive tutorial covering line, color, space, shape, balance, and movemen/rhythym.

Changing Places/House_n The MIT Home of the Future Consortium
Explores how new technologies, materials, and strategies for design can make possible dynamic, evolving places that respond to the complexities of life.

Design Index
Resource for modern, post-modern and contemporary design of the 20th-21st centuries where you'll find information on designers and producers, on furniture, lighting, dinnerware, accessories, glass, ceramic, plastic, wood and metalware.

Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture
Collects and creates electronic resources for study and research of the decorative arts, with a particular focus on Early America.

Gallery of Design
Exhibition programming supports the textile, apparel and interior design programs of the Environment, Textiles, and Design department in the UW Madison School of Human Ecology.

GLAADH - Globalising Art, Architecture and Design History
Art and design of less traditionally studied cultures as well those interested in issues of globalisation, cultural diversity and difference.

Global Perspectives on Design and Culture
Database of online images to support the study of design of living environments (including landscape; exteriors and interiors; furniture; household objects; textiles, and decorative, personal and ritual objects).

Index of American Design
"Consists of approximately 18,000 watercolor renderings of American decorative arts objects from the colonial period through the nineteenth century." Includes furniture, metalwork, textiles and folk art.

New York Public Library Picture Collection Online
Collection of 30,000 digitized images from books, magazines and newspapers as well as original photographs, prints and postcards, mostly created before 1923. Costume, design, and textiles are strongly represented.

Design Styles (Selected)

Arts & Crafts

Arts & Crafts Society
Created to provide an online "home" for the present-day Arts & Crafts Movement community.
Noble Craftsmen We Promote: The Arts and Crafts Movement in the American Midwest
Nice overview of the Arts & Crafts Movement at this site accompanying an exhibit at the University of Toledo.
Unified Vision : the Architecture and Design of the Prairie School
Browse through objects grouped by architect-designers featured in the Minneapolis Institute of Arts collection.

Feng Shui

Feng Shui Times
Online magazine format with lots of links to articles and resources.
Sheffield Feng Shui Web Center
Articles and recommeded readings from the Sheffield School of Interior Design.
World of Feng Shui
Online feng shui magazine

Modern

Modernism
Over 250 objects from six major movements represented: Arts and Crafts, Art Nouveau, Wiener Werkstätte, de Stijl, Bauhaus and Art Deco. From the Minneapolis Institute of Arts.

Retrolounge
Collection of websites and images on design, architecture, fashion and more from the 20th century.

Fiber, Fabric & Textiles

FabricLink
Includes Fabric University with lots of information on fibers, yarns and fabric, as well as fabric care, and trade information.

The Fabric of History Curriculum
Framework of important dates and events in U.S. history through an exploration of clothing and style in the years 1600-1980.

Fiber World Classroom
Basic information on fiber products, their manufacture and care. Also a section on fiber and the environment.

FiberLinks
Collection of fiber related links from the American Fiber Manufacturers Association.

Holland & Sherry Textile Guide
Brief definitions for a variety of fabric types.

Larsen : A Living Archive
Jack Lenor Larsen textile company created groundbreaking fabrics for fashion, interior design, and architectural use. This growing database lets you experience these fabrics, sorted by decade or by theme. Online exhibition from the Minneapolis Institute of Arts.

Tai Gallery / Textile Arts
Small online collection of ethnographic and traditional textile images.

Furniture & Furnishings

FM4: Furniture: Meubles: Mobili: Muebles: Mobel
Information on the furniture industry, furniture history and furniture design and designers.

Building Environments
Small library of 3D models and textures from this provider of models and textures of real-world furniture, wall and floor coverings, plants, vehicles and people. Free downloads.

Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture
Collects and creates electronic resources for study and research of the decorative arts. The Chipstone Collection contains many images of early American furniture.

E-teriors.net
Searchable database of furnishings available from major manufacturers worldwide. Free 2D and 3D downloadable files.

Le Garde-meuble
"More than 400 colorful images included in this Smithsonian Institution Libraries' online document represent SIL's nearly complete set of the early issues of Le Garde-meuble, those folios published from 1841 through 1851."

Homeportfolio
Commercial product database. Users may create personalized online portfolio.

Interior Internet.com
Modern and contemporary furniture including British, Italian and European furniture design and bespoke furniture for interior design projects.

International Home Furnishings Center
Largest wholesale home furnishings show in the world, where buyers see the newest introductions, the hottest trends and the most comprehensive product assortments. Product and exhibitor search.

Knoll Museum
Images from the museum collection of Knoll, designers of workplace furnishings.

Green Design/Sustainable Design

Arcosanti Project
An experimental town in the high desert of Arizona designed according to the concept of arcology (architecture + ecology). "When complete, Arcosanti will house 5000 people, demonstrating ways to improve urban conditions and lessen our destructive impact on the earth."

GreenBuilder.com
Wide variety of information including a Sustainable Building Sourcebook, Directory, Articles and Case Studies.

Interior Design : Green Zone
From Interior Design magazine, this site has feature stories, manufacturer listings, and a new products area.

Oikos
Includes Green Building News as well as products and a fairly extensive "Library" section of articles.

SustainableABC - Architecture, Building and Culture
Lots of information on green home design, internet resources and products.

Sustainable Design Information Center
Excellent basic information on green design and becoming a green designer. From the American Society of Interior Designers

U.S. Green Building Council
Promote buildings that are environmentally responsible, profitable and healthy places to live and work.

History of Interiors

20th Century Architecture and Interior Design
The Gittscho-Schleisner Collection is "comprised of over 29,000 images primarily of architectural subjects, including interiors and exteriors of homes, stores, offices, factories, historic buildings, and other structures." They are located primarily in the northeastern United States, mainly the New York City area, and Florida.

American Memory (Library of Congress)
Searchable collection of online historical images. May also be browsed by topic, time period, or place

Centre for the Study of the Domestic Interior
Research into the changing appearance and layout of the rooms in a range of buildings, from tenements to palaces, the objects that furnished those rooms, the ways rooms and objects were depicted, the manner in which people used them, and how they thought about them. From the University of London.

Clues Within These Walls : House Clues
Interactive guide to some of the methods historians and curators use to learn about a house's past.

Designing Domesticity: Decorating the American Home Since 1876
Site accompanying a Kent State University Museum exhibit that "explores the relationship between interior design and family reform in four decades of relative growth: the 1870s, the 1920s, the 1950s, and today."

Picture Collection Online (New York Public Library)
Searchable collection of online historical images. May also be browsed by subjects such as "design", "New York City - houses" or "textiles".

Wisconsin Historical Images (State Historical Society)
Searchable collection of online images. Can also be browsed by subjects such as "home", "household furnishings" or "department stores".

Within These Walls...
One house, five families, 200 years of history.

Interactive Design Web Sites

Room Arranger
Shareware to design your room or apartment, plan gardens and more. Older version is freeware.

See my Design
Three web-based tools to design a room: Preview, Layout and Planner.

Lighting

Architectural Lighting
The resource center and reference library for the lighting community.

Lighting Research Center
World's largest university-based center for lighting education and research. Information on residential and commercial lighting. Links to other WWW sites on lighting issues.

Lightsearch.com
Source for Lighting Specifiers & Buyers. Searchable.

Marble, Granite, and Stone

Eurostone Marble, Inc.
Images of marble, granite, travertine and limestone.

International Granite & Marble Corporation
Images of different varieties of marble, granite, and limestone.

Museums of Design

Bauhaus Archiv Museum of Design
Brief overview of Bauhaus design.

Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum
Includes several virtual exhibits from the collection.

Design Museum: London by Tower Bridge
Modern design history and innovation in comtemporary design.

IDE Virtual Design Museum
Collection of images from famous designers and design companies.

Knoll Museum
Workplace furnishings.

William F. Eisner Museum of Advertising & Design
Miwaukee museum web site with many interesting online exhibits including "The Art of the Album Cover" and "The Power of Advertising: Burma-Shave".

Other Images

Digital Collections Online
Includes information about and links to digital collections worldwide.

Rugs and Carpet

Carpet America Recovery Effort (CARE)
Voluntary initiative of the carpet industry and government to prevent carpet from burdening landfills.

Carpet and Rug Institute
Selecting carpet, care and cleaning, and indoor air quality issues.

Carpet Foundation
Tips on choosing and caring for carpet.

Marla Mallett Textiles and Tribal Oriental Rugs
Commercial site with images of antique flat woven tribal Oriental rugs, kilims, and bags, as well as tapestries, embroideries and other ethnic textile art.

Rug University
Introduction to rug and carpet construction.

Tile

Dal-Tile International
Information and images ceramic tile.

Interstyle Ceramic & Glass Ltd
Outstanding spectrum of color ceramic and glass tiles.

Tiles on the Web
Comprehensive list of tile.

Universal Design

Blueprint for Aging
Proceedings from a two-day conference, on bringing researchers and gerontologists together with architects and designers. Transcript of the conference.

Center for Health Design
A nonprofit, nonmembership organization working to demonstrate that supportive building design can enhance health and well-being. Links to Center's research, and resources.

Center for Universal Design
"A national research, information, and technical assistance center that evaluates, develops, and promotes universal design in housing, public and commercial facilities, and related products."

Housing from HDFS: Aging and Disabled
Iowa State Extension links to assistive technology; elderly housing options & preferences; housing, aging, and disability statistics; universal design & home accessibility; and disability and housing information.

Home Modification Action Project
"Toolbox" contains information on how to create a more accessible home.

Wallpaper

Bradbury & Bradbury Art Wallpapers

Exhuberant design marked wallpaper patterns of the 1950s

Wallpaper Council


Books and Background Reading

MadCat | WorldCat | NetLibrary | Books24x7 | Thesaurus | Recent Books @ Steenbock

Seach for books and backround reading in MadCat - the library catalog. More about Madcat
Useful subject terms in the area of Interior Design are:

apartment houses
apartments
architecture - presentation drawings
architecture, domestic
architectural drawing
architectural rendering
Arts and Crafts Movement
barrier-free design
bathrooms
bedrooms
building codes
building specifications
building standards
decoration and ornament
decoration and ornament - architectural
color
color in architecture
color in interior decoration
color - psychological aspects
commercial buildings
design
design - history


display of merchandise
drapery
drapery in interior decoration
dwellings
finishes and finishing
furnishings use interior design and furnishings
furniture
green design use sustainable architecture interior architecture
interior decoration
interior design
interior landscaping
interior lighting
lighting
lighting architectural and decorative
kitchens
living rooms
office buildings
office decoration
office layout

personal space
restaurants - decoration
shop fronts
show windows
small houses
store decoration
stores, retail
stores, retail - designs and plans
stores, retail - planning
sustainable architecture
sustainable design use sustainable architecture
textile fabrics
universal design
visual communication
wallpaper
window shades
work environment

Art & Architecture Thesaurus Online
Terms in AAT may be used to describe art, architecture, decorative arts, material culture, and archival materials.

WorldCat Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Catalog of more than 49 million books, serials, audiovisuals and more owned by over 9,000 OCLC member libraries around the world, including UW-Madison and the Library of Congress. One of its many uses is the ability to make online interlibrary loan requests for books.

netLibrary Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. open to everyone
Online books covering many topics. Here's a sampling of recent titles:

Books 24x7 Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Database of full-text popular computing books. Here's a sampling of recent titles:

Recent Books on Interior Design at Steenbock


Print Journals and Magazines at Steenbock

Some of the current subscriptions at Steenbock library. Other historical titles may be found by searching MadCat. Print journals are located alphabetically by title.
Architectural digest
Architectural record
Architecture : the AIA journal
Architektur, Innenarchitektur, Technischer Ausbau
Better homes and gardens
House beautiful
International collection of interior design
           NK1700 I52
Interior design
Interiors
Journal of architectural and planning research
Journal of interior design
Metropolitan home
Storefronts and facades
          NA6225 S76
Stores and retail spaces
         NK2195 S89 S757
Wisconsin architect

Other Print Journals at Kohler Art Library

Abitare
Domus
Home cultures
Journal of design history
Winterthur Portfolio
Vernacular architecture

Online Subscription Journals      Use CitationLinkerto locate articles.

Architectural record
Architectural review
Architecture : the AIA journal
Country living
Home cultures
Home textiles today
Journal of design history

Online Free Interior Design Magazines

Architectural Lighting
Architectural Record
Architecture Week
Building Design & Construction
Canadian Interiors
Contract Magazine
Design Intelligence
Design Tips
Designboom
DesignIntuit
Dezignare Interior Design Collective

Dezignare : Online Design Magazines
Environmental Design & Construction
Floor Covering News
Floor Covering Weekly
Floor Daily.net
Furniture Today
House Beautiful
House of Design
Interior design
Interiors & Sources
MetropolisMag
National Floor Trends Online

Retail Design

Display & Design Magazine

National Association of Store Fixture Manufacturers

National Retail Federation

Retail Industry Links (from NASFM)


Statistics and Facts

FiberFacts
Brief overview of worldwide fiber production figures.

FedStats

Statistical Abstract of the United States

Firstgov: U.S. Federal Government online resource


Jobs and Funding

College of Letters and Science/School of Human Ecology Career Services
Career advising, workshops and recruitment information and job postings.

Interior Design Jobs.com

UW-Madison College Library Career Collection

Job Hunting on the Internet

The Riley Guide

Portfolio Preparation

DesignFinder
Examples of professional designers' portfolios. Includes design philosophy and specialty areas.

Interior Architecture (Ohio University)
Examples of student e-portfolios.

Finely Tailored Portfolios
Brief article on portfolio tips for interior designers.

Portfolios.com
Use the Search/Quickfinder and select "Interior Design" to get a full list of all available portfolio examples.

Grants and Funding Opportunities

Grants Information Center
Collection of resources dedicated to scholarships, fellowships, grants, and other funding opportunities.


People, Places and Organizations

Interior Designers

Current Biography
Biographies and obituaries on more than 15,000 people prominent in the news.

Design Index
From Aalto to Ziehmer, discover one century of design by more than 350 designers. Includes brief biographical information and sample images of their designs.

Knoll Designer Biographies
Short biographies on 117 designers, such as Davis Allen, Florence Knoll Bassett, Joseph D'Urso, Frank Gehry, Richard Meier, Warren Platner, Robert Siegel, Robert Venturi, and Massimo Vignelli.

Interior Design Hall of Fame
Extensive list of notable interior designers with biographical information.

The Union List of Artists Names Browser
A Getty Vocubulary tool. Extensive database of artist and designer names with birthdates, birthplace, primary design area and occasionally biographical notes.

Associations and Organizations

American Institute of Architects

American Society of Interior Designers

British Interior Design Association

Building Industry Professionals for Environmental Responsibility

Foundation for Interior Design Education Research
Sets standards and accredits interior design programs

Home Furnishings International Association
Companies involved in furnishing the home, anywhere in the country, in any segment of the industry.

Industrial Designers Society of America

Institute of Store Planners

International Association of Lighting Designers

International Furnishings and Design Association
Members provide services and products to the furnishings and design industry.

International Interior Design Association

Interior Design Educators Council, Inc.

Interior Design Society
Largest design organization exclusively dedicated to serving the residential interior design industry.

Interior Design Trade Associations

Interior Designers of Canada

National Council for Interior Design Qualification

 


This page available at http://steenbock.library.wisc.edu/subjectguide/ interiordesign.htm

Please send comments about this page to: Jean Ruenger-Hanson


Last updated: November 13, 2007
About Us | Contact Us | ©2005 Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System

Steenbock Memorial Library is the primary resource library for the University of Wisconsin-Madison's College of Agricultural and Life Sciences, School of Human Ecology, School of Veterinary Medicine and UW Extension, Cooperative Extension.