Subject Guides: Finding Images and Maps


Online Resources

Books & Background Reading
People, Places, Organizations

Aerial & Topographic

TerraFly, Florida International University, (NSF, NASA, USGS, IBM)
Interactive, "fly-over/aerial" application for viewing regions.

TerraServer
Free, publicly-accessible database of aerial and topographic maps produced cooperatively by the USGS and the Microsoft Corporation.

TopoZone
Free, publicly-accessible database of digitized topographic maps, produced cooperatively by the USGS and Maps a la carte, Inc.

Art Images & Photography

ARS Image Gallery (Agricultural Research Service) USDA, News & Information
High quality digital photographs made available by the Agricultural Research Service staff.

Earth as Art, USGS
Online gallery of images taken by the Landsat-7 satellite and the Terra Satellite's Advanced Spaceborne Thermal Emission and Reflection Radiometer (ASTER).

National Image Gallery, U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service
Searchable collection of public-domain, photographic images of wildlife, plants, National Wildlife Refuges and wildlife management work.

On-line Photography Center, USDA
High quality digital photographs made available (public domain) by the USDA Photography Center. Nice historical collection.

SILS Art Image Browser, School of Information and Library Studies, University of Michigan
Searchable image database of art, architectural and museum collection items.

Time Life Pictures
Comprehensive, searchable archive of magazine photography.

top

Atlases

Atlapedia
Site contains physical maps, political maps, facts and statistics on countries of the world.

National Atlas of the United States
Site permits user to produce comprehensive maps that display data as collected by the United States government.

Clip Art

Clip Art Guide
Searchable meta-site for locating images and web-graphics--many in the public domain.

top

GIS (Geographic Information Systems)

GIS Resources, Robinson Map Library, UW Madison
Guide created by MapGIS Librarian, Jaime Martindale

Land Information & Computer Graphics Facility
, University of Wisconsin-Madison
University department providing research, training, and outreach in using land and geographic information systems.

Wisconsin Geological and Natural History Survey
Agency information provider collecting, interpreting and disseminating information on the geology, mineral resources, water resources, and soils of Wisconsin.

Wisconsin Land Information Clearinghouse
Information gateway to Wisconsin geospatial data and metadata--one node of the National Spatial Data Infrastructure. Visit the
Wisconsin State Cartographer's Office
for additional information regarding state mapping and geospatial data and data providers.

top

Government Map Information

CIA World Factbook
On-line publication providing access to country information and world regional maps.

Earthexplorer USGS
Searchable site for USGS satellite images, aerial photographs, and cartographic products.

FAO Country Profiles and Mapping Information System, FAO United Nations
Country-specific information with particular emphasis on interactive maps and graphics.

Mapfinder, USGS
On-line vehicle for searching and ordering USGS 7.5 minute printed maps.

Photofinder, USGS
On-line vehicle for searching and ordering USGS, National Aerial Photography Program (NAPP) photos.

State of the Land, USDA NCRS
Site access to data, maps and analysis on land use, soil erosion, and soil and water quality.

US Census Bureau Gazetteer
Mapping engine useful for viewing census data. Searchable by place name, state or zip-code.

USGS, National Mapping Information
USGS meta-site for geographic mapping news, data products and instructional resources.

top

Image Collections by Topic

Africa Focus: Sights and Sounds of a Continent, UW Madison
Database of image and audio drawn from materials contributed to the African Studies Program.

BIODIC Image Gallery
, Free University of Brussels
Image gallery via electron microscope demonstrating biological/cellular structures.

FAO Media Archive
, FAO United Nations
Browsable database of photos, graphics and documents from FAO collections.

Global Perspectives on Design and Culture
, UW Madison, UW Stevens Point
Image database initially created to support courses addressing issues of global identity, culture and community, and cross-cultural interface via the study of design of living environments.

Pics4Learning,
Partners in Education, Orange County Public Schools
Copyright-friendly collection of photographs developed for instructional purposes.

top

Internet Gateway Sites & Search Tools

Amazing Picture Machine, North Central Regional Educational Laboratory
Searchable index to graphics and images available from the Internet.

Clip Art Searcher
Selection of Web search engine forms optimized to find images. Follow link to "Clip Art Review" to find links to categories of clip art and graphics.

Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture, Image Links
, UW Madison

Ditto
Search tool designed to "visually" search the Web providing links to images' parent sites.

Finding and Using Digital Images for Teaching and Learning
, UW Madison Resource Guide

Google Image Search
Google search engine optimized for finding images on the Web.

Infomine, Maps & GIS Infomine: Scholarly Internet Resource Collections, UC Riverside
Searchable resource collection of maps and GIS-related on-line information.

Internet Searching: Finding Quality Web Sites
On-line guide to effective web searching--created by Barbara Lazewski, Steenbock Library.

top

Local Maps

Campus Map, University of Wisconsin-Madison

County Map, Dane County, Wisconsin
Detailed county map with county data made available by the Dane County Land Information Office.

Road Mapping and Travel

Expedia, Maps
Online, trip-planning resource. Find driving directions, maps.

MapQuest
Useful tool for finding maps and driving directions. Many links to travel and tourism-related information.

Yahoo Maps
Useful tool for mapping a location or for finding driving directions.

top


Books/Background Reading and Online Collections

MadCat
Catalog of books, journals, and other materials held in UW-Madison libraries. Set search limit by "type" to find maps.

Bodleian Library Map Room, University of Oxford
Visit the "Map Case" to view images from historic map collections.

David Rumsey Historical Map Collection, Cartography Associates
Features 18th and 19th century North and South American cartographic history materials including charts, maps and manuscripts. Historic maps of the World, Africa, Asia and Europe can also be viewed.

John R. Borchert Map Library, University of Minnesota
Collection of links to map libraries on the World Wide Web.

Map Collection: 1500-2004, Library of Congress
Presents images and maps drawn from Americana and Cartographic Treasures of the Library of Congress.

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection, UT Austin
Links to online maps of contemporary, political and historic interest.

Wisconsin Land Economic Inventory, The Bordner Survey, Land Cover Maps
Maps show the land cover and land use of Wisconsin survey townships from the dates of the survey, 1927-1947.

top


People, Places, Organizations

Center for International Earth Science Information Network, Columbia University, Earth Institute
Non-governmental organization generating data and on-line mapping applications to illustrate relationships between humans and the environment.

top


This page available at http://steenbock.library.wisc.edu/subjectguide/imagesmaps.htm

Please send comments about this page to: Karen Dunn

Last updated: November 13, 2007
About Us | Contact Us | ©2005 Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System

Steenbock Memorial Library is the primary resource library for the University of Wisconsin-Madison's College of Agricultural and Life Sciences, School of Human Ecology, School of Veterinary Medicine and UW Extension, Cooperative Extension.