Home >> Subject Guides >> Horticulture
Journal & Research Databases
| General Horticulture Databases | Newspapers and Popular Magazines |
General Horticulture Databases
| Agricola (National Agriculture Library) (1970-) | Covers agriculture, botany, chemistry, entomology, plant science, and soil science. | |
| Biological Abstracts (1980-) | One of the largest and best biological scienceses databases in the world, it indexes 9,600 journals each year. Journal literature covering virtually every life science discipline. | |
| Biological Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, Meetings) (1991-) | BA/RRM stands for Reports, Reviews, and Meetings. Life science books, conference proceedings, meeting papers and research reviews. Journal articles are indexed in Biological Abstracts. | |
| CAB (Agriculture & Veterinary) (1972-) | Covers agriculture, entomology, forestry, horticulture, microbiology,
nutrition, plant breeding and pathology, soil science, and weeds. |
|
| Turfgrass Information Center (TIC) | Contains the most comprehensive collection of turfgrass educational materials publicly available in the world. TIC has over 71,000 records in its primary database. | |
| TropAg & Rural 1975- | Covers international agricultural economics, agroforestry, crop processing and storage, environmental issues, rural development, farming systems, fertilizer, postharvest cooperation, and soil science. | |
| Web of Knowledge (1982-) | Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Best for finding articles citing a particular author or paper. Steenbock Library offers an Alert Service whereby a weekly search can be run against Web of Knowledge with results delivered automatically to your email. | |
Newspapers and Popular Magazines (some full-text)
| Academic Search (1984-) | Academic Search is a full text database of more than 3000 journals covering a broad range of material. | |
| NEXIS (LEXIS/NEXIS) Academic Universe Web | LEXIS/NEXIS ACADEMIC UNIVERSE is an online service composed of approximately 5,000 legal, news, reference, and business sources. Mostly full text. | |
| ProQuest Newspapers | ProQuest Newspapers lists articles from 41 national and Wisconsin newspapers, and includes full text for most. | |
| ProQuest Research Library (1988-) | ProQuest Research Library indexes more than 2,000 periodicals, and provides the full text of nearly 1,000 of them. |
![]()
Resources by Topic
General Resources
- Botany.com
- Carnivorous Plant Database
- Forbes.com Best of the Web: Gardening
- Hort Base
- Hort.net
- Hort World
- Garden.com
- Garden Gate
- GardenNet
- Gardening and Commercial Horticulture (University of Minnesota Extension)
- Gardenweb.com
- Librarian 's Index to the Internet: Gardening
- Ohioline yard & garden resources
- Online Gardner
- Plant Facts (Ohio State)
- WebGarden (Ohio State)
- WWW Virtual Library: Gardening
Turf & Grounds Management
- Caring for Northern Lawns
- CyberLawn
- Grasscycling
- Georgia Turfgrass Foundation Trust
- Green Media
- Landscape Online
- Lawn and Garden Library (KSU)
- PLANET Professional Landscape Network
- Sports Turf Industry
- TurfFiles
- Turfgrass Information Center (MSU)
Trade Catalogs
- Burpee
- Cyndi's List of Gardening Catalogs
- Gardening Mall
- Heyne Custom Seed Services
- J. W. Jung Seed Company
- Prairie Nursery
- Seeds of Change
- Copies of old seed catalogs are located in the 2nd floor reference
area at Steenbock Memorial Library (Ask staff for assistance).
Fruits
- AgNIC American Cranberry WWW Site
- Apple Orchard (UVM)
- Fruit and Nut Research Information Center
- Fruit Pathology (UW-Madison)
- Midwest Small Fruit and Grape Network
- Temperate Tree Fruit Crops
- Tree Fruit Res.& Extension Center (Washington State)
- Virtual Orchard
- Wisconsin Apple Growers Association
- Wisconsin Berry Growers Association
Vegetables
- Commercial Vegetable Production Guides (Oregon State)
- Kitchengardener.com
- Vegetable links (Purdue)
- Vegetables (Virginia Cooperative Extension )
- VegNet (Ohio State)
- Vegetable Research and Information Center (UC-Davis)
Weeds
- "How to prevent the Spread of Noxious Weeds" (BLM)
- Invasive Plants Fact Book
- Iowa State Weed Science
- University of Wisconsin Weed Science
- WeedFacts (Cornell Cooperative Extension)
- Weed Science Society of America
- National Invasive Species Council
Insecticides, Pesticides & Fertilizers
- Integrated Pest and Crop Management (UW-Madison)
- National Pesticide Information Center
- National Organic Program
- University of Nebraska - Lincoln: Fertilizer and Pesticide Containment Guidelines
- US EPA Pesticide Safety Programs
Floriculture
- American Orchid Society
- American Rose Society
- Daylilies: The American Hemerocallis Society
- EveryRose: The Rose Reference Database
- Floriculture.com
- Floriculture Online (Ohio State)
- Orchids of Wisconsin
Ornamentals
- Ornamental Landscape Series (University of Delaware Extension)
- Ornamental Plants Plus (MSU)
- North Central Regional Plant Introduction Station
- Trees & Shrubs (University of Missouri)
Images
- AHS Heat-Zone map
- Botanical Society of America Image Collection
- Hort.net gallery
- Noble Foundation Plant Image Gallery
- Photo Herbarium (Weed Science Society of America)
- Special collections images (National Agricultural Library)
- USDA Plants Database
- USDA Plant Hardiness Zone Map
- Weed Images (Rutgers)
Books/Background Reading
- Crop
Protection Compendium:
The Crop Protection Compendium is an encyclopaedic, mixed media tool that brings together a wide range of different types of science-based information on all aspects of crop protection. It encompasses not only pests, diseases and weeds and their natural enemies, but also the crops that are their hosts and the countries where they occur. - Ecology
and Natural Resources Digital Collection
The Ecology and Natural Resources Collection brings together, in digital form, two categories of primary and secondary publications: writings about research in ecology and natural resources conducted by University of Wisconsin faculty and staff; and unique or valuable titles in these fields held by the University of Wisconsin Libraries, including Aldo Leopold papers, 1903-1948; DNR Technical Bulletins; Prairie Proceedings: North American Prairie Conference; Wisconsin Land Economic Inventory.
MadCat
MadCat is the catalog of books, journals, and other materials held in UW-Madison
libraries. More
about Madcat
Statistics/Facts
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
- Botany.Com-The Encyc. of Plants
- Encyclopedia of Agricultural, Food, and Biological Engineering
- Encyclopedia of Pest Management
- Encyclopedia of Plant and Crop Science
- Encyclopedia of Soil Science
- Encyclopedia of Water Science
- GardenNet (includes links to seed catalogs)
- Horticulture Solutions Series (Illinois Coop Ext.)
- Online Dictionaries The Faster Finder
Government
- Ag Census
- USDA Homepage
- USDA Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
- USDA Plants Database
- USDA Vegetable Crops Research Unit
People, Places, Organizations
UW Libraries | UW Departments | UW Facilities | Organizations
UW Libraries
UW Departments
- Agronomy
- Botany
- Extension-Horticulture & Gardening
- Horticulture
- Landscape Architecture
- Plant Pathology
- Soil Science Department
UW Facilities
- Agricultural Research Stations
- Arboretum
- Allen Centennial Gardens
- Botanical Garden
- Campus Natural Areas
- D. C. Smith Greenhouse
- Herbarium
- O.J. Noer Turfgrass Facility
- Turfgrass Disease Diagnostic Lab
Organizations
- American Horticultural Society
- American Horticultural Therapy Association
- American Society for Horticultural Science
- Badger Crops Club
- Botanical Club of Wisconsin
- International Plant Propagators Society
- International Society for Horticultural Science
- National Gardening Association
- UW Horticulture Society
- UW Soils Club
- UW Turf & Grounds Club
Jobs and Funding
Job Hunting
- CALS Career Services (UW-Madison)
- The Career Builder Network
- Chronicle of Higher Education
- Grants Information Center (At UW-Madison Memorial Library)
- HorticulturalJobs.com
- Job Hunting on the Internet (from Drop-in Workshop at Steenbock Library)
- New Scientist sciencejobs
- Plant Pathology Internet Guidebook Jobs and Positions Page
- The Riley Guide: Employment Opportunities and Job Resources on the Internet (Job Listings takes you to Agriculture and Forestry discipline specific, government, major sources and more.)
- Science magazine's jobs listings
- USDA Opportunities job listings
Grants and Funding Opportunities
- Community of Science
On-line resource for networking with colleagues, promoting research, and seeking funding opportunities.
This page available at http://steenbock.library.wisc.edu/subjectguide/hort.htm
Please send comments about this page to: Patricia Herrling
