Got a minute? We'd like to know what you think about this resource...
Journal & Research Databases
| Business, Economics & Social
Sciences Chemistry & Engineering |
Ecology & Natural Resources Newspapers and Popular Magazines |
Online Resources
| Books & Background Reading Statistics & Facts |
People, Places, Organizations Jobs & Funding |
Personal Database Management Tool: RefWorks Information
Manager (About)
| ABI/Inform (American Business Institute)(1971-) | Indexes and abstracts articles from more than 1300 scholarly and trade business periodicals. Covers forest economics, forest industry, and forest management from an economic, social and political viewpoint. | ||
| GEOBASE (Geography) (1994-) | Indexes world-wide geography scholarly research. Includes forestry literature from a social, physical and environmental sciences viewpoint. | ||
| Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) (1972-) | Indexes more than 900 journals, books, government documents, statistical compilations, and polical hearings from all over the world. Includes forest policy, industry analysis, and inventories. | ||
| Social Sciences in Forestry | This database indexes publications in 41 subject areas relating
the social sciences to forestry. Among them are: legislation,
policy and planning, management. |
||
| Analytical Abstracts (Chemistry) (1980-) | The Analytical Abstracts database indexes 1,100 international journals each year, in addition to books, conference proceedings, standards, and technical reports in more than 20 languages. The subject matter includes analysis, biochemistry, chemicals, energy, industry, pharmaceuticals, science and technology. | ||
| Engineering Index (EI Compendex) (1970-) | The premier engineering database that includes forest engineering, forest-soil, forest-hydrology, and forest products engineering topics. | ||
| Environmental Engineering Abstracts (1990-) | Indexes over 700 primary journals, books, and conference proceedings. A sub-set of the Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management Database. | ||
| Technical Reports Database Options | |||
| Agricola (National Agriculture Library) (1970-) | Indexes 2,500 journals, USDA publications, including USDA Forest
Service, state agricultural experiment station and foreign documents.
Good coverage of forest ecology and management. National Agricultural Library's public gateway to Agricola Journals Indexed in Agricola |
||
| Agricultural and Environmental Biotechnology Abstracts (1993-) | A smaller database that indexes 123 journals specializing in biotechnological developments and new applications in the environmental field, including forestry. A sub-set of the Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management Database. | ||
| Agris (FAO Agriculture-United Nations) (1986-) | World-wide coverage of English and foreign-language journals, books, reports, conference papers, and patents in the natural resources field. | ||
| Biological Abstracts (1980-) | One of the largest and best biological scienceses databases in the world, it indexes 9,600 journals each year. Covers forestry research from genetics to ecosystems. | ||
| Biotechnology Abstracts (Derwent) (1982-) | Database dedicated to biotechnology with over 150,000 citations and abstracts to the worldwide journal and patent literature. Covers basic forestry genetics. | ||
| CAB (Agriculture & Veterinary) (1972-) | Database indexes 10,000 English and foreign-language journals, books, technical reports, and conference proceedings each year. Includes Forestry Abstracts and Forest Products Abstracts. | ||
| CRIS (Current Research Information System) (current year) | CRIS is a list of current or recently completed research projects funded by the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA). | ||
| Ecology Abstracts (1982-) | Access to about 350 research journals in ecology including forestry. A sub-set of the Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management Database. | ||
| Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (1981-) | A multidisciplinary database that covers forestry topics from several different aspects: air, land, and water pollution. Also includes basic scientific information on bacteriology, ecology, toxicology, environmental engineering, environmental biotechnology, waste management, and water resources. | ||
| Human Population & Natural Resource Management (1995-) | Indexes research literature covering human population dynamics, environment relations, ecotourism, sustainable living and consumption, environmental awareness and education. | ||
| Trail Planning, Construction, and Maintenance | Indexes publications relating to the planning, design, construction, and maintenance of all types of trails. Includes trail use studies. | ||
| TreeSearch | USDA Forest Service database for finding full-text research publications. | ||
| TropAg and Rural (1975-) | Indexes research literature covering international agricultural economics, agroforestry, crop processing and storage, environmental issues, rural development, farming systems, fertilizer, postharvest cooperation, and soil science. | ||
| Tropical Forest Conservation and Development | Subjects indexed include: Tropical forest resources; deforestation; conservation; indigenous peoples; management; policy; trade and industrial development; nontimber forest products; research, education, and training; and history. | ||
| Urban Forestry | Indexes publications relating to the history of urban forestry; urban forest legislation; the benefits of urban forests; selection and planting of trees; maintenance of the urban forest; planning and management; and urban forestry programs. | ||
| Web of Knowledge (1982-) | Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Best for finding articles citing a particular author or paper. | ||
| ProQuest Newspapers | ProQuest Newspapers lists articles from 41 national and Wisconsin newspapers, and includes full text for most. | ||
| ProQuest Research Library (1988-) | ProQuest Research Library indexes more than 2,000 periodicals, and provides the full text of nearly 1,000 of them. |
Resources by Topic
Agroforestry
Association for Temperate AgroforestryAn organization promoting research for and utilization of agroforestry.
National Agroforestry Center(NAC) USDA, NRCS
Promotes agroforestry practices to protect water quality & natural resources and seeks to aid professionals who directly assist landowners and communities.
Silviculture University of Missouri, Columbia--School of Natural Resources
Web site intended to collect and to link to silviculture information on the World Wide Web.
World Agroforestry Centre (formerly--International Centre for Research in Agroforestry) (ICRAF)
A research body dedicated to agroforestry, primarily in tropical areas.
Arboriculture
International Society of Arboriculture
Collection of resources for tree care professionals.
Forest Ecology & Natural History
European Forest Institute
- Forest Ecology and Management
Information on research projects both ongoing and completed.
Forest
History Society--Databases
Searchable databases on forest history--books, articles, dissertations. Special
collection on forests in fiction.
Forests,
CSREES, USDA
Web site for communicating information about research opportunities, partnerships.
Smithsonian Environmental
Research Center-Forest Ecology Lab
Basic background information.
Wisconsin Land
Economic Inventory, The Bordner Survey, Land Cover Maps
Maps show the land cover and land use of Wisconsin survey townships from the
dates of the survey, 1927-1947.
Forest Economics & Management
Forest Inventory and Analysis National Program , USDA Forest ServiceComprehensive inventory and analysis of present and prospective conditions and requirements for renewable forest resources ('a forest census). Site links to regional offices and to useful databases for gauging timber health and timber product output, etc.
National Timber Tax Website
Everything you might care to know about forest taxation issues.
USDA Forest Service, Forest Taxation Information
Forest Landowner's Guide to the Federal Income Tax.
Forest Genetics
Dendrome Forest Tree Genome Database,
Institute of Forest Genetics, USDA
The Dendrome Project provides a central electronic resource for the study of
forest tree genome databases.
Forest Genetics and Tree Breeding, Finnish
Forest Research Institute
Provides information on forest conservation, tree improvement, molecular forest
genetics, and links to meetings, calendars, software, and data.
Institute of Forest Genetics, USDA
Forest Service, Placerville, CA
Research unit devoted to forest genetics-and designated historic site that has
been devoted to forest genetics research for more than 70 years.
Forest Industry & Products
American Forest & Paper AssociationNational trade association of the forest, paper, and wood products industry.
American Institute of Chemical Engineers, Forest Products Division
Association for chemical engineers and scientists interested in forest products.
Association for Temperate Agroforestry
Organization promoting research and utilization of agroforestry.
Forest Certification Resource Center
Organization promoting purchase, use, and sale of certified wood products.
forestindustry.com
Classified ads, sources of equipment and publications, etc.
Forest Products Laboratory
National forest products laboratory with searchable list of full-text publications.
Forest Products Society
Professional and technical association--with headquarters in Madison, Wisconsin.
Forest Resources Association
Formerly the American Pulpwood Association. Contains general forestry information related to industrial forestry.
Society of Wood Science and Technology
Professional association--with headquarters in Madison, WI.
Technical Association of the Pulp and Paper Industry (TAPPI)
International professional association for the pulp and paper industries.
International Wood Products Association
Trade association representing companies handling imported wood products.
Wisconsin Paper Council
Wisconsin's Primary and Secondary Wood Using Industry, Online Databases
Company contact information, raw material use and production data.
Wood Craft
Clearinghouse for information on the marketplace.
World Timber Network
Links to forest products organizations and associations worldwide.
Forest Policy
Linkages-Global Forest Policy , International Institute for Sustainable DevelopmentProvides full-text of Intergovernmental Forum on Forests documents, Earth Negotiations Bulletin, and other links to forest policy resources.
World Resources Institute-Forests
Statistics, reports, and links to information on deforestation and forest policy.
GIS and Remote Sensing
ForNet Applications (Minnesota
DNR)
Links to GIS-related applications and aerial photos including ForestView.
GIS Data Depot
GIS data available for free download or purchase on custom CD-ROM.
Hot Topics
Climate Change
Center for Climatic Research, UW-Madison, Nelson Institute
Conducts disciplinary and interdisciplinary research on past and present state of global climate and its impact upon ecosystems.
Center for Sustainability and the Global Environment, UW-Madison, Nelson Institute
Conducts interdisciplinary research on the changing and complex relationships between global environmental systems and human activity.
Climate, World Health Organization
Links to fact sheets and publications about the human-health impacts of global climate change.
Climate Change, Environmental Protection Agency
Site supplies links to information regarding the 'state of knowledge', health and environmental effects, United States climate policy, and practical, personal action.
Climate Program Office, NOAA
Site supplies links to climate data (archived and outlook), interactive analysis tools, and reports and publications regarding global climate change.
Union of Concerned Scientists
In addition to the tab, "global warming", site supplies information--news and publications--about clean energy, invasive species, food quality and sustainability, and security-related issues.
Forest activism
Eco-Earth: The Environmental Sustainability PortalA searchable guide to environmentally-oriented Internet sites.
Forest Conservation Portal
Large selection of links to forestry-related topics.
Forest Ethics
Organization advocating for corporate and consumer responsibility in protecting natural resources, forests.
Global Forest Watch
International network for mapping and gathering data on the state of world's forests.
SmartWood
Certification program of the Rainforest Alliance.
Worldwatch Institute
Links to numerous environmental sites, including global forestry issues. Best known as the source of Lester Brown's annual State of the World Report.
Gypsy moth
European Gypsy Moth, Cooperative Agriculture Pest Survey ProgramThe Gypsy Moth in North America
The Gypsy Moth in Virginia
Gypsy Moth Silvicultural Guidelines for Wisconsin
National Forests
National Council for Science and the Environment (NCSE) Forestry IssuesProvides Congressional Research Service reports on national forests.
National Forest Foundation
Official nonprofit partner of the US Forest Service.
Roadless Area Conservation, US Forest Service
Sierra Club, Forests: Protection and Restoration
Images
Common Trees of PennsylvaniaLine drawings of leaves from the Pennsylvania Bureau of Forestry.
Forestry Images: Forest Health, Natural Resources, Fire, Trees, Wildlife & Silviculture
Well-organized collection of photographs. Non-profit, educational use is encouraged provided proper credit is given.
Images of Dendrological and Developmental Facets of Tree Species
Variety of images from the University of New Brunswick.
Trees in the UDBG
Photographic images of whole trees and parts (bark, foliage, flowers, fruit, etc.) in the University of Delaware Botanic Gardens.
The Virtual Foliage Home Page UW-Madison, Botany Department
Site provides access to thousands of photographs demonstrating foliage, flowers, fungi, and general botany principles.
Internet Gateway
Forestry Library, AgNIC & University
of Minnesota
Guide to quality forestry and natural resources information on the Internet.
See also Subtropical
Forestry--University
Tropical & International Forestry
Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry - AustraliaSelect from pull-down menu to browse resources on Forestry.
Canadian Forests
Information about forestry in Canada, including classified ads and links to governmental and non-governmental organizations.
Forestworld
Extensive information from web resources on wood and sustainable forestry, including brief statistics on the forest industry of 170 countries.
Amazon Ecology Program, Woods Hole Research Center
Amazon program provides research, education, and training opportunities for undergraduates, graduates, researchers, and forest residents studying rainforest ecology. Large-Scale Biosphere Atmosphere Experiment datasets available.
World Agroforestry Centre (formerly--International Centre for Research in Agroforestry) (ICRAF)
A research body dedicated to agroforestry, primarily in tropical areas.
Urban Forestry
Pacific Southwest Research Station Center
for Urban Forest Research (US Forest Service)
Site contains useful reports and links to resources on urban forestry.
TreeLink
Site for information, research, and networking on urban and community forestry.
Urban and Community
Forestry, USDA Forest Service, St.
Paul Field Office
Source for a wide range of information on urban and community forestry, particularly
in the Great Lakes region.
Urban & Community
Forestry Program Information (Wisconsin DNR)
Urban Forestry Index (UFind)
Searchable database to popular and research-oriented publications and other media of urban forestry and arboricultural interest. Contents of database are supplied in cooperation with US Forest Service, University of Minnesota and Treelink.
Urban Forestry - Resources (Ohio DNR)
Books/Background Reading
MadCatSearch for books and background reading in MadCat - library Catalog. More about Madcat.
Publications
Best
Management Practices for Water Quality, Field Manual (Wisconsin
DNR)
Conducting
a Successful Timber Sale--A Primer for Landowners (Rickenbach)
Forest
Certification in North America (Fletcher, Rickenbach & Hansen)
Guide to understanding issues of 'green' certification/well-managed forestland
identification.
Forest Resources
of Europe, CIS, North America, Australia, Japan & New Zealand
United Nations on-line publication of forest resource/products data.
North American
Maple Syrup Producers Manual (Ohio State University Extension
Bulletin 856)
Silvics
of North America (USDA Agriculture Handbook 654)
Information on the silvics of about 200 forest tree species and varieties.
The Simple Act of
Planting a Tree
On-line edition of a classic book on community forestry.
State
of the World's Forests
Latest edition of the FAO's biennial report.
University of Wisconsin Extension, Cooperative Extension Publications
Statistics/Facts
Annual
Review and Assessment of the World Tropical Timber Situation (International
Tropical Timber Organization)
Production, trade, and prices for tropical timber products.
FAO Forestry
Comprehensive site with links to reports and to international industry, product
and resource data.
Food and Agricultural Education
Information System (FAEIS)
Statistics on higher education for the agricultural sciences, including forestry,
in the United States.
Forestry
Facts Series, UW Madison, Forestry Extension Office
Forestry-related publications available to the public.
Forest Resource Fact Sheets, Northeastern Area, State and Private Forestry
Key issues, program highlights and accomplishments.
Online publications....How
to...Insect and Disease....Misc...etc.
Timber Committee,
FAO European Forestry Commission (UNECE)
Overview of forest resources and forest products--statistical tables and graphs.
People, Places, Organizations
UW-Madison | State | National | Regional | International | Organizations | University Education | Calendars | Discussion Groups
UW-Madison
- College of Agricultural and Life Sciences
- Department of Forest and Wildlife Ecology
- Land Information & Computer Graphics Facility (LICGF)
- Steenbock Memorial Library
- USDA Forest Service--Forest Products Laboratory
- UW-Madison Arboretum
State
- Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources--Forestry Program
- Dane County Parks Department
- Menominee Tribal Enterprises Forestry Department
- Nature Net
South-Central Wisconsin area's link to outdoor environmental education sites. - Wisconsin Society of
American Foresters
National
- Forest Products Laboratory
- National Park Service
- US Fish and Wildlife Service
- USDA Forest Service National Headquarters
- USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service
Regional
- Alaska Region Office
- Eastern Region Office
- Intermountain Region Office
- International Institute of Tropical Forestry
- North Central Research Station
- Northeastern Research Station
- Northern Region Office
- Pacific Northwest Region Office
- Pacific Northwest Research Station
- Pacific Southwest Region Office
- Pacific Southwest Research Station
- Rocky Mountain Region Office
- Rocky Mountain Research Station
- Southern Region Office
- Southern Research Station
- Southwestern Region Office
Organizations
Association of Consulting Foresters of America, Inc.Professional association for consulting foresters.
National Arbor Day Foundation
Citizen organization encouraging tree planting through schools and community organizations.
National Association of State Foresters
Includes links to state forestry agencies' web sites and job listings.
Society of American Foresters
Professional society for foresters in the United States; site includes news, classified ads and a wide range of other services.
Trees Foundation
Support organization for leveraging resources in grass-roots, community-based conservation efforts--Northern California.
International
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, Forestry ProgrammeInformation about FAO programs in member countries.
Forest Stewardship Council
International organization that develops criteria for certification and accredits national and local certification bodies.
Global Association of Online Foresters
International organization of people interested in forestry who wish to communicate on-line; "Ask a Forester."
International Tropical Timber Organization (ITTO)
Intergovernmental agency addressing trade in tropical timber.
International Union of Forest Research Organizations (IUFRO)
International network of forest and forest products research organizations.
Temperate Forest Foundation
Organization that prepares classroom educational materials on sustainable forestry. (US & Canada)
University Education
Forestry, Academic: World Wide Web Virtual Library (METLA: Finnish Forestry Research Institute)Directory of university and research centers in forestry throughout the world. Browse by continent.
Calendars
Agricultural Conferences, Meetings, Seminars Calendar (AgNic)Papers Invited, (Business One, Inc. product)
Useful, searchable resource for tracking calls for papers and conference information. Public and subscription features, student opportunites.
Society of American Foresters Continuing Education Calendar
National convention and continuing education opportunities.
Discussion Groups
FAO Forestry
Community Forums
Discussion threads on various topics including scholarships, grants/funding
opportunities.
International Society of Arboriculture Discussion Groups
Free registration allows you to post messages; non-registered guests can read
only.
The Knothole
A forum for discussion of arboricultural issues, including valuation,
employment, legal issues, tools, "Ask the Experts," etc.
Urban Forestry Discussion Group, Urban Forest Ecosystems Institute
To subscribe, enter your email address into the Web form on site.
Jobs and Funding
Job Hunting
Canadian Forests Forestry Careers and EmploymentListings of forestry jobs in Canada.
The Dendrochronology Job Market Listings
A listing of dendrochronology jobs, with links to less specialized employment information.
Employment in the USDA Forest Service
Overview of types of positions available in the USDA Forest Service.
Green Media
Classified ads include jobs in landscaping, arboriculture, horticulture and parks management.
National Association of State Foresters
Includes links to state forestry agencies web sites, and listings for jobs in those agencies.
Riley Guide: Employment Opportunities and Job Resources on the Internet
Note section dedicated to Agriculture, Forestry & Farming
Society of American Foresters Classifieds
Jobs in the private sector, government, or universities.
Grants and Funding Opportunities
Community of Science
On-line resource for networking with colleagues, promoting research, and seeking
funding opportunities.
Grants Information
Collection
Collection of resources dedicated to scholarships, fellowships, grants, and other
funding opportunities.
Sustainable
Forest Management, Funding Forum, FAO
Funding e-advice from the Collaborative Partnership on Forests and the National
Forest Programme Facility.
This page available at http://steenbock.library.wisc.edu/subjectguide/forestry.htm
Please send comments about this page to: Karen Dunn, Steenbock Library's liaison to Forest Ecology & Management.
