Subject Guides: Food Safety & Security


Journal & Research Databases

Food Safety
Food Security
Newspapers and Popular Magazines

 

Food Safety
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Agricola
-(National Agricultural Library), (1970-), citations/abstracts-
Indexes 2500 research journals, USDA publications, FAO publications, conference proceedings and books. Covers agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, animal industries, animal nutrition, botany, plant science, soil science, and environmental impact.
Open to everyone. Agricola (open to everyone) Public access through the National Agricultural Library.
Open to everyone. AgNic: Agricultural Network Information Center Searchable on-line guide to quality agricultural information via the Internet. Resources are selected and produced by the National Agricultural Library, land-grant universities and partners in the public sector.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Agricultural and Environmental Biotechnology Abstracts -(1993-), citations/abstracts-
Topic coverage includes plant and animal biotechnological developments, food industry and environmental issues.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Agris -(Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations), (1986-) citations/some abstracts-
Topic coverage includes agricultural economics, agriculture, animal production, aquatic science and fisheries, machinery and buildings, natural resources, plant production, pollution, and rural sociology.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Biological Abstracts -(1980-), citations/abstracts-
Topic coverage includes anatomy, bacteriology, biotechnology, clinical medicine, genetics, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, pharmacology, toxicology, virology, and zoology.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. CAB Abstracts -(1972-), citations/abstracts-
Topic coverage includes agricultural economics, agriculture, dairy science, entomology, forestry, horticulture, rural sociology, soil science, and veterinary medicine.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Current Contents -(1993-), citations/abstracts-
Topic coverage includes sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities; journals are indexed within days of publication.
Open to everyone.

E-answers

 

Provides access to Extension and/or outreach publications as produced by land grant universities. Topics include: agriculture, family/consumer issues, public policy and economics.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management -(1981-), citations/abstracts-
Topic coverage includes pollution, bacteriology, ecology, toxicology, environmental engineering, environmental biotechnology, waste management and water resources.

 

Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. FSTA (Food Science and Technology Abstracts) -(1969-), citations/abstracts-
Topic coverage includes commodity technology, dairy products, dietetic foods, fermentation technology, food additives and engineering, hygiene, food laws, meat and poultry, sugars, and toxicology.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Health and Safety Science Abstracts -(1981-)-
Public Health, safety, and industrial hygiene including environmental safety, medical safety, occupational safety, and ergonomics.
Open to everyone. PubMed (National Library of Medicine) -(1966-)-
The source for clinical medical information covering all aspects of biomedicine, including the allied health fields; biological and physical sciences; and humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.
Open to everyone. USDA Agricultural Marketing Service Provides access to food safety and security information from the USDA
Open to everyone. USDA Current Research Information System (CRIS) Presents ongoing and recently-completed research sponsored by USDA research agencies, state agricultural experiment stations, state land-grant university systems, and particpants in USDA grant programs.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Web of Knowledge -(1982-)-
Includes Science Citation Indes, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Best for finding articles citing a particular author or paper.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. License Restricted (About) / Open to everyone. Free

Return to top of page

Food Security
Open to everyone. AgEcon Search: Research in Agricultural and Applied Economics Provides full text reports of scholarly research in the field of agricultural and applied economics. Adobe Acrobat reader softward 2.0 or higher required for viewing.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Agricola -(National Agricultural Library), (1970-), citations/abstracts-
Indexes 2500 research journals, USDA publications, FAO publications, conference proceedings and books. Covers agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, animal industries, animal nutrition, botany, plant science, soil science, and environmental impact.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Agris -(Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations), (1986-), citations/some abstracts-
Topic coverage includes agricultural economics, agriculture, animal production, aquatic science and fisheries, machinery and buildings, natural resources, plant production, pollution, and rural sociology.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. CAB Abstracts -(1972-), citations/abstracts-
Topic coverage includes agricultural economics, agriculture, dairy science, entomology, forestry, horticulture, rural sociology, soil science, and veterinary medicine.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Econlit -(1969-)-
Indexes and abstracts more than 300 scholarly periodicals and books in the field of economics.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Sociological Abstracts -(1963-)-
Indexes and abstracts 2,000 worldwide journals in sociology, as well as dissertations and websites. Includes Social Planning Policy and Development Abstracts.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. License Restricted (About) / Open to everyone. Free


Return to top of page

Newspapers and Popular Magazines
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Academic Search -(1984-)-
Academic Search is a full text database of more than 3000 journals covering a broad range of material.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. LEXIS/NEXIS Academic Universe Web LEXIS/NEXIS ACADEMIC UNIVERSE is an online service composed of approximately 5,000 legal, news, reference, and business sources. Mostly full text.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. ProQuest Newspapers ProQuest Newspapers lists articles from 41 national and Wisconsin newspapers, and includes full text for most.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. ProQuest Research Library (1988-) -(1988-)-
ProQuest Research Library indexes more than 2,000 periodicals, and provides the full text of nearly 1,000 of them.

Return to top of page

Resources by Topics

Food Safety

Economics and Cost

Economics Research Service
USDA sponsored site providing information on the economics of food, farming, natural resources and rural America. Includes an overview of the economics of food safety and a food-borne illness cost calculator.

Food Preparation, Preservation and Storage

Ask A Food Safety Expert
Sponsored by Iowa State and the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA). Provides consumers with reliable and current food safety information via a database of commonly asked food safety questions that have science-based, refereed answers.

FSIS Food Safety Publications for Consumers, USDA
Extensive list of full-text guides and factsheets, many subjects.

Home Food Preservation, Penn State
Resource links to safe handling and home food preservation.

International Food Information Council Foundation
Communications forum for information on food safety and nutrition as intended for health and nutrition professionals, educators, journalists, government officials, students and consumers. Partners with professional and academic agencies.

Iowa State University Food Safety Project
Includes resources for students, educators and consumers to access research-based and unbiased information on food safety and quality.

National Center for Home Food Preservation, University of Georgia and Alabama A&M
Current research-based recommendations for most methods of home food preservation including canning, freezing, pickling, etc.

Partnership for Food Safety Education
Provides safe food handling information based on the Fight BAC!™ campaign.

Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection, Food Safety Publications for Consumers
Information on how to safely cook turkey and various other foods. Includes a bottled water safety report.

Foodborne Illness Outbreaks

Center for Disease Control (CDC) Food Safety Information
Includes information on foods and high risk groups, outbreak investigations, labs and surveillances, publications and a food safety image library.

Gateway to Government Food Safety
Includes access to FDA/USDA video library; a section for reporting foodborne illnesses; links to multiple government food safety related sites, and more, including:
Recalls, Market Withdrawals and Safety Alerts

Foodborne Pathogens

Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition, FDA
Information on Recent News, National Food Safety Programs, 2002 Bioterrorism Act, and Foodborne illnesses. Also includes: "The Bad Bug Book," a guidebook to foodborne pathogens and natural toxins; and, the national baseline on the occurrence of foodborne disease risk factors within the retail segment of the food industry.

FoodNet, CDC
The Foodborne Diseases Active Surveillance Network project monitors foodborne diseases and conducts epidemiologic studies designed to help public health officials better understand the nature of foodborne diseases in the United States.

International/Other Countries

Food Safety Network, University of Guelph
Site featuring extensive consumer-and-professional-interest information on food safety and public health.

World Health Organization
Addresses Food Safety Issues on a global scale.

Legislative and Regulatory Information

American Council on Science and Health
Non-profit consumer-oriented organization providing information on health issues of popular media, and occasionally legislative, debate.

Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, USDA
Good source for current legislation and press releases regarding U.S. agricultural health.

Center for Science in the Public Interest, Food Safety
Non-profit consumer-oriented organization providing information on the status of laws and legislation affecting the food supply.

Food Safety and Inspection Service, USDA
USDA sponsored site featuring information on the structure of the U.S. Food Safety System. Includes publications and job information.

And, additionally, Food Safety: A Team Approach (FDA Backgrounder Document, 1998) supplies information on the regulatory activities of cooperative government agencies concerned with myriad food safety issues.

International Portal on Food Safety, Animal & Plant Health
Includes more than 12,000 laws and regulations . " Information can also be viewed by source (i.e. Codx, OIE, WTO), commodity, and type of information (legislation, standards, etc."

Research

Food Safety Research Information Office
Established and maintained by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) to support the food safety research community with an online database of over 1,000 research abstracts. Also features program and planning documents, research reports, news and upcoming conferences.

Retail and Commercial Food Industry

Food Safety Training and Education Alliance
Established and maintained by the NAL, features food safety resources for retail and foodservice establishments.

Wisconsin First (Food Industry Research Service and Training)
Wisconsin Extension food safety information site featuring research based education and training targeting a safe food supply. Includes government publications on Starting a Small Food Business in Wisconsin, and Preparing for an Emergency.


Food Security

Local, and Wisconsin

University of Wisconsin Extension Wisconsin Food Security Project

Provides current food security statistics on county and state levels. Identifies resources for low income families.

National

Community Food Security Coalition
The major funding source for community-based food and agriculture projects nationwide. Dedicated to building strong, sustainable, local and regional food systems that ensure access to affordable and culturally appropriate food for all people.

FDA Food Security Guidance
Designed to help retail food stores and food service establishments " minimize the risk that food under their control will be subject to tampering or other malicious, criminal, or terrorist actions. " More Food and Cosmetic Guidance Documents.

Food Research and Action Center
Provides information on hunger in the United States, including an overview of the major federal food programs.

International

Food Security Statistics (FAO)
From FAOStat database.

Eldis Food Security Resource Guide
"The Food Security guide is edited by a team based at the Eldis programe, Institute of Development Studies, Sussex. It is funded by Sida, Norad, SDC and DFID."

Food Security III Cooperative Agreement & Related Research, Policy Dialogue and Training Projects
"
FS III is between the US Agency for International Development, EGAT/AGR Bureau cooperating closely with Africa/SD Bureau, USAID African Field Missions and the MSU Department of Agricultural Economics. Outputs by MSU and host-country collaborators on FS III and related projects funded through other sources are listed in the Directories."

Return to top of page


Books/Background Reading

MadCat

Seach for books and backround reading in MadCat - library Catalog. More about Madcat

Food Safety

Books/Documents (selected)

Assuring Food Safety and Quality : guidelines for strengthening national food control systems / Rome : [Great Britain] : Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, World Health Organization, 2003.

Ensuring safe food : from production to consumption / prepared by the Committee to Ensure Safe Food from Production to Consumption / Washington: National Academy of Sciences - National Research Council, c1998.

Food Alert! The Ultimate Sourcebook for Food Safety / Morton Satin / New York: Facts on File, 1999.

Food and Cancer Prevention : chemical and biological aspects / edited by K.W. Waldron, I.T. Johnson and G.R. Fenwick / Cambridge Royal Society of Chemistry, c1993.

Food Safety and Food Security: What Consumers Need to Know
16 page pdf from USDA. September 2003.

Terrorist Threats to Food: guidance for establishing and strengthening prevention and response systems / Food Safety Department / World Health Organization / Geneva, Switzerland, 2002. print version

Journals/Periodicals (selected)

Applied and Environmental Microbiology

Food Microbiology

Food Protection Trends

Food Technology

International Journal of Food Microbiology

Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry

Journal of Food Protection

Journal of Food Safety

Journal of Food Science

Food Security

Does Food Safety Conflict with Food Security? The Safe Consumption of Food.
Univ. of Minn. Working Paper 04-01 Jean Kinsey, January 2004. print version

Food Security - New Solutions for the Twenty-first Century : Proceedings from the Symposium Honoring the Tenth Anniversary of the World Food Prize / Edited by El Obeid Amani et al. / Ames, Iowa: Iowa State University Press, 1999.
Steenbock Library
TX345 F64 1999

Return to top of page


Statistics/Facts

Food Safety

Foodborne Illness Education Information Center, USDA and FDA
Food Safety Links to foodborne illness statistics.

Food Safety Office, CDC
Source for public health data and CDC investigation, documentation and management.

Food Security

University of Wisconsin Extension Wisconsin Food Security Project
Provides current food security statistics on county and state levels. Identifies resources for low income families.

Center on Hunger and Poverty at Brandeis University: Hunger and Food Insecurity Reach Chronic Highs, Nov. 2004 Bulletin Includes facts and figures on hunger in America and by state.

Household Food Security in the United States, 2003 (published Oct. 2004)
Household Food Security in the United States, 2002
USDA Econcomic Research Report "provides statistics on the food security of U.S. households, as well as on how much they spent for food and the extent to which food-insecure households participated in Federal and community food assistance programs."

Food Security Statistics (FAO)
From FAOStat database.

Return to top of page


Jobs and Funding

UW-Madison CALS Career Services (For College of Ag and Life Sciences.)

UW-Madison College Library Career Collection (UW-Madison books, licensed materials, and Internet resources.)

Job Hunting on the Internet (Steenbock Library's workshop handout.)

The Riley Guide: Employment Opportunities and Job Resources on the Internet

Community of Science
On-line resource for networking with colleagues, promoting research, and seeking funding opportunities.

Grants Information Center
Collection of resources dedicated to scholarships, fellowships, grants, and other funding opportunities.

People, Places, Organizations

Associations/Organizations

Food Safety

Institute of Food Technologists
A non-profit organization whose mission is to "advance the science and technology of food through the exchange of knowledge." This includes making food safer for public consumption.

International Association of Food Protection
A non-profit association of food safety professionals dedicated to the education and service of its members and industry personnel.

Food Security

Community Food Security Coalition
The major funding source for community-based food and agriculture projects nationwide. Dedicated to building strong, sustainable, local and regional food systems that ensure access to affordable and culturally appropriate food for all people.

Food Research and Action Center
A national non-profit organization working to improve public policies to eradicate hunger and undernutrition in the United States.

Hunger Prevention Council of Dane County
A volunteer-run non-profit organization serving as a community forum to address the full range of food security issues in Dane County, Wisconsin.

Hunger Task Force of Milwaukee
A private non-profit Milwaukee-based community organization that exists to prevent and alleviate hunger.

Food Safety

National Institute of Health
Described as "the steward of medical and behavioral research for the Nation." NIH funds scientific studies at U.S. institutions.

National Science Foundation
An independent U.S. Agency that funds research and education in science and engineering through grants, contracts and cooperative agreements.

USDA - Cooperative State Research, Education and Extension Service
Provides working funds to researchers at U.S. universities. Also a good source of information about employment in the field of food safety.

Return to top of page


This page created by Carole Blemker, MLS, M.S. in Nutrition. Updated by Barbara Lazewski, MLS. Thanks to Barb Ingham, U.W. Madison/UWEx Cooperative Extension Faculty in Food Science; and, Gerry Campbell, U.W. Madison Professor of Agriculture and Applied Economics for their advice on topics and resources for this guide.


This page available at http://steenbock.library.wisc.edu/subjectguide/foodsafe.htm

Please send comments about this page to: Barbara Lazewski


Last updated: November 13, 2007
About Us | Contact Us | ©2005 Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System

Steenbock Memorial Library is the primary resource library for the University of Wisconsin-Madison's College of Agricultural and Life Sciences, School of Human Ecology, School of Veterinary Medicine and UW Extension, Cooperative Extension.