Subject Guides: Fashion


Journal & Research Databases

General

Academic Search Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Many academic areas including business, social sciences, and humanities. More than 3000 journals plus New York Times and Wall Street Journal.

Proquest Research Library Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Mix of more than 2000 general interest and academic journals that cover the arts, business, education, health, humanities, psychology, sciences, and the social sciences

Business

ABI/Inform (American Business Institute)Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Over 1000 business periodicals including scholarly journals as well as popular business magazines and trade publications.

Business and IndustryLicensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Over 1000 trade magazines, newsletters, general business press, regional newspapers, and international business dailies. It contains figures, trends, forecasts and overviews dealing with public and private companies, industries, products and markets at an international level.

Return to Top of Page

Design and Designers

Art Full Text Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Approximately 300 key English and foreign-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins covering architecture, art history, crafts, decorative arts, graphic arts, industrial and interior design, landscape architecture, museum studies, and film, video and photography.

Design and Applied Arts Index Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Covers more than 450 design and craft journals. It includes data on more than 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, firms, etc. All areas of design and craft are covered.

FirstVIEW
Current runway fashion shows from Sydney, Milan, London, Paris and New York featuring apparel from world-famous designers. It includes designer fashions from the haute couture, women's wear, menswear, accessories, and beauty, hair and make-up. The collection includes video and photos. A free version of the database with past season images is available at http://firstview.com. Also see Images section below.

Return to Top of Page

Newspapers and Popular Magazines

ProQuest Newspapers Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
More than 500 national, international and Wisconsin newspapers, plus other news sources. Includes Milwaukee Journal/Sentinel.

LEXIS/NEXIS Academic Universe Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Approximately 5,000 legal, news, reference, and business sources including news sources, magazines, wire services, newsletters, trade journals, company and industry analyst reports, and broadcast transcripts. Includes Wisconsin State Journal, Capital Times and Milwaukee Journal/Sentinel.

Readers' Guide Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
240 general interest periodicals covering news and current events in politics, business, science, education, religion, the arts, foreign affairs, sports and hobbies, fashion, food and cooking, and health and nutrition.

Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.= License Restricted (About) Return to Top of Page


Resources by Topic

Shows and Trends

New York (7th on Sixth IMG); London (British Fashion Council) Paris (Federation Francaise De La Couture); Milan (Camera Nazionale della Moda Italiana); Tokyo (Council of Fashion Designers, Tokyo); Los Angeles (7th on Sixth IMG) ; Australia (Australian Fashion Innovators)

7th on sixth
Images from current and past New York and Los Angeles runway shows. 7th on Sixth, now part of IMG Fashion, "was originally formed by the Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) to organize, centralize and modernize the American Collections and provide a platform for American designers to become players in the global fashion business."

DolceVita: Fashion
A timeline of Italian fashion and current news about the Italian fashion scene.

Fashion Net: Runway Shows
Sampling of runway collections from recent shows.

Fashion Showroom
Free sample runway photos from Fashion Syndicated Press.

Fashion Windows
Good source for fashion show news with an extensive list of runway shows. Subscription based coverage of many designers.

Federation Francaise De La Couture: Fashion Show Schedules
Non profit association which co-ordinates and promotes the development of French Fashion. Links to the Haute Couture, Ready-to-Wear and Men's Fashion shows.

Infomat
Guides to resources and contacts, trends section and calendar including international list of runway and trade show dates with information about registration and event producers.

Style.com
Free online version of Voque and W with excellent coverage of spring and fall fashion shows, both haute couture and ready to wear for current and past seasons. Includes a review of the year in fashion and style trends. Also collections by designer.

Return to Top of Page

Designers

Angel of Fashion
Links to designer web sites, including new names in fashion, and a variety of other info.

Biography & Genealogy Master Index Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Citations to more than 4 million current and historical persons are included from "who's who" type publications, including biographical dictionaries, handbooks, and directories.

Camera Nazionale della Moda Italiana
Non profit association which co-ordinates and promotes the development of Italian Fashion for its 200 company associates. Designers can be found under the "Associates" link or can be browsed by category such as 'haute couture' or 'pret a porter'. Address and web site information is included for most designers.

Current Biography Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Contains full text of biographies and obituaries on more than 15,000 people including artists, politicians, business people, journalists, actors, writers and more.

DolceVita: Fashion
A timeline of Italian fashion and biographical information on several Italian designers.

Fashion Net: Designers
Links to designers web sites, organized by base city.

Mode a Paris Couturiers and Fashion Designers
Extensive list of links to designer sites.

Style.com
Free online version of Voque and W with excellent coverage of collections by designer. Includes coverage of sprng and fall seasons with runway reviews, slide show of complete collection and video clips for each designer.

Xreferplus Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
An online collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, statistical sources, biographical tools, thesauri, books of quotations, image collections, and subject-specific titles covering everything from art to technology.

Return to Top of Page

Images Online

7th on sixth
Images from current and past New York and Los Angeles runway shows.

Bissonnette on Costume : a virtual dictionary of fashion
View fashion changes from the 18th to the 20th century. From Kent State University Museum.

FirstVIEW
Outstanding images. A free version of the database with past season images is available at http://firstview.com

Google Image Search
Search the Internet for fashion images with this famous search engine by using the "Images" option.

Fashion Television
Companion website to Fashion Television Channel. Sample still photos in the Photo Essay and Gallery sections. Demonstration video clips from the programming.

Style.com
Free online version of Voque and W with excellent coverage of collections by designer. Includes coverage of sprng and fall seasons with runway reviews, slide show of complete collection and video clips for each designer.

Videos at Steenbock

These series include images from many designers and shows. Most are labeled with the contents.

Other titles can also be found by browsing in the TT 400 and 500 range. They are located on the first floor.

Return to Top of Page

Fashion-Related Magazines

@ Steenbock

  • Apparel
  • Bobbin
  • Harper's Bazaar
  • Vogue
  • Vogue Italia. Bambini
  • WWD

Some popular fashion magazines are also available at Madison Public Library.

Online

Fashion Net: Magazines
Extensive list of fashion-related magazines with links to their websites

Harper's Bazaar
Online version of the magazine.

Vogue
Online version of the magazine.

Fashion News

Apparel News
News about what is happening in the fashion world. Information about upcoming shows and designs that are not mainstream. Also contains back issues.

The Daily
All the latest news on runway shows and the fashion scene.

fashiontv
Companion website to television channel. Demonstration video clips from the programming.

Infomat Apparel News
Headlines from around the world with links to the full story.

Los Angeles Times : Style & Culture

New York Times : Fashion & Style

Yahoo! Finance : Retail (Apparel)
Up-to-the-minute apparel retail news.

Return to Top of Page

History of Fashion Resources

American Memory (Library of Congress)
Searchable collection of online historical images. May also be browsed by topic, time period, or place

Bissonnette on Costume: A Visual Dictionary of Fashion
Include
s costume by: (1) geography--Central Asia, China, Greece, India, Japan, & Turkey; (2) time--18th century, 19th century, & 20th century; & (3) subject--accessories, childrenswear, designers, lingerie, menswear, & womanswear. Kent State University Museum

Cornell Costume and Textile Collection
Highlights of past exhibits and important garments, as well as a searchable database for a portion of the more than 9,000 items of apparel dating from the eighteenth century to the present, as well as a substantial collection of ethnographic textiles and costume.

The Costume Page
Costume and costuming-related links.

The Costumer's Manifesto
Very comprehensive collection of costume links including History Sorted by Period (refresh screen in Internet Explorer if page fails to load) and Men's Fashion History.

Fashion Era
Hundreds of content-rich, illustrated pages of fashion history, costume history, clothing, fashions, and social history.

History of Costume: By Braun & Schneider c.1861-1880
Web version of the book Costumes Through the Ages: The Evolution of Styles of Dress Illustrated in 250 Plates and Over 1500 Figures

Picture Collection Online (New York Public Library)
Use the Browse feature to view historical images of clothing & dress, regional costume, fashion drawings, and accessories.

Timeline Fashion
A century of fashion and fashion designers.

Wisconsin Historical Images
Searchable collection of online images from the State Historical Society. Can also be browsed by subjects such as "clothing and dress ", "persons", "domestic life " or "manners & customs ".

Fashion Industry Resources

Apparel News
News about what is happening in the fashion world. Information about upcoming shows and designs that are not mainstream. Also contains back issues.

Fashion Index
Provides information about contractors, manufacturers and resources.

Global Color
British forecasting company providing solutions to color selection in fashion and interior industries. Offers small sampling of color previews from their A/W (autumn/winter) and S/S (spring/summer) issues. Also known as The Mix.

Infomat
Find 350,000+ international designers, showrooms, retailers, manufacturers & suppliers of men's, women's and children's, apparel, textile and accessories' products. Various industry reports available for purchase.

Worth Global Style Network
Trend analysis and news service for the fashion and style industry. The WGSN Today link highlights the latest global news stories [only subscribers can access the full story]. Authorized college and university students are offered a time-delayed version of the professional site called WGSN-EDU (http://www.wgsn-edu.com/).

Retail-apparel-textile channel

Harvard Center for Textile and Apparel Research
"Focused on the the competitive dynamics of the retail-apparel-textile channel -- in particular, how technological innovations are transforming the way retailers plan and order merchandise, and in turn, the way manufacturers forecast demand, plan production, and manufacture and distribute apparel products."

Return to Top of Page


Books and Background Reading

MadCat

Seach for books and backround reading in MadCat - library Catalog. More about Madcat
Useful subject terms in the area of Fashion are:
  • Clothing and dress
  • Costume
  • Costume - history
  • Costume - social aspects
  • Costume design
  • Costume designers
  • Fashion
  • Fashion - history
  • Fashion - psychological aspects
  • Fashion - social aspects
  • Fashon designers
  • Fashion drawing
  • Fashion industry
  • Fashion merchandizing
  • Fashion photography
  • Fashion shows

Books at Steenbock

Books covering all areas of fashion including the apparel industry, designers, fashion illustration, sewing techniques, patternmaking, specialty clothing, textile design, needlework, weaving and fabric dyeing. This list below is a sample of some recent additioins. Other titles can be found by browsing in the TT 500 range. They are located on the first floor.

Return to Top of Page

Steenbock Reference Collection

These books may not be checked out of the library. They are located on second floor.

Return to Top of Page


Statistics and Facts

Xreferplus Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
An online collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, statistical sources, biographical tools, thesauri, books of quotations, image collections, and subject-specific titles covering everything from art to technology.

US Census Bureau Current Industrial Reports: Apparel (MQ315A)
Summaries of apparel production; quantities produced by type of fabric; shipments, exports, imports and consumption of selected items.

US Census Bureau: Economic Census - Manufacturing Industry Series (EC97M-3152A - EC97M-3169B)
Production statistics for the garment industry. 1997 currently available. 2002 data available second quarter 2004.

Global Market Information DatabaseLicensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Worldwide volume and value market size data. See Clothing and Footwear category.

bookWho's Buying Apparel / by the New Strategist editors (2005)

Return to Top of Page


Jobs and Funding

Careers in focus. Fashion. 2nd ed., Chicago : Ferguson Publishing, c2003.
TT507 C337 2003
Discusses a wide variety of careers in clothing and assessories manufacturing, design, and sales, describing educational requirements, personal skills, work environment, salary statistics, future outlook, and more.

Internet Job Postings

Internships

Salary

UW Madison / General Resources

Grants and Funding Opportunities

Return to Top of Page


People, Places and Organizations

Fashion TV: Fashion Schools
International fashion schools with links to their web sites.

Fashion Associations (infomat : Fashion Industry Information Services)
Directory of more than 500 international fashion and textile trade associations.

Return to Top of Page


This page available at http://steenbock.library.wisc.edu/subjectguide/fashion.htm

Please send comments about this page to: Jean Ruenger-Hanson


Last updated: November 13, 2007
About Us | Contact Us | ©2005 Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System

Steenbock Memorial Library is the primary resource library for the University of Wisconsin-Madison's College of Agricultural and Life Sciences, School of Human Ecology, School of Veterinary Medicine and UW Extension, Cooperative Extension.