Subject Guides: Environmental Resources

Government

Compliance Assistance Information Resources, EPA
Protocol and procedural information for compliance with environmental regulations--includes industry-sector notebooks.

Department of the Interior (DOI)
Comprised of a number of bureaus and offices--including the Bureau of Indian Affairs, the Bureau of Land Management, the Bureau of Reclamation, the Fish and Wildlife Service, the US Geological Survey, the Minerals Management Service, the National Park Service, the Office of Surface Mining, the Office of Insular Affairs, and the Office of the Secretary.

Environmental Protection Agency WWW Server
Laws and Regulations link contains the Federal Register Environmental Subset. Some full-text for selected documents--including CFR Title 40: Protection of the Environment. See also EPA Libraries for additional information/resources.

Green Lane Environment Canada
Environment Canada's Web site covering environmental issues in Canada. Site includes Canadian and Provincial government documents and reports, organizations' newsletters, current environmental news and links to international agencies and organizations.

National Water and Climate Center, NRCS, USDA
Office charged with the development and transfer of water and climate information and technology to support natural resource conservation.

Natural Resources Conservation Service, USDA
Access to information, partners and projects in conservation.

Office of Surface Mining, US Department of the Interior
Bureau charged with protecting citizens and the environment during mining and reclamation. Also seeks to reclaim mines abandoned before 1977.

US Fish & Wildlife Service
Links to endangered species information.

Climate Change

Center for Climatic Research, UW-Madison, Nelson Institute
Conducts disciplinary and interdisciplinary research on past and present state of global climate and its impact upon ecosystems.

Center for Sustainability and the Global Environment, UW-Madison, Nelson Institute
Conducts interdisciplinary research on the changing and complex relationships between global environmental systems and human activity.

Climate, World Health Organization
Links to fact sheets and publications about the human-health impacts of global climate change.

Climate Change, Environmental Protection Agency
Site supplies links to information regarding the 'state of knowledge', health and environmental effects, United States climate policy, and practical, personal action.

Climate Program Office, NOAA
Site supplies links to climate data (archived and outlook), interactive analysis tools, and reports and publications regarding global climate change.

Union of Concerned Scientists
In addition to the tab, "global warming", site supplies information--news and publications--about clean energy, invasive species, food quality and sustainability, and security-related issues.

Invasive Species Management

Center for Invasive Plant Management, Montana State University
Comprehensive site linking to information regarding invasive plant species, various national and regional (Western United States) concerns and contacts.

Invasive Species
, Bureau of Endangered Resources, Wisconsin DNR
Information regarding native and non-native plants and animals. Links to DNR Technical Bulletins and on-line publications.

Invasive Plants Association of Wisconsin
Association devoted to promoting responsible stewardship of natural resources by understanding and managing invasive plant species.

Invasives on the Web--TNC Wildland Invasive Species Team
Site links to a management library of ESAs (Element Stewardship Abstracts) and a downloadable Weed Control Methods Handbook.

Image Collections

ARS Image Gallery (Agricultural Research Service) USDA, News & Information
High quality digital photographs made available by the Agricultural Research Service staff.

National Image Library, US Fish & Wildlife Service
Searchable collection of public-domain, photographic images of wildlife, plants, National Wildlife Refuges and wildlife management work.

On-line Photography Center, USDA
High quality digital photographs made available (public domain) by the USDA Photography Center. Nice historical collection--mostly agricultural.

Wisconsin Land Economic Inventory, The Bordner Survey, Land Cover Maps
Maps show the land cover and land use of Wisconsin survey townships from the dates of the survey, 1927-1947.

Internet / Web Resources

EnviroInfo: Environmental Information Resources
Links to Internet resources in ecology, environmental biotechnology and chemistry, air, soil and water quality/pollution and toxicology, hazardous wastes, and environmental impact assessment.

EnviroLink Library
Links to organizational, government, educational, and research sites addressing broad environmental categories--earth, air, fire (energy) water, flora and fauna. Includes a quick search feature.

EnvironmentalChemistry.com
Links to chemistry, environmental and hazardous materials educational sites. On-line reference tools include a periodic table of elements and a geologic timeline.

Environmental Sites on the Internet, Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm
Links to a variety of directories including a conference directory, and to environmental organizations, electronic journals, and Web sites.

http://forests.org/
Huge source for forestry-related topics. Emphasis placed on conservation.

Great Lakes Information Network (GLIN)
Information network for the Great Lakes region. Topics include: economy, environment, ecosystem, tourism, events and weather.

National Library for the Environment
Contains the Congressional Research Service Reports on over 392 nonpartisan environmental topics, the Population and Environment Database, as well as Internet directory of resources dealing with the budget, economics, law, the environment, and science and medicine.

Natural Resources Research Information Pages (NRRIPS)
Comprehensive listing of organizations, government agencies, and other sources of information on natural resources issues--compiled and maintained by Yu-Fai Leung of North Carolina State University.

University of Iowa Center for Global and Regional Environmental Research
Links to environmental organizations, directories, newsletters, journals and research projects and programs.

Worldwatch Institute
Links to numerous environmental sites, including global forestry issues. Best known as the source of Lester Brown's annual State of the World Report.

Outdoor Recreation and Education

Outdoor wilderness & adventure

Outward Bound

Parks and recreational areas

National Park Service (NPS)

Public Lands Information Center

Outdoor leadership and education

National Outdoor Leadership School

North American Association for Environmental Education

Wilderness Education Association