Subject Guides: Environmental Resources

Ecological

Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Agricola (National Agricultural Library) (1970-) Find It Enabled, logo

Indexes abot 600 journals related to agriculture. For better contemporary coverage of this subject, try CAB Abstracts.

Historically coverage was more comprehensive, incuding many more journals, USDA publications, USDA documents, state agricultural experiment station, and foreign documents.

See also:
Free version of Agricola , http://agricola.nal.usda.gov/Open to everyone.
Journals Indexed in Agricola
NAL Agricultural Thesaurus

Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Agricultural and Environmental Biotechnology Abstracts (1993-) Find It Enabled, logo Indexes 123 journals specializing in biotechnological developments and new applications in the environmental field.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (1978-) Find It Enabled, logo Indexes more than 5,000 journals, reports, conference proceedings in the aquatic environment, including aquaculture, limnology, oceanography and marine environments, environmental quality, and water pollution.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Biological Abstracts (1969-) Find It Enabled, logo One of the largest and most comprehensive biological sciences databases indexing 9,600 journals each year.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. CAB Abstracts (1910-) Find It Enabled, logo Indexes 10,000 English and foreign-language journals, books, technical reports, theses, patents, conference proceedings, and annual reports covering life sciences and natural resources conservation and leisure.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Ecology Abstracts (1982-) Find It Enabled, logo Provides bibliographic access to approximately 350 research journals in ecology.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. EIS: Digests of Environmental Impact Statements (1985-)   Accesses environmental impact statements. Statements include description of the purpose, the positive and negative aspects, legal mandates, and prior references as well as the issuing agency, the EIS, and EPA numbers. About 450 draft and final impact statement are added per year.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (1981-) Find It Enabled, logo A multidisciplinary database covering ecology, pollution and toxicology, basic life sciences, bacteriology, and water resources.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Fish & Fisheries Worldwide (1971-) Find It Enabled, logo Indexes journals, books, conference proceedings, government reports and dissertations about fish behavior, conservation, diseases, genetics, habitats, management techniques, parasites, pesticides, propagation, and toxicology.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. GEOBASE (1980-) Find It Enabled, logo Provides citations and abstracts to some 2,000+ scholarly journals, books, reports, and theses in the social, physical and environmental sciences-- including GIS, ecology and development studies. Records are from the following print indexes: Geographical Abstracts, Geological Abstracts, Ecological Abstracts, International Development Abstracts, and Oceanographic Literature Review.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. GeoRef (1693-) Find It Enabled, logo One of the most comprehensive indexes to earth sciences literature. Provides bibliographic access to more than 3,500 serials annually, including conference papers, guidebooks, maps, reports, theses and some monographs.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive Find It Enabled, logo This full-text archive includes about 100 journals in the subject areas of ecology and biological sciences. Coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 3 to 5 years of the most current issue. More recent articles are NOT included.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. National Service Center for Environmental Publications (NSCEP)   NSCEP/NEPIS is a database of more than 24,000 free digital and paper EPA documents from the early 1960's to the present.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Pollution Abstracts (1981-) Find It Enabled, logo Indexes 2247 journals covering research on all forms of pollution, including air, water, waste, radioactive material, toxic emissions and noise pollution. In addition to journal literature, conference proceedings, government reports and books are indexed.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. TOXLINE (NLM) (1980-)   Provides citations and abstracts to research and data covering the pharmacological, biochemical, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Water Resources Abstracts (1967-)   Provides citations and abstracts to international scientific and technical literature on water management, ecology, engineering, and pollution.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Web of Knowledge (1982-)
Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
Find It Enabled, logo Provides citations and abstracts to research literature. Useful tool for searching by cited authors and to find articles sharing one or more cited reference. Steenbock Library offers a Alert Service whereby a weekly search can be run against Web of Knowledge with results delivered automatically to your email.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide (1935-) Find It Enabled, logo Indexes and abstracts literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians from journals, monographs, conference proceedings, government reports, dissertations, field studies, and surveys from US state agencies.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Zoological Record, (1978-) Find It Enabled, logo Indexes approximately 6000 journals, providing worldwide coverage of zoological literature. Emphasis is on systematic/taxonomic information on various animal groups, including protozoa, nematoda, pisces, reptilia, aves, and mammalia
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.License Restricted (About) /Open to everyone. Free / Find It Enabled, logoFind It (About)

Environmental Engineering

Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Compendex (Engineering Index) (1884-) Find It Enabled, logo The premier engineering database that includes environmental engineering, hydrology, and pollution management.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Environmental Engineering Abstracts (1990-) Find It Enabled, logo Indexes over 700 primary journals and over 2,500 additional sources including monographs and conference proceedings covering literature pertaining to technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Resources   Guide to University of Wisconsin-Madison and Web resources for acquiring data for use with geographic information systems (GIS) software, particularly ArcView GIS.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.License Restricted (About) /Open to everyone. Free / Find It Enabled, logoFind It (About)

Human-Environment Interface

Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. CAB Abstracts (1910-) Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Indexes 10,000 English and foreign-language journals, books, technical reports, theses, patents, conference proceedings, and annual reports covering life sciences and natural resources conservation and leisure.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) (1966-) Find It Enabled, logo Premier education database--includes outdoor education. More than 980 journals, educational reports, project descriptions, curriculum guides, and dissertations are included.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Human Population & Natural Resource Management (1995-) Find It Enabled, logo Indexes research literature covering human population dynamics, environment relations, ecotourism, sustainable living and consumption, environmental awareness and education.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Social Sciences Full Text (1983-) Find It Enabled, logo Indexes more than 415 periodicals in the fields of economics, sociology, environmental and urban studies.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Sociological Abstracts (1952-) Find It Enabled, logo Indexes and abstracts 2,000 journals in sociology.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.License Restricted (About) /Open to everyone. Free / Find It Enabled, logoFind It (About)

Economic & Political

Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. EconLit (1969-)   Leading economics database, indexes approximately 300 scholarly English-language journals in the field of economics.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. GPO Monthly Catalog (1976-)   Indexes publications of the United States Federal Government. The material indexed covers a broad range of subjects See also GPO Access for Catalog of United States Government Publications.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. LEXIS/NEXIS Academic Universe   On-line service composed of approximately 5,000 legal, news, reference, and business sources. Mostly full text.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service) (1972-) Find It Enabled, logo Indexes more than 900 journals, books, government documents and committee reports addressing public and social policy.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.License Restricted (About) /Open to everyone. Free / Find It Enabled, logoFind It (About)