Got a minute? We'd like to know what you think about this resource...
General & Popular
| Academic Search (1984-) | Full-text database indexing more than 3000 journals (multidisciplinary). | ||
| ProQuest Newspapers | Indexes and provides some full-text access to articles from 41 national and Wisconsin newspapers. | ||
| ProQuest Research Library (1988-) | Indexes
more
than
2,000
periodicals
and provides
the full
text
of nearly
1,000
of them. |
||
Ecological
| Agricola (National Agricultural Library) (1970-) | Indexes abot 600 journals related to agriculture. For better contemporary coverage of this subject, try CAB Abstracts. Historically coverage was more comprehensive, incuding many more journals, USDA publications, USDA documents, state agricultural experiment station, and foreign documents. See also: |
||
| Agricultural and Environmental Biotechnology Abstracts (1993-) | Indexes 123 journals specializing in biotechnological developments and new applications in the environmental field. | ||
| Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (1978-) | Indexes more than 5,000 journals, reports, conference proceedings in the aquatic environment, including aquaculture, limnology, oceanography and marine environments, environmental quality, and water pollution. | ||
| Biological Abstracts (1969-) | One of the largest and most comprehensive biological sciences databases indexing 9,600 journals each year. | ||
| CAB Abstracts (1910-) | Indexes 10,000 English and foreign-language journals, books, technical reports, theses, patents, conference proceedings, and annual reports covering life sciences and natural resources conservation and leisure. | ||
| Ecology Abstracts (1982-) | Provides bibliographic access to approximately 350 research journals in ecology. | ||
| EIS: Digests of Environmental Impact Statements (1985-) | Accesses environmental impact statements. Statements include description of the purpose, the positive and negative aspects, legal mandates, and prior references as well as the issuing agency, the EIS, and EPA numbers. About 450 draft and final impact statement are added per year. | ||
| Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (1981-) | A multidisciplinary database covering ecology, pollution and toxicology, basic life sciences, bacteriology, and water resources. | ||
| Fish & Fisheries Worldwide (1971-) | Indexes journals, books, conference proceedings, government reports and dissertations about fish behavior, conservation, diseases, genetics, habitats, management techniques, parasites, pesticides, propagation, and toxicology. | ||
| GEOBASE (1980-) | Provides citations and abstracts to some 2,000+ scholarly journals, books, reports, and theses in the social, physical and environmental sciences-- including GIS, ecology and development studies. Records are from the following print indexes: Geographical Abstracts, Geological Abstracts, Ecological Abstracts, International Development Abstracts, and Oceanographic Literature Review. | ||
| GeoRef (1693-) | One of the most comprehensive indexes to earth sciences literature. Provides bibliographic access to more than 3,500 serials annually, including conference papers, guidebooks, maps, reports, theses and some monographs. | ||
| JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive | This full-text archive includes about 100 journals in the subject areas of ecology and biological sciences. Coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 3 to 5 years of the most current issue. More recent articles are NOT included. | ||
| National Service Center for Environmental Publications (NSCEP) | NSCEP/NEPIS is a database of more than 24,000 free digital and paper EPA documents from the early 1960's to the present. | ||
| Pollution Abstracts (1981-) | Indexes 2247 journals covering research on all forms of pollution, including air, water, waste, radioactive material, toxic emissions and noise pollution. In addition to journal literature, conference proceedings, government reports and books are indexed. | ||
| TOXLINE (NLM) (1980-) | Provides citations and abstracts to research and data covering the pharmacological, biochemical, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals. | ||
| Water Resources Abstracts (1967-) | Provides citations and abstracts to international scientific and technical literature on water management, ecology, engineering, and pollution. | ||
| Web
of
Knowledge
(1982-) Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. |
Provides citations and abstracts to research literature. Useful tool for searching by cited authors and to find articles sharing one or more cited reference. Steenbock Library offers a Alert Service whereby a weekly search can be run against Web of Knowledge with results delivered automatically to your email. | ||
| Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide (1935-) | Indexes and abstracts literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians from journals, monographs, conference proceedings, government reports, dissertations, field studies, and surveys from US state agencies. | ||
| Zoological Record, (1978-) | Indexes approximately 6000 journals, providing worldwide coverage of zoological literature. Emphasis is on systematic/taxonomic information on various animal groups, including protozoa, nematoda, pisces, reptilia, aves, and mammalia | ||
Environmental Engineering
| Compendex (Engineering Index) (1884-) | The premier engineering database that includes environmental engineering, hydrology, and pollution management. | ||
| Environmental Engineering Abstracts (1990-) | Indexes over 700 primary journals and over 2,500 additional sources including monographs and conference proceedings covering literature pertaining to technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production. | ||
| Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Resources | Guide to University of Wisconsin-Madison and Web resources for acquiring data for use with geographic information systems (GIS) software, particularly ArcView GIS. | ||
Human-Environment Interface
| CAB Abstracts (1910-) | Indexes 10,000 English and foreign-language journals, books, technical reports, theses, patents, conference proceedings, and annual reports covering life sciences and natural resources conservation and leisure. | ||
| ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) (1966-) | Premier education database--includes outdoor education. More than 980 journals, educational reports, project descriptions, curriculum guides, and dissertations are included. | ||
| Human Population & Natural Resource Management (1995-) | Indexes research literature covering human population dynamics, environment relations, ecotourism, sustainable living and consumption, environmental awareness and education. | ||
| Social Sciences Full Text (1983-) | Indexes more than 415 periodicals in the fields of economics, sociology, environmental and urban studies. | ||
| Sociological Abstracts (1952-) | Indexes and abstracts 2,000 journals in sociology. | ||
Economic & Political
| EconLit (1969-) | Leading economics database, indexes approximately 300 scholarly English-language journals in the field of economics. | ||
| GPO Monthly Catalog (1976-) | Indexes publications of the United States Federal Government. The material indexed covers a broad range of subjects See also GPO Access for Catalog of United States Government Publications. | ||
| LEXIS/NEXIS Academic Universe | On-line service composed of approximately 5,000 legal, news, reference, and business sources. Mostly full text. | ||
| PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service) (1972-) | Indexes more than 900 journals, books, government documents and committee reports addressing public and social policy. | ||
