Subject Guides: Entomology

Directories of Links

Entomology on the World Wide Web(WWW) (Colorado State University)
Mega site with an alphabetical listing of entomology sites from around the world. It also includes links to publications, job listings, meetings,images, and entomology departments in the US.

Entomology Index of Internet Resources(Iowa State University)
A searchable site that indexes databases, companies, directories, full-text publications, images, collections and organisms, job listings, and topics such as beekeeping, medical entomology, pests and pesticides, and IPM.

Insects on World Wide Web (Virginia Tech)
Mega site by Jun Fan, that contains alphabetical listing of links to specific species, as well as general topics of interest about insects. It includes links to entomology databases, universities, worldwide entomolgical societies, and a number of links to insects pests

Insectlopedia
Useful site with wide-ranging insect information. Includes databases, resource data, manufacturer contacts and links.

Nearctica: Natural World of North America
A major site covering systematics, natural history, ecology, conservation, paleontology, geophysics, and physical environment of all plants and animals in North America. Searchable by keyword.

Yahoo Directory of Insects
A select list of Internet sites on insects chosen by Yahoo. List includes popular, educational, and research links.

Forest Entomology

Exotic Forest Pests.org
A cooperative database that provides access to detailed profiles of identified exotic North American pests.

Warnell School of Forest Resouces-Forest Entomology
Contains information on everything for Gypsy Moths to Bark Beatles and houses the Bugwood Network

Forest Insect and Disease Leaflet - USDA Forest Service
The Forest and Insect Disease Leaflets Master Directory. A compilation of full-text documents with access to ordering out of print leaflets.

Gypsy Moth at Virginia Polytechnic Institute
A useful site that combines solid background information and illustrative slides with more specific IPM and other research projects. Includes an international gypsy moth contact list.

Gypsy Moth in North America
Provides an overview of gypsy moth and its history with specific pages dedicated to topics including: defoliation, management and life cycle. Includes numerous illustrative photos and relevant links.

Gypsy Moth in Wisconsin
Focuses on the impact and control of gypsy moth in Wisconsin. Includes information on spraying, fact sheets and links.

Insect Models For Teaching

Tobacco Hornworm project
Outlines educational activities for both students and educators that focus on the life cycle of the Tobacco hornworm, Manduca Sexta. Features include a teaching manual, lesson plans, live webcam, and forum.

Insect Pests

USDA Animal & Plant Health Plant Inspection Service (USDA-APIS)
The site includes a searchable database of information about plant pests.

Illinois Natural History Survey - Center for Economic Entomology
Provides information and literature on insect pests and biological control; emphasis is on soybeans, therividae, western corn rootworm, and the control of purple loostrife.

Insect Pests and Management (Virginia Tech)
Link to section "Insect Pests" to find sites on individual pests, management techniques, and hosts including household, garden, turf, fruit and vegetables hosts.

Integrated Pest Management / Biocontrol

Biological Control: A Guide to Natural Enemies in North America (Cornell University)
biocontrol guide provides photographs and descriptions of control agents of insect, disease and weed pests in North America. Includes natural parasitoids, predators, pathogens, and weed feeders.

Biological Control Virtual Information Center (North Carolina State University)
Links to biological control agencies and facilities including federal, state, non-profit, and international organizations, research laboratories, and programs.

Center for Integrated Pest Management (CIPM) North Carolina State University)
The site contains descriptions of the center's projects, databases, and links to CIPM web sites and other IPM sites.

Ecological Database of World's Insect Pathogens (EDWIP) (Illinois Natural History Survey)
Provides a searchable database for insect pathogens.

Entomology Index: Integrated Pest Management (Iowa State University,Dept. of Entomology)
A list of IPM Internet sites

IPMnet (Consortium for International Crop Protection)
Dedicated to promoting economically efficient and environmentally sound protection practices in developing countries. Links to Database of IPM Resources (DIR), an information retrieval/referral system and a compendium of directories of worldwide IPM information resource; to a textbook and other publications on IPM.

National Integrated Pest Management - Northeast Region
Northeastern US IPM regional site with job listings, projects, reports, and calendar.

National Integrated Pest Management Network - North Central Region
North Central US IPM site with resources for pest problems including Vegetable IPM a database from University of Minnesota containing pest fact sheets and pest infestation updates for the upper Midwest; SIRIC, Soybean Insect Resource Information Center, a database from Illinois Natural History Survey, Illinois Agricultural Experiment Station containing literature and links to soybean literature; a directory of North Central state contacts.

NSF Center for Integrated Pest Management

NSFCIPM fosters the development and implementation of pest management programs based on a high level of knowledge of pest biology coupled with choices of monitoring tools and control technology, resulting in economically sound, environmentally compatible, and sociologically responsible integrated crop production

UW-Madison Integrated Pest and Crop Management programs
Contains news, articles, contacts, and links to other Internet IPM sites. Intenteded for the practitioner.

Turfgrass and Urban Entomology

Insects on the WWW-Turf and Lawn Insect Pests (Virginia Tech)
Links to many web pages from academic institutions on management, control and general information on turf and lawn pests. Site initially designed for a course of Insects & Human Society at Entomology of VT.

Insects on the WWW-Urban Insect Pests (Virginia Tech)
Links to many web pages from academic instituions on management, control and general information on urban pests. Site initially designed for a course of Insects & Human Society at Entomology of VT TECH.

Turfgrass Entomology (Univ. of Nebraska)
Descriptions, images, identification tools, insecticide tables, and bibliography on turfgrass insects.

Coleoptera

Aquatic Coleoptera (Smithsonian)
A searchable database of the collections of adult and immature aquatic and semiaquatic beetles.

Internet ResourcesGuide for Zoology, Coleoptera
A directory of beetle Internet sites produced by BIOSIS and the Zoological Society of London

Tree of Life: Coleoptera (University of Arizona)
The coleoptera limb of the Tree of Life containing descriptions, a bibliography, illustrations, and Internet links to coleoptera sites. Within the Tree of Life, David Maddison has also created a "Beetle Treehouse" with fun information about beetle parts, beetle mysteries, and amazing beetles.

Diptera

The Diptera Site
A directory of diptera Internet sites produced by USDA Systematic Entomology Lab,Natural Museum of History, NSF, and others.

Hymenoptera

Welcome to Hymenoptera
A directory of hymenoptera Itnernet sites produced by USDA Systematic Entomology Lab.

List of World Bumble Bees (Natural History Museum, London)
List of bumble bees by biogeographic regions, species, or alphabetically.

Lepidoptera

Butterflies of North America (Northern Prairie Wildlife Research Center-North Dakota)
From the in The site includes butterfly distribution maps, species information on size, characteristics, life cycle, etc., photos, and species checklists for each county in the U.S. and states in northern Mexico.

Moths of North America (Northern Prairie Wildlife Research Center-North Dakota)
Moth distribution maps, species accounts with information on size, identifying characteristics, etc., and species checklists for each county in the U. S. and state in northern Mexico.

Monarch Watch (University of Kansas Entomology Program)
Dedicated to the conservation, research, and education of monarchs.

Social Insects

Carl Hayden Bee Research Center
Authoratative selection of relevant material intended to inform and refer both lay and academic users in all aspects of bees.

Social Insects World Wide Web (Smithsonian and Ohio State University)
Antbase, includes Hymenoptera Database and other databases, images,news, and projects from around the world.

Insects on the WWW (Virginia Tech - Jun Fan)
Using the left-hand frame, select "Common Insect" to access useful Internet sites on ants, bees, wasps, termites, and other social insects.

Ant Database (Smithsonian)
Smithsonian's ant collection of more than 500,000 specimens representing 4580 named species and subspecies of ants. The database, a work in progress, is produced by Ted Schultz using Bolton's 1995 catalog.

Insect Collections

Entomology Index of Internet Resources-Insect Collections (Iowa State University)
List of insect collections throughout the world.

Insect Research Collection University of Wisconsin-Madison
Extensive collection of over one million pinned and preserved insects with primary geographic emphasis on Wisconsin and the Great Lakes. Emphasis is on Lepidoptera, Coleoptera, Diptera, and Hymenoptera.

Other Entomology Collection Catalogs (UC-Berkeley Museum of Paleontology)
Links to insect collections throughout the world.

Images

Iowa State Entomology Index: Images
Alphabetical listing of web-based insect image collections from around the world.

Photo Gallery of Insect Pests (NC Department of Entomology)
Site contains photos of insect pests.

Google Image Search Comprehensive image search engine.

Systematics

Systematic Entomology (North Carolina, AgNIC - Agricultural Network Information Center)
Contains information and Internet links to insect families.

Invertebrate Type Catalog (University of California Museum of Paleontology)
Invertebrate specimen catalog with data on the type (published) specimens in the collections and links to insect collection lists and catalogs throughout the world.

National Museum of Natural History (Smithsonian)
Smithsonian's Department of Systematic Biology-Entomology includes insect databases and links to other government entomology sites.