Subject Guides:  Entomology

Books/Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Crop Protection Compendium:
The Crop Protection Compendium is an encyclopaedic, mixed media tool that brings together a wide range of different types of science-based information on all aspects of crop protection. It encompasses not only pests, diseases and weeds and their natural enemies, but also the crops that are their hosts and the countries where they occur.

Ecology and Natural Resources Digital Collection
The Ecology and Natural Resources Collection brings together, in digital form, two categories of primary and secondary publications: writings about research in ecology and natural resources conducted by University of Wisconsin faculty and staff; and unique or valuable titles in these fields held by the University of Wisconsin Libraries, including Aldo Leopold papers, 1903-1948; DNR Technical Bulletins; Prairie Proceedings: North American Prairie Conference; Wisconsin Land Economic Inventory.

Encyclopedia of Agricultural, Food, and Biological Engineering

Encyclopedia of Pest Management

Encyclopedia of Plant and Crop Science

Encyclopedia of Soil Science

Encyclopedia of Water

Online Dictionaries The Faster Finder

MadCat is the catalog of books, journals, and other materials held in UW-Madison libraries. More about Madcat.

Useful subject terms in the area of entomology are:

  • Aquatic insects
  • Beneficial insects
  • Diapause
  • Edible insects
  • Entomology
  • Forest insects
  • Forensic entomology
  • Insect behavior
  • Insect sex attractants
  • Insect pests
  • Insect pests biological control
  • Insect-plant relationship
  • Insect societies
  • Insects adaptation
  • Insects anatomy
  • Insects as carriers of disease
  • Insects classification
  • Insects development
  • Insects genetics
  • Insects identification
  • Insects injurious and beneficial
  • Insects physiology
  • Parasitic insects
  • Predatory insects
  • Urban entomology
  • Veterinary entomology
Search also for families, genera, species or popular names of insects. i.e. hymenoptera, moths, leaf-miners.

 

Publications

University of Wisconsin Extension, Cooperative Extension Publications