Subject Guides: Entomology

Take our (really quick) Survey
 Got a minute? We'd like to know what you think about this resource...

Ecology and Natural Resources

Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Agricola (National Agriculture Library) (1970-) Indexes 2,500 journals, USDA publications, state agricultural experiment station and extension services documents, and FAO publications. It covers agriculture, entomology, plant science, and integrated pest management. (One of the best)
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Agricola (1970-) Public access through the National Agricultural Library.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Agris (FAO Agriculture-United Nations) (1986-) World-wide coverage of English and foreign-language journals, books, reports, conference papers, and patents in the natural resources field.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Biological Abstracts (1980-) Journal literature covering virtually every life science discipline including biochemistry, biotechnology, entomology, microbiology,and toxicology.(One of the best).
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Biological Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, Meetings) (1991-) Life science books, conference proceedings, meeting papers and research reviews. Journal articles are indexed in Biological Abstracts.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Biotechnology Abstracts (Derwent) (1982-) Genetic and biochemical engineering, tissue culture, biological control.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. CAB (Agriculture & Veterinary) (1972-) Subjects covered include entomology, integrated pest management, microbiology, plant pathology, and forestry. (One of the best)
Open to everyone. CRIS (Current Research Information System) (current year) CRIS is a list of current or recently completed research projects funded by the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA).
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Ecology Abstracts (1982-) Access to about 350 research journals in ecology including entomology. A sub-set of the Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management Database.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (1981-) A multidisciplinary database. Also includes basic scientific information on bacteriology, ecology, toxicology, environmental engineering, environmental biotechnology, waste management, and water resources.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Web of Knowledge
(1982-)
Includes Science Citation Index. Best for finding articles citing a particular author or paper and to find articles sharing one or more cited reference. The Web of Science indexes more than 8,000 peer-reviewed journals. Includes journal articles, reviews, letters, notes, and editorials. Also possible to search by author, title, and institution.

Newspapers and Popular Magazines

Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Academic Search (1984-) Academic Search is a full text database of more than 3000 journals covering a broad range of material.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. LEXIS/NEXIS Academic Universe Web LEXIS/NEXIS ACADEMIC UNIVERSE is an online service composed of approximately 5,000 legal, news, reference, and business sources. Mostly full text.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. ProQuest Newspapers ProQuest Newspapers lists articles from 41 national and Wisconsin newspapers, and includes full text for most.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. ProQuest Research Library (1988-) ProQuest Research Library indexes more than 2,000 periodicals, and provides the full text of nearly 1,000 of them.