Subject Guides: Equity and Diversity Resources


Journal and Research Databases

Curriculum and Classroom Techniques



Cross cultural approach

(race or racial or ethnic* or ethno* or multicultur* or cultur*)

Specific group approach
(african american* or black* or afro american*)

Possible Search Terms...

   Campus climate
   Classroom environment
   Classroom techniques
   Cultural heritage
   Cultural pluralism
   Culturally relevant teaching
   Culturally responsive pedagogy
   Culturally responsive teaching
   Curriculum transformation
   Demographic considerations
   Diverse learners
   Diverse learning styles
   Diverse students
   Diverse teaching and learning
   Diversity
   Diversity indicators
   English as a second language/ESL
   Ethnic heritage
   Ethnic identity
   Ethnic minorities
   Ethnic studies
   Ethnicity
   Ethnocultural groups
   First generation students
   Gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender
   Gender issues
   Global perspectives
   Inclusive dialogue
   Inclusive teaching
   Minority students
   Minorities
   Multicultural education
   Multicultural infusion
   Multiculturalism
   Multicultural Issues
   Multiculturalism theory
   Multiethnic
   Race; racial
   Reflective practitioner

   ERIC database Oldest and largest education-related database. It selectively indexes journal articles and ERIC Documents. Most are available in PDF format via the links in ERIC and EDRS (http://www.edrs.com).
   Education Full-text More current than ERIC, often having full text available just a month or two after the print journal issues are published.
   Professional Development Collection Designed for educators, this database provides full-text for about 750 periodicals, including 350 peer-reviewed journals.

Broad Coverage

 
   Academic Search Journals included usually cover core literature for each discipline. Also New York Times and Wall Street Journal.
   Proquest Research Library Mix of general interest and academic journals covering all disciplines.

Social Science Topics

   ABI/Inform Issues related to consumers.
   Family & Society Studies Educational, medical, psychological and sociological aspects of family literature.
   PAIS (Public Affairs Info Service) Public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general.
   Social Science Full Text Economics, politics and foreign affairs, public administration, public health, sociology, criminology, environmental and urban studies, psychology and anthropology.
   Sociological Abstracts This database indexes and abstracts 2,000 worldwide journals in sociology.
   Web of Science Unique resource to search by cited authors and to find articles sharing one or more cited reference.

Design Studies Topics

   Art Full Text Archaeology, architecture, art history, crafts, decorative arts, industrial and interior design, landscape architecture
   Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals Articles on architecture from such diverse fields as archaeology, decorative arts, interior design, landscape architecture, city planning, and housing.
   Design and Applied Arts Index All areas of design and craft are covered, including interior design, environmental design, computer-aided design, furniture design, textile design, among other areas.
   firstVIEW current runway fashions shows from Sydney, Milan, London, Paris and New York featuring apparel from world-famous designers

More

   Area and International Studies including International Index to Black Periodicals, Chicano Database , Sexual Diversity Studies
   Digital Collections including Arts and Humanities, Area and International Studies, and Social Sciences and Education. Some
   Newspapers and Popular Magazines including Ethnic Newswatch, Alternative Press Index
   Women's Studies including GenderWatch, Women's Studies International

Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.= License Restricted (About)= open to everyone

Return to Top of Page

Books and Background Reading

Suggested SUBJECT HEADINGS for searching in MadCat (choose "Subject" under "Basic Search")

critical pedagogy
educational anthropology
equality
ethnicity
ethnic relations
intercultural communication
language and culture

minorities
multicultural education
multiculturalism
pluralism
race awareness
race relations
racism

Return to Top of Page


Data Resources

Applied Population Laboratory
Provides consultation and training as well as researching current demographic and economic topics.

Center for Demography and Ecology Library
Specialized collection in population studies with emphasis on particular areas in accordance with the priorities and research interests of Center faculty and staff
WisStat
Online demographic data server for Wisconsin.
    CDECAT
To locate data files available at CDE.
      Data Resources at CDE Information Services
Detailed descriptions of data available at CDE.
Data and Program Library Service
Central repository of data collections used by the social science research community at the UW-Madison.
     
  Internet Crossroads in Social Science DataLicensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Over 700 annotated links to data-related resources on the Internet.
  Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Immense archive of social science data for research and instruction. Housed at the University of Michigan
  iPOLL Databank Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Full-text, question-level retrieval system for United States public opinion back to 1935 from the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research.
 
  DPLS Online Data Archive
Small subset of the DPLS data collection made publicly available for direct web download.
  Data on the Net
Numeric social science statistical data, data catalogs, data libraries, social science gateways, addresses and more.
  DPLS Catalog      

Return to Top of Page


Web Resources

= one of the best

Bibliography of Resources for Multicultural Higher Education
A 2004, 28 page publication from the Center for Research on Developmental Education and Urban Literacy at University of Minnesota-Twin Cities. Use to find the full text.

Center for Curriculum Transformation : Resources
Includes information on course transformation, classroom pedagogy and department curriculum change. From the University of Washington.

Center for Research on Teaching and Learning : Multicultural Teaching
Occasional papers, teaching strategies, and other resources. From the University of Michigan.

Dig Deeper: Test Yourself for Hidden Bias
Created by psychologists at Yale University and the University of Washington, this collection of Implicit Association Tests (IAT) measures unconscious bias.

DiversityWeb
Collection of campus practices and resources about diversity in higher education from the Association of American Colleges and Universities.

IUPUI Multicultural Classroom Resource Guide
Extensive annotated bibliography including web sites, full text articles and citations. Convenient arrangement of references by area to interest.

Leadership Institute Themes and Readings
Readings used in the campus program.

Multicultural Curriculum in Higher Education
A catalog of selected references from the National Center for Culturally Responsive Educational Systems (NCCRESt) . Use to find the full text.

Multicultural Pavilion
"Resources for educators, students, and activists to explore and discuss multicultural education; facilitate opportunities for educators to work toward self-awareness and development; and provide forums for educators to interact and collaborate toward a critical, transformative approach to multicultural education." From EdChange.org. and Paul Gorski.

A Multiracial Society with Segregated Schools: Are We Losing the Dream?
Research report of the Harvard Civil Rights Project about the value of cultural diversity in K-16 education.

National SEED Project on Inclusive Curriculum (Seeking Educational Equity & Diversity)
A staff-development equity project for educators, is in its nineteenth year of establishing teacher-led faculty development seminars. Campus has local group.

A Synthesis of Scholarship in Multicultural Education
Article by University of Washington Professor, Geneva Gay, who is also author of the book, Culturally Responsive Teaching.

Teaching Diverse Learners
From Brown University. Includes practical teaching strategies (mostly k12) and discussion of theory and policy issues.

Return to Top of Page


UW Madison Resources

Related UW Madison Academic Departments, Centers, Programs

UW System Resources

Return to Top of Page

 


This page available at http://steenbock.library.wisc.edu/subjectguide/cultural.htm

Please send comments about this page to: Jean Ruenger-Hanson

Last updated: November 13, 2007
About Us | Contact Us | ©2005 Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System

Steenbock Memorial Library is the primary resource library for the University of Wisconsin-Madison's College of Agricultural and Life Sciences, School of Human Ecology, School of Veterinary Medicine and UW Extension, Cooperative Extension.