Consumer Science Literature Review Tips

Was this helpful?

Sample Books on Social Science Research

  • Qualitative researching with text, image and sound : a practical handbook / edited by Martin W. Bauer and George Gaskell. Publisher: London : SAGE, 2000.
    Memorial Library Stacks Regular Size Shelving : H62 Q38 2000
  • Social science research : a skills handbook / edited by Annie S. Barnes. Publisher: Bristol, Ind. : Wyndham Hall Press, c1985.
    School of Library/Info Studies: 301.072 So128
  • Ferman, Gerald S. Social science research: a handbook for students [by] Gerald S. Ferman and Jack Levin. [Cambridge, Mass., Schenkman Pub. Co.; distributed by] Halsted Press, New York [1975]
    Memorial Library Stacks Regular Size Shelving : H62 F399
  • Madsen, David. Successful dissertations and theses : a guide to graduate student research from proposal to completion / David Madsen. San Francisco : Jossey-Bass, 1992.  
    Memorial Library Reference Stacks Room 262 (non-circulating) : LB2369 M32 1992
    Memorial Library Stacks Regular Size Shelving : LB2369 M32 1992

Social Science Research Methods

Statistics Sources

Data Sources

Applied Population Laboratory
Provides consultation and training as well as researching current demographic and economic topics.

  • WisStat
    Online demographic data server for Wisconsin.

Data and Program Library Service
Central repository of data collections used by the social science research community at the UW-Madison.

Center for Demography and Ecology Library
Specialized collection in population studies with emphasis on particular areas in accordance with the priorities and research interests of Center faculty and staff.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Provides access to an immense archive of social science data for research and instruction. Housed at the University of Michigan.

Data on the Net
Numeric social science statistical data, data catalogs, data libraries, social science gateways, addresses and more.

Grants Information