Consumer Science Literature Review Tips

Was this helpful?

Searching by Author

  • Enter last name first, then first name or initial(s)
  • For works about someone, search the name as a subject
  • In journal databases,
    • Select author field / author browse feature

MadCat screen

  • In WorldCat
    • Use Advanced Search and Author Phrase for best results

WorldCat screen

Cited Reference Searching

  • Web of Knowledge
    Use the Cited Reference Search to find out who has cited an author's work. This is the only database with this ability and provides a very valuable alternative to author/keyword searching. It allows you to build a related research trail forward in time from when the work was published.

Step 1

Web of Knowledge screen

Step 2

Web of Knowledge screen

Step 3

Web of Knowledge screen

Browsing the LIterature

Key Journals

  • After identifying key journals for the research topic, it is possible to limit database searches to a specific journal. For example, in PsycINFO, using the Advanced Search, select SO Journal Title:
    Psycinfo screen
  • Where is this journal indexed? Use Ulrich's Periodical Directory and look up the journal title (exact title search). When viewing the journal publication information, click the tab labeled "Abstracting/Indexing & Article Access". the Abstracting & Indexing Sources(active, electronic): section will list the databases that index the journal.
  • Another option is to browse the table of contents, issue by issue, in either print or electronic formats.

Handbooks

  • Search MadCat (or WorldCat) to find standard handbooks related to the topic
  • Pair terms that describe the topic with the word handbook?. The Search By pull down can be changed to Subject or Title if there are too many results. Subject must be used only if the term is a Library of Congress or Medical Subject Heading.
madcat screen

Annual Reviews

  • Use the same technique as above, but substitute "annual review?" for "handbook?".
  • You will also usually pick up this content from the journal and information databases.

References

  • Study and use the reference lists at the end of articles and chapters to locate additional literature.