Subject Guides: Crops

This is a list of the top resources for getting started. For a more extensive list of resources click on More Resources.

Journal Article Databases

Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Agricola (National Agriculture Library) (1970-) Reasons to Use:
  • Includes unique USDA publications, state agricultural experiment station publications, Extension publications.
  • Not as up to date as CAB
Searching Help | Setting up Alerts
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Biological Abstracts (1969-to date) Reasons to Use:
    • World’s largest life sciences database
    • Experimental lab focus
    • Lots of limits, including subject focus
    Searching Help | Setting up Alerts
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. CAB (Agriculture & Veterinary) (1911-to date) Reasons to Use:
  • Includes all aspects of crop production and agronomy.
  • Worldwide coverage, including developing countries.
  • More up to date than Agricola
  • Focus on applied field research
Searching Help | Setting up Alerts
Open to everyone. CRIS (Current Research Information System) (current year) Reasons to Use:CRIS is a list of current or recently completed research projects funded by the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA).
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Plant Management Network Reasons to Use:Cooperative resource for the applied plant sciences. UW-Madison is a partner.
  • Includes four peer-reviewed journals (Plant Health Progress, Crop Management, Applied Turfgrass Science, and Forage and Grazinglands)
  • Three efficacy test publications on chemical and nonchemical methods of pest control, and variety trials.
  • A searchable database of related web pages from the Network's partner universities, and a searchable image collections database.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Tropag & Rural 1975-date Reasons to Use:
  • Covers international agricultural, crop processing and storage, environmental issues, farming systems, fertilizer, postharvest cooperation, and soil science.
  • Focus on Tropical Agriculture and Rural Development
Searching Help | Setting up Alerts
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Web of Science 1965-to date Reasons to Use:The unique Cited Reference search allows you to find all the papers that have cited a specific author or article. Easy way to follow the experts to find recent developments, responses, and even retractions.
Searching Help | Setting up Alerts
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. License Restricted (About) / Open to everyone. Free

Agronomy and Crop Databases

See also information on specific crops

Open to everyone. Agronomic Links Across the Globe  
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Crop Protection Compendium An encyclopaedic, mixed media tool that brings together a wide range of different types of science-based information on all aspects of crop protection. It encompasses not only pests, diseases and weeds and their natural enemies, but also the crops that are their hosts and the countries where they occur.
Open to everyone. CropMAP(Purdue) CropMAP is a site-specific retrieval system to identify current and alternative crops. Each crop is linked to detailed information available in our databases and enriched by extension information.
Open to everyone. New Crops This database is an information-rich site related to crop plants, including the searchable database, CropSearch. It is a project of the Purdue University Center for New Crops and Plant Products and is associated with the New Crop Diversification project and the Jefferson Institute.
Open to everyone. North Central Crop Evaluation Committee Agricultural crop variety testing information from several states
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. License Restricted (About) / Open to everyone. Free

 

Images