Consumer Research
Consumers and Public Policy
Economics
Institute for Research on Poverty
Access to the full text of reports and publications. Links to poverty-related resources.
Resources for Economists on the Internet
Sponsored by the American Economic Association, it lists sites of interest to academic and practicing economists, and those interested in economics.
General Social Sciences
Social Science Gateways on the Net
A mega site of social sciences links provided by the University of California, San Diego.
Social Science Information Gateway (SOSIG)
SOSIG "aims to provide a trusted source of selected, high quality Internet information for researchers and practitioners in the social sciences, business and law. It is part of the UK Resource Discovery Network." Hosted at the University of Bristol.
Housing/Communities
Housing Policy Debate
"This quarterly [full text] journal provides insightful discussion and original research on a broad range of housing and community development issues." Published by the Fannie Mae Foundation.
Joint Center for Housing Studies
Harvard University's center for information and research on housing in the United States. "Analyzes the dynamic relationships between housing markets and economic, demographic, and social trends."
National Low Income Housing Coalition: Advocates' Guide
Provides an extensive array of links to vital services and agencies...and serves as a channel to further sources of aid, guidance, and advocacy.
Social and Public Policy
Almanac of Policy Issues: Social Welfare
" A Project of Policy News magazine....The Almanac of Policy Issues provides comprehensive links and background information on major US public policy issues."
Center on Budget and Policy Priorities.
Analyses of research findings on current fiscal policy issues affecting low- and moderate-income families. Among the broad topics covered are federal tax/budget policies, state and federal welfare programs, social security reform, low-income housing, health care, food assistance, labor market policies and immigration.
CQ Researcher ![]()
Weekly indepth reports that cover the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
ResourceShelf's DocuTicker
"A daily update of new reports from government agencies, ngo's, think tanks, and other groups." Began June 2004 and has searchable archives.
Public Agenda Online
Issue Guides provide facts and figures, different perspectives and analysis of public attitudes from surveys conducted by Public Agenda and by other respected polling and news organizations.
Public Policy Issues and Groups ![]()
Web site dedicated to monitoring the breadth of public policy issues; From Abortion to Youth Suicide.
Urban Institute
News, research reports and issue analysis by the Urban Institute, a nonpartisan economic and social policy research organization. Examples of topics included are: adolescents and youth development, children, cities and metropolitan regions, elderly, families/parenting, housing, and welfare reform and safety net issues.
International Issues
International Consumer Resources
List of International consumer resources and contact information.
International and Geopolitical Research Resources
![]()
Information about countries such as statistics, maps, current political updates, documents, reports, and a variety of international demographic data.
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
Best known for its publications and its statistics, its work covers economic and social issues from macroeconomics, to trade, education, development and science and innovation.
Virtual Library on Microcredit
Repository of information on alternative, non-conventional financial systems and microfinance/microcredit issues. Microcredit is the extension of small loans to entrepreneurs too poor to qualify for traditional bank loans. In developing countries especially, microcredit enables very poor people to engage in self-employment projects that generate income.
Consumer Behavior
Consumer Satisfaction/Preferences
American Consumer Satifaction Index (ASCI)
“Established in 1994, the ACSI is a uniform and independent measure of household consumption experience.”
Improving Your Measurement of Customer Satisfaction: A Guide to Creating, Conducting, Analyzing, and Reporting Customer Satisfaction Measurement Programs / by Terry G. Vavra.
Consumer Spending Research
Family Economic Security - Consumer Spending Research ![]()
Steenbock Library/UW Cooperative Extension site covering a variety of government resources on consumer expenditures.
Consumer Expenditure Surveys
Commonly requested Consumer Expenditure Survey (CE) data tables are available on this web site.
Holiday Watch
Information and statistics about trends in holiday shopping back to 1999. From the International Council of Shopping Centers.
Inflation Conversion Factors
From 1800 to the present is covered with pdf and excel data. Site maintained by Dr. Robert Sahr of Oregon State University.
Money 2000 Research
Reports on client financial behavior from Rutgers Cooperative Extension.
Who's Buying Apparel / by the New Strategist editors (2005)
Spree : a cultural history of shopping / Pamela Klaffke.
Why we buy: the science of shopping / Paco Underhill.
Social Psychology
eHRAF Collection of Ethnography
Cross-cultural database that contains over 350,000 pages of information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Produced by Human Relations Area Files, Inc. (HRAF) at Yale University.
Social Psychology Network
Largest social psychology database on the Internet. In these pages, you'll find more than 5,000 links related to psychology.
Trends/Polls
AC Nielsen Trends & Ratings
Consumer survey information on many topics. Areas covered include consumer loyalty, market dynamics and retail performance.
Gallup Organization
Provides market research and consulting services for Fortune 500 clients. It also publishes America's leading barometer of public opinion, the Gallup Poll.
Harris Poll
Polls "measure, and trend, the knowledge, opinions, behaviors and motivation of the general public." A wide variety of subjects are covered including politics, the economy, healthcare, foreign affairs, science and technology, and lifestyles.
Polling 101
Designed for the novice, POLLING 101 provides definitions, examples, and explanations that serve to introduce interested students to the field of public opinion research. From the Roper Center.
Polling the Nations ![]()
Compilation of questions and responses from more than 14,000 national, state, local and special surveys in the U.S. and more than 80 other countries.
TrendWatching.com Newsletter
Free monthly newsletter "brings you the latest and greatest in consumer trends and related new business ideas."
World consumer lifestyles databook : key trends
Consumers and the Market
Advertising
AdAge.com
Online version of Advertising Age Magazine. Covers marketing, advertising, and media news. Some content only available with subscription.
Ad Council
Leading producer of public service advertisements (PSAs) since 1942, the Ad Council has been addressing critical social issues for generations of Americans.
Advertising Resources ![]()
Excellent compilation of advertising web sites from the U of Iowa Dept of Communication Studies.
Advertising World ![]()
Extensive links on topics related to advertising from the University of Texas at Austin.
- - History
Ad*Access
Presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. From Duke University.
Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850 - 1920
Over 9,000 images, with database information, relating to the early history of advertising in the United States. From Duke University.
Marketing in the Modern Era: Trade Catalogs and the Rise of 19th-Century American Advertising
An exhibit covering major trends with some images online. Also includes bibliography. From the Harvard Business School's Baker Library.
Medicine and Madison Avenue
Explores the complex relationships between modern medicine and modern advertising with images and database information for approximately 600 health-related advertisements printed in newspapers and magazines. From Duke Univeristy.
Trade Card Place
For all who are interested in Victorian Trade Cards used to advertise American goods and services during the late 1800s. "Victorian Scrapbook" section contains hundreds of images.
A century of American icons : 100 products and slogans from the 20th century consumer culture / edited by Mary Cross.
Ecommerce
Digital Commerce Center
Contains research and resources in the areas of electronic commerce, Internet advertising, digital asset management, media convergence, organizational knowledge, small business advice and corporate education.
Marketing
ClickZ Network ![]()
News, analysis and opinion for the internet marketer.
MarketingPower.com ![]()
From the American Marketing Association, the "Topics of Interest" link includes advertising, consumer marketing, internet marketing and more. Site also has information on best practices as well as articles & reports.
Selling Power
Site covers professional selling skills, motivation and sales management know-how in the business- to-business environment.
World consumer lifestyles databook : key trends
Consumer Research Journals
Use
to find full text (
) or campus print location.
= License Restricted (About)
= FindIt
= open to everyone
Advancing the Consumer Interest
Consumer Reports
Consumers' Research Magazine
FDA Consumer
Family and Consumer Sciences Research Journal (canceled 2003)
Forum for Family and Consumer Issues ![]()
International Journal of Consumer Studies
Journal of Consumer Affairs
Journal of Consumer Policy
Journal of Consumer Psychology
Journal of Consumer Research
Journal of Consumer Satisfaction, Dissatisfaction and Complaining Behavior
Journal of Consumer Studies and Home Economics (ceased 2000)
Journal of Extension
Journal of Family & Consumer Sciences
Journal of Family and Consumer Sciences Education ![]()
Research in consumer behavior
Journal Citation Reports (JCR) ![]()
Provides a means of determining the relative importance of scholarly and technical journals within their subject disciplines by using a variety of citation and article counts attributed to each journal. Journals are evaluated and ranked according to their impact factor (how often the journal is cited), immediacy index (how quickly an article is cited), and other criteria.
Ulrich's Periodical Directory ![]()
![]()
Provides detailed information on serials published throughout the world. Includes reviews of serials and whether or not they are refered.
History of Consumerism
Domestic Technology
History of domestic technology and its impact on gender relations in the home (ca 1850 - 1990).
Promises, Promises: the Allure of Household Appliances in the 1920s
Sears Archives
Information about the history of Sears and the Sears Catalog including ways to locate old copies.
Check MadCat for other titles.
Consumer society in American history : a reader / edited, with an introduction and bibliographic essay, by Lawrence B. Glickman.
Consumerism in World History: The Global Transformation of Desire / Peter N. Stearns
Financing the American dream : a cultural history of consumer credit / Lendol Calder.
I'll buy that! : 50 small wonders and big deals that revolutionized the lives of consumers : a 50-year retrospective / by the editors of Consumer reports.
The morality of spending : attitudes toward the consumer society in America, 1875-1940 / Daniel Horowitz.
Satisfaction guaranteed : the making of the American mass market / Susan Strasser.
History of Human Ecology
Core Historical Literature of Agriculture
"… a core electronic collection of agricultural texts published between the early nineteenth century and the middle to late twentieth century." Full-text coverage includes human ecology-related subjects.
Feeding America: The Historic American Cookbook Project
Online collection of some of the most influential and important American cookbooks from the 19th and early 20th century. From Michigan State University Library and the MSU Museum.
From Domesticity to Modernity: What was Home Economics?
"At the turn of the 20th century, home economics was a critical pathway into higher education for American women, largely associated with co-educational land grant institutions such as Cornell. This online exhibition emphasizes how home economics at Cornell University, served as a critical bridge from domesticity in the 19th century to modernity in the 20th century."
The Hook and the Book: The Emergence of Crochet and Knitting in American Popular Culture, 1840-1876
HEARTH (Home Economics Archive)
"Core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines. Titles published between 1850 and 1950 were selected and ranked by teams of scholars for their great historical importance."
Home Economics to Human Ecology: A Centennial History at the University of Wisconsin - Madison
"A digital collection of photographs and ephemera illustrating aspects of the past 100 years at the School of Human Ecology at the University of Wisconsin - Madison. In addition, the text section is a digital copy of The Challenge of Constantly Changing Times: From Home Economics at the University of Wisconsin - Madison, 1903-2003 "
Human Ecology Historical Photographs
Provides a database of selected images and information from the records of the Cornell College of Home Economics. The photographs are organized by general subjects and are searchable by keyword.
Making of a Homemaker, Smithsonian Institution Libraries
Playing House: Homemaking for Children
University of Wisconsin Digital Collection of historical homemaking manuals for children.
"These books provide instruction on a wide range of topics including
cooking, cleaning, laundry, household management and occupational training for young maids. Through them, young
girls could learn among other things, the proper way to make a bed, polish the silver, decorate a table, and
prepare and serve a nice meal."
This page available at http://steenbock.library.wisc.edu/subjectguide/
Please send comments about this page to:
