Subject Guides: Consumer Science >> Consumer Education


Consumer Education

= book government resource = government resourceone of the best sites= one of the best

Curriculum Guides/Lesson Plans - also see educational materials under Consumer Products and Services

Collections (multiple topics)

AAFCS Directory of Online Resources for Classroom Teachers
Resources corresponding to the 16 National Teaching Standards in the discipline. From the American Association of Family and Consumer Sciences.

GEM: the Gateway for Educational Materials

Mid-continent Research for Education and Learning (McREL) Lesson Plan Library

New Horizons for Learning
Includes pedogogic resources such as articles on teaching & learning strategies and lifelong learning.

UW Madison CIMC's Finding Lesson Plans, Curriculum Guides, and Standards

Economics

Econ Ed Link
Lesson plans, data, links and more for educators from the National Council on Economic Education.

Economics Classroom
"Provides eight video workshops and associated print and web site information intended to assist high school teachers in developing strategies to effectively teach the fundamentals of economics and personal finance. This site also provides a number of classroom-tested lesson plans and links to a variety of useful additional resources."

Lesson Plans for Economics
Resources from Mid-continent Research for Education and Learning (McREL).

Wall Street Journal Classroom Edition
"Award-winning educational program developed by the publishers of the world's premier business newspaper, and devoted to preparing young people for the decisions that will shape their economic future."

Financial Institutions

Family Economic Security - Financial Institutions and Services one of the best sites
Steenbock Library/UW Cooperative Extension site covering the US banking system and basic financial services.

Helping People in Your Community Understand Basic Financial Services government resourceone of the best sites
From the US Department of Treasury this site for community educators includes materials designed for audiences without accounts at financial institutions or who need basic information about how to use accounts. In English and Spanish.

FDIC: Money Smart government resourceone of the best sites
Online adult education tutorial covering basic financial topics. Includes description of deposit and credit services offered by banks, choosing and maintaining a checking account, the mechanics of budgeting, the importance of saving, and how to obtain and use credit effectively. From Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC).

Education and Marketing Materials: Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) one of the best sites
Direct Deposit and EFT promotional materials from Dept. of the Treasury, Financial Management Service.

General Consumer Education

LifeSmarts
A flexible classroom or group activity that uses team competition to help teens (9th - 12th grade) become smart and responsible consumers. Covers personal finance, health, safety, the environment, technology, and consumer rights and responsibilities. A national competition is held each spring. Operated by the National Consumers League, this site includes teaching resources for coaches.

Consumer Jungle
Free consumer education curriculum for high school educators that includes interactive online activities and printable classroom handouts. Teacher resouces include unit and activity plans, student learning objectives, and applicable national standards.

Media Awareness Network
Collection of media education and Internet literacy resources from this Canadian non-profit organization

Middle School Consumer Action Scavenger Hunt government resource
From the Federal Consumer Information Center.

Return to Top of Page

Nutrition & Wellness

American Dietitic Association Food and Nutrition Information

Food and Nutrition Resources for Teachers government resource
From the USDA.

Food Safety & Security
Steenbock Library Subject Guide to a wide variety of web resources.

Government Food Safety Information government resource
Lesson plans and educational quizzes on food safety.

Healthy Body Calculator
Determine your healthy weight range, body mass index and nutritional intake facts at this site developed by a registered dietitian.

Nutrition Curriculum Tools
Steenbock Library/UW Cooperative Extension collection of nutrition sites.

Science and Our Food Supply: Investigating Food Safety From Farm to Table
Curriculum kit for middle level or high school classroom sponsored jointly by the National Science Teachers Association and the Food and Drug Administration.

Sports & Nutrition
From University of Illinois Extension. Also en Español.

Personal Finance

American Savings Education Council Tools and Resources one of the best sites
Includes worksheets, calculators, brochures and tools for youth.

C.A.R.E. Credit Abuse Resistance Education Program

Economics Classroom
"Provides eight video workshops and associated print and web site information intended to assist high school teachers in developing strategies to effectively teach the fundamentals of economics and personal finance. This site also provides a number of classroom-tested lesson plans and links to a variety of useful additional resources."

Family Economic Security - Family Finances - Instructional Sites one of the best sites
Steenbock Library/UW Cooperative Extension site to teach family finances.

Family Economic Security - Kids' Money one of the best sites
Steenbock Library/UW Cooperative Extension site to help teach children about money.

Family Financial Literacy Project one of the best sites
Ready-to-teach family finance curriculum and training program from Montana State University.

FDIC Money Smartgovernment resourceone of the best sites
"A training program to help adults outside the financial mainstream enhance their money skills and create positive banking relationships." From the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation.

For Students and Teachers government resource
Students and teachers can learn more about saving and investing through these resources from the US Securities and Exchange Commission.

Investing in Your Future (home study course) one of the best sites
11-unit home study course was developed by the Rutgers Cooperative Extension system for beginning investors with small dollar amounts to invest at any one time.

Jump$tart Coalition Clearinghouse
Collection of information on resources for teaching personal financial literacy. Ordering information is included, but only some content is directly available. Includes references to over 150 free resources.

Life Skills: Personal Financial Skills one of the best sites
Collection of resources on credit, consumer rights, money management, and dealing with job loss and income drops.

My Money.gov
From the U.S. Financial Literacy and Education Commission

NEFE High School Financial Planning Program® Web Portal one of the best sites
The National Endowment for Financial Education offers free educational materials for high school students, a teacher guide and this complementary web site supporting the program.

National Best Practices Guidelines For Personal Finance Education Materials
From the Jump$tart Coalition for Personal Financial Literacy.

National Endowment for Financial Education

66 Ways to Save Money
Contains comparison shopping information across 28 product categories with links to relevant government websites for further information. This is published by the Consumer Literacy Consortium, comprised of federal and state government agencies, consumer groups, business organizations, and educational institutions. Also 66 Formas de ahorrar dinero (español).

TAXinteractive one of the best sites
A tutorial from the IRS to educate teenagers about the U.S. tax system, the effect of taxes on our day-to-day lives, and new electronic ways to file tax returns.

Return to Top of Page

Standards

National Standards for Family and Consumer Sciences Education
National standards developed by the National Association of State Administrators for Family and Consumer Sciences (NASAFACS) in partnership with the Vocational-Technical Education Consortium of States (VTECS). American Association of Family and Consumer Sciences (AAFCS)

Mid-continent Research for Education and Learning (McREL)
Wide variety of education research topics including assessment, curriculum and standards

Wisconsin Model Academic Standards for Family & Consumer Education
All standards, including the above are available at Wisconsin Model Academic Standards.

Webquests

Webquest Portal
Searchable database of webquests for all ages and topics. Use the Curriculum x Grade Level Matrix and select "Life skills / Career" for relevant titles. From San Diego State University.

Home Buying

Hunger Webquest

Renting Your First Apartment

Using the Internet to Promote Inquiry-based Learning

The Webquest Page

Return to Top of Page

Financial Counseling

Family Economic Security - Helping People with Money Issues
Steenbock Library/UW Cooperative Extension site includes tips on communication, listening and change.

Credit, Debt and Bankruptcy

American Bankruptcy Institute

Annual Credit Report Request Service

Bankruptcy: Maxed out in American

Bankruptcy Statistics (U.S. Courts)

C.A.R.E. Credit Abuse Resistance Education Program

Credit Reporting Agencies
Credit Scores may be purchased from one of these major credit reporting agencies

Credit Score, Reports, and Getting Ahead in America

Credit (Federal Trade Commission)

DebtAdvice.org

My Money.gov
From the U.S. Financial Literacy and Education Commission

Return to Top of Page

Higher Education Programs

Accredited Family and Consumer Sciences Programs
Hint: Links are near the bottom. From the American Association of Family and Consumer Sciences Council for Accreditation.

Certified in Family and Consumer Sciences (CFCS)
Certification program from the American Association of Family and Consumer Sciences

Distance Learning Program
Credit courses available at a distance. From the American Association of Family and Consumer Sciences

Gradschools.com
Comprehensive list of grad schools for family and consumer sciences in the U.S.

Great Plains Interactive Distance Education Alliance
A collaborative to deliver distance education courses for teacher licensure/certification in FCS.

Wisconsin Association of Family and Consumer Sciences Undergraduate Scholarship

College - U.S. News and World Report
Choosing the right school, application, money, etc.

Graduate School Rankings - U.S. News and World Report
In addition to rankings of graduate programs, a detailed school directory, search and comparison tools, articles, and more.

Distance Education: A Consumer's Guide
Basic tips from the Western Cooperative for Educational Telecommunications

Return to Top of Page


This page available at http://steenbock.library.wisc.edu/subjectguide/

Please send comments about this page to:

Last updated: November 10, 2006
About Us | Contact Us | ©2005 Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System

Steenbock Memorial Library is the primary resource library for the University of Wisconsin-Madison's College of Agricultural and Life Sciences, School of Human Ecology, School of Veterinary Medicine and UW Extension, Cooperative Extension.