Subject Guides: Consumer Science


Consumer science is the study of providing for the well-being of individuals and households in the context of how they are influenced by marketplace institutions and communities. Consumer science draws from fields such as economics, sociology, psychology, law, and business. Consumer behavior, household finance, and consumer protection are major areas of consumer science.1

Journal & Research Databases

Broad Coverage
Business/Retailing
Consumer Behavior
Education
Health/Medical
Law
Area & International Studies
Newspapers and Popular Magazines

Broad Databases Covering Social Sciences

Academic Search Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Many academic areas including business, social sciences, and humanities. More than 3000 journals plus New York Times and Wall Street Journal. Journals included usually cover core literature for each discipline.

Business Library's Country Information Research Guide Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. free version of database
Overviews of countries including business and economics, political, and social background information.

Current Contents Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Rapid updates mean leading scholarly journals are included within days of publication. Covers all disiplines in over 7500 international journals.

ProQuest Digital Dissertations Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
References for doctoral dissertations in all subject areas completed at U.S. accredited institutions. Some masters theses and foreign language dissertations are also included. Full text (PDF files) of UW-Madison dissertations from 1997 forward are available.

Proquest Research Library Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Mix of more than 2000 general interest and academic journals that cover the arts, business, education, health, humanities, psychology, sciences, and the social sciences

 Consumer Behavior

Agricola Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Indexes 2,500 journals, as well as USDA publications, Extension service documents and more. Its subject matter covers all aspects of agriculture including food safety, food preferences, nutrition, and consumer needs as they relate to agriculture. There is also a free version free version of database from the National Agriculture Library.

Family & Society Studies Worldwide Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Over 1800 journals, books, chapters, newsletters, government documents, and dissertations covering the educational, medical, psychological and sociological aspects of family literature.

PsycINFO Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Produced by the American Psychological Association, it contains citations and abstracts of the world's literature in psychology and related subjects from more than 1300 journal titles from more than 50 countries.

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service International) Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Covers public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general and indexes journal articles, books, government documents, and a variety of other reports.

Social Science Full Text Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Over 415 key periodicals in the fields of economics, politics and foreign affairs, public administration, public health, sociology, criminology, environmental and urban studies, psychology and anthropology.

Social Work Abstracts Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
It contains citations and abstracts to articles from more than 450 journals in the areas of the social work profession, theory and practice, areas of service, social issues, and social problems.

Sociological Abstracts Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
This database indexes and abstracts 2,000 worldwide journals in sociology.

Web of Knowledge - Social Science Citation Index Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Unique resource to search by cited authors and to find articles sharing one or more cited reference. It indexes more than 8,000 peer-reviewed journals, providing complete bibliographic data and author abstracts.

more...

Return to Top of Page

Health/Medical

Health Source: Consumer Edition Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Provides full text since 1990 from nearly 280 periodicals covering nutrition, exercise, medical self-care, drugs and alcohol, and much more.

Health and Wellness Reference Center Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Provides health information for nursing and allied health students, as well as consumer health research. It combines indexing of periodicals, reference books, and pamphlets.

MEDLINE Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Major source for clinical medical information covering all aspects of biomedicine, including the allied health fields; biological and physical sciences; and humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. PubMed free version of database is the free search interface for the MEDLINE database.

more...

Law

Index to Legal Periodicals Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Covers all areas of law from the United States and Commonwealth countries and indexes legal periodicals, court decisions, legislation and more.

LEXIS/NEXIS Academic Universe Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Composed of approximately 5,000 legal, news, reference, and business sources, most full text.

more...

Business/Retailing/Economics

ABI Inform Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Indexes more than 1300 scholarly and business trade periodicals. Excellent source of information on management and business including consumer behavior.

Business & Industry Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Information on public and private companies, industries, products, new technologies, market size, and trends from over 900 leading trade and business publications.

Business Source Elite Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Covers many areas of business including management, economics, finance, banking and accounting. More than 900 scholarly and popular business magazines are included.

Corporate Affiliations Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Provides corporate linkage information on more than 170,000 of the most prominent parent companies and their affiliates, subsidiaries and divisions.

Econlit Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
More than 300 scholarly English language periodicals and books in the field of economics.

Thomson Research Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Integrated online research tool that combines detailed business financial and management information with more than 6 million source documents.

more...

Return to Top of Page

Education

ERIC Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Note on the status of ERIC. Oldest and largest education-related database. It covers journal articles and ERIC Documents. Most ERIC Documents are available in the CIMC microfiche collection. Most from 1993 to the present are also available in PDF format via the links in ERIC and EDRS (http://www.edrs.com). Note: there is also a free version of ERIC. free version of database

Education Full-text Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
More current than ERIC, often having full text available just a month or two after the print journal issues are published. Not all articles are available full text within the database.

Professional Development Collection Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Provides full text or indexing for journals in education. Over 350 of the included titles are peer reviewed.

Newspapers and Popular Magazines

Alternative Press Index Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Indexes approximately 300 alternative, radical, and left publications that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change. Ninety per cent of the publications indexed in API are unique; they are not covered in more mainstream indexes.

ProQuest Newspapers Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
More than 500 national, international and Wisconsin newspapers, plus other news sources. Includes Milwaukee Journal/Sentinel.

LEXIS/NEXIS Academic Universe Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Approximately 5,000 legal, news, reference, and business sources including news sources, magazines, wire services, newsletters, trade journals, company and industry analyst reports, and broadcast transcripts. Includes Wisconsin State Journal, Capital Times and Milwaukee Journal/Sentinel.

Readers' Guide Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
240 general interest periodicals covering news and current events in politics, business, science, education, religion, the arts, foreign affairs, sports and hobbies, fashion, food and cooking, and health and nutrition.

Left Index Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Provides indexing to "the diversity of literature on the left, with a primary emphasis on politically and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside the academy and a secondary emphasis on significant but little known sources of news and ideas." Topics covered include politics, economics, the labor movement, ecology and environment, women's studies, race and ethnicity, social and cultural theory, sociology, art and aesthetics, philosophy, history, education, law, and globalization.

more...

Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.= License Restricted (About) = open to everyone Return to Top of Page

Data Resources

Applied Population Laboratory
Provides consultation and training as well as researching current demographic and economic topics.

WisStat
Online demographic data server for Wisconsin.

Data and Program Library Service
Central repository of data collections used by the social science research community at the UW-Madison.

Internet Crossroads in Social Science Data Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Over 700 annotated links to data-related resources on the Internet.
iPOLL Databank Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Full-text, question-level retrieval system for United States public opinion back to 1935 from the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research.
DPLS Online Data Archive
Small subset of the DPLS data collection made publicly available for direct web download.
DPLS Catalog

Center for Demography and Ecology Library
Specialized collection in population studies with emphasis on particular areas in accordance with the priorities and research interests of Center faculty and staff.

CDECAT
To locate data files available at CDE.
Data Resources at CDE Information Services
Detailed descriptions of data available at CDE.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Provides access to an immense archive of social science data for research and instruction. Housed at the University of Michigan.

Data on the Net
Numeric social science statistical data, data catalogs, data libraries, social science gateways, addresses and more.

Return to Top of Page

Books and Background Reading

Seach for books and backround reading in MadCat - library Catalog. More about Madcat
Useful subject terms in the area of Consumer Science are:

  • Consumer advertising
  • Consumer attitudes
  • Consumer behavior
  • Consumer complaints
  • Consumer confidence
  • Consumer credit
  • Consumer debt
  • Consumer demand
  • Consumer education
  • Consumer goods
  • Consumer price index
  • Consumer products
  • Consumer protection
  • Consumer research
  • Consumer satisfaction
  • Consumer spending
  • Consumers preferences

WorldCat Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Catalog of more than 49 million books, serials, audiovisuals and more owned by over 9,000 OCLC member libraries around the world, including UW-Madison and the Library of Congress. One of its many uses is the ability to make online interlibrary loan requests for books.

netLibrary Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. open to everyone
Online books covering many topics. Here's a sampling of recent titles:

Return to Top of Page


Statistics and Facts

General Reference

Xreferplus
An online collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, statistical sources, biographical tools, thesauri, books of quotations, image collections, and subject-specific titles covering everything from art to technology.

General Statistical Sources

Fedstats government resource
" More than 70 agencies in the United States Federal Government produce statistics of interest to the public. The Federal Interagency Council on Statistical Policy maintains this site to provide easy access to the full range of statistics and information produced by these agencies for public use."

NationMaster.com | StateMaster.com
Statistics from a variety of well cited government sources and presented in an easy-to-use and interesting graphical format. Includes an encyclopedia, statistics, maps and country information.

Steenbock Library's Statistical Sources Subject Guide one of the best sites

Statistical Abstract of the United States government resource one of the best sites
" A collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Selected international data are also included. The Abstract is also your guide to sources of other data from the Census Bureau, other Federal agencies, and private organizations."

Statistical Resources on the Web: Sociology one of the best sites
Compiled by the University of Michigan Documents Center

WisStat one of the best sites
Contains thousands of demographic and economic variables for the state of Wisconsin, its counties and smaller communitites.

Demographic and Census Data

American Fact Finder government resource one of the best sites
"… provide[s] users with the capability to browse, search, and map data from many US Census Bureau sources." Also provides access to the full text of may census bureau reports (click "Census Bureau Products").

Community Information by Zip Code
Includes links to information by zip code on people and households, education, health, the environment, business, and politics. Created by a librarian at California State University Northridge.

Demographic Internet Resources
From the UW-Madison Center for Demography and Ecology. Also see other data resources.

Madison and Dane County Business Information
From the UW Madison Business Library.

Population and Demography Information one of the best sites
A gateway to a wide range of population and demography information on the Web from the Population Research Institute at Pennsylvania State University.

Return to Top of Page

Economic Indicators

Bureau of Labor Statistics – Consumer Price Index government resource one of the best sites
The Consumer Price Index (CPI) is a measure of the average change over time in the prices paid by urban consumers for a market basket of consumer goods and services.

Economics Statistics Briefing Room government resource
Federal statistics on production, employment, income, trade, money, and prices.

Social Statistics Briefing Room government resource
Data on crime, demographics, education and health.

SourceOECD Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Organisation for Economic Co-operation collection of books, periodicals and statistical databases.

Financial Institutions

Historical Statistics on Banking
Aggregate statistical information on the banking industry beginning in 1934 collected by the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation.

Statistics on Depository Institutions
Twenty-four predefined financial information reports plus a feature for building custom reports on FDIC-insured institutions.

Retail and Marketing

ClickZ Stats one of the best sites
Trends and statistics on Web marketing with up-to-date news briefs on many subjects, as well as archived articles.

Scope USA (Shopping Mall Statistics)
From the International Council of Shopping Centers

World Consumer Markets Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.one of the best sites

International Agencies

United Nations
World Bank
World Health Organization
International Statistical Agencies - Bureau of the Census

Return to Top of Page

Jobs and Funding

College of Letters and Science/School of Human Ecology Career Services one of the best sites
Career advising, workshops and recruitment information and job postings.

Family and Consumer Sciences Career Connection
From the American Association of Family and Consumer Sciences.

Grants Information Centerone of the best sites
Memorial Library site with extensive information on grants.

Job Hunting on the Internet one of the best sites
Steenbock Library overview of tools and techniques for conducting an online job search.

RSP (Reference Service Press) Funding
Contains up-to-date information on thousands of financial aid programs including fellowships, loans, grants and awards.

Career Collection one of the best sites
College Library guide to books, e-books, sample MadCat book searches, library databases, and web sites.

Return to Top of Page


People, Places and Organizations

Professional Associations

Student Associations

Return to Top of Page


1 From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Consumer_science This page available at http://steenbock.library.wisc.edu/subjectguide/consumersci.htm

Please send comments about this page to: Jean Ruenger-Hanson


Last updated: November 13, 2007
About Us | Contact Us | ©2005 Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System

Steenbock Memorial Library is the primary resource library for the University of Wisconsin-Madison's College of Agricultural and Life Sciences, School of Human Ecology, School of Veterinary Medicine and UW Extension, Cooperative Extension.