Engineering / Technical
Personal Database Management Tool: RefWorks (About) ![]()
| Applied Science (1983-) | Covers more than 400 English language scholarly and trade journals in the general fields of engineering, computers, chemistry, applied mathematics, energy, and a wide variety of applied sciences | ||
| ASM Handbooks Online | Searchable and fulltext contents for the 20 volume ASM handbook series. Has practical data and information about the selection, processing, performance, and analysis of structural materials. Wendt tips on using. | ||
| Biotechnology and Bioengineering Abstracts(1982-) | Covers research, applications, regulatory developments and new patents. It surveys biotechnological aspects of medicine, pharmacy, agriculture, the environment and marine biology. | ||
| CAB
Abstracts (1972-) |
Covers agricultural engineering, forest products, biofuels, dairy science and technology, irrigation and drainage, postharvest, animal and plant science production, and soil science and fertilizer technology. One of the best! | ||
| Dissertation Database Options | Gets you to Current Research at UW-Madison as well as ProQuest Digital Dissertations 1861-. | ||
| Engineering
Village (1884-) |
Provides searchable access to multiple engineering databases through one interface. Databases include: Compendex (Engineering Index); INSPEC; ENGnetBASE, with over 160 handbooks; patents from the United States Patent and Trademark Office; esp@cenet, the European Patent Organisation database: Scirus, a comprehensive science-specific web search engine; and daily news feeds from LexisNexis on a broad spectrum of engineering topics. | ||
| Environmental
Engineering Abstracts (1990-) |
Topic coverage includes international literature pertaining to technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety and energy production. | ||
| FSTA: Food Science and Technology Abstracts (1969-) | Indexes journals, patents, standards, etc. in food technology. Includes fermentation and commodities technology, and food additives and engineering. | ||
| GrayLit Network (1960-) | Portal to technical report information (and full-text documents) generated through federally funded research and development projects. Pulls information from DOE, DTIC, EPA and NASA. | ||
| GEOBASE (geography) (1994-) | Provides citations and abstracts to the scholarly literature of human and physical geography, geology and ecology. | ||
| GeoRef (geology) (1785-) |
Supplies citations and abstracts to international earth sciences literature--including conferences, dissertations, guidebooks and maps. | ||
| NASA Technical Report Server | Provides
citations to NASA's technical
literature, journal articles,
and conference proceedings. Technical Reports Database Options |
||
| NTIS
Bibliographic Index (National
Technical Information Service)
(1983-) |
Topic coverage includes U.S. government agency-sponsored research in astronomy, biotechnology, energy, engineering, environment, and materials science. | ||
| Web
of Knowledge (1982-) |
Includes Science Citation Index. Can track important old papers to see who is currently citing them. | ||
Business / Economics
| Business and Industry (1994-) citations/fulltext | Business and trade journals from 190 countries. Has info on public and private companies, industries, products, new technologies, market size, and trends. | ||
| EconLIT(1969-) | Indexes and abstracts more than 300 scholarly periodicals and books in the field of economics. | ||
Natural Resources
| Biological Abstracts (1980-) | Topic coverage includes anatomy, bacteriology, biotechnology, clinical medicine, genetics, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, pharmacology, toxicology, virology, and zoology. | ||
| Ecology Abstracts (1982-) | Provides bibliographic access to approximately 350 research journals in ecology. | ||
| Environmental
Science & Pollution
Mgmt. (1981-) |
Topic coverage includes pollution, bacteriology, ecology, toxicology, environmental engineering, environmental biotechnology, waste management, and water resources. | ||
| Human Population & Natural Resource Management (1995-) | Topic coverage includes human population dynamics, population statistics, poplulation policy, ecotourism, sustainable living, sustainable consumption, environmental awareness and environmental education. | ||
| Water Resources Abstracts (1967-) | Provides access to international scientific and technical literature on water resource-related aspects of the physical, social, and life sciences. | ||
| Wildlife & Ecology
Studies (1935-) |
Indexes and abstracts literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians from journals, monographs, conference proceedings, government reports, dissertations, field studies, and surveys from US state agencies. | ||
Newspapers / Popular Magazines
| Academic Search (1984-) | Full text database of more than 3000 journals covering a broad range of material. | ||
| ProQuest Newspapers | Lists articles from 41 national and Wisconsin newspapers, and includes full text for most. | ||
| ProQuest Research Library (1988-) | Indexes more than 2,000 periodicals, and provides the full text of nearly 1,000 of them. |