Subject Guides: Biochemistry
General Biochemistry Instruction
- UW-Madison Biochemistry Department
Describes the history and development of the department, faculty interests, research facilities, alumni and student profiles, course offerings and other information about the Biochemistry program and department.
- The Biology Project: Biochemistry
An online interactive resource for learning biochemistry. Contains problem sets and tutorials. Developed by the University of Arizona.
- Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology
Searchable index with definitions of terms.
- Entrez (NCBI) Bookshelf
Searchable fulltext biomedical books including 2002 Biochemistry by Berg, Jeremy M.; Tymoczko, John L.; and Stryer, Lubert.
- Medical Biochemistry Page
Searchable, browsable biochemistry topics. From Dr. Michael W. King, IU School of Medicine.
- MIT Open Courseware
See Chemistry and Biology courses.
- An On-Line Biology Book
Outlines of freshman-level biology course. Includes many excellent images and illustrations.
- WebPath: The Internet Pathology Laboratory
Over 1900 images with text, tutorials, lab exercises, and examination items from the Department of Pathology at the University of Utah. Includes a "Case of the Week" contest to diagnose.
General Biochemistry Gateways
- BUBL Link: Biochemistry and molecular biology
Excellent resource which has catalog of selected Internet sites listed by subject. Links to journals, learning resources, essays, universities, biochemical societies, and commercial services.
Arabidopsis
- The Arabidopsis Information Resource (TAIR)
Major site funded by NSF. Provides genomic and related data about Arabidopsis, sequence analysis tools, genetic maps, international AGI sequencing efforts, and newsgroups. Major site funded by NSF. Provides genomic and related data about Arabidopsis, sequence analysis tools, genetic maps, international AGI sequencing efforts, and newsgroups.
- Arabidopsis Principal Investigators
List of links to web pages of Arabidopsis researchers.
- Yanofsky Lab: Flower development
Explanations and images of Arabidopsis. Links to other related informational sites.
- Arabidopsis Genome Analysis
Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory page with links to maps, articles and sequencing.
Biotechnology
- Human/Mouse Homology Relationships
Major site from National Center for Biotechnology Information. Ability to select homology map of human or mouse chromosomes.
- Metals in Biology
Developed by Center for Metalloenzyme Studies. Includes many bioinorganic links.
Nematodes
- USDA Nematology Lab Home Page
Provides basic information about Nematodes, links to nematode journal articles, and a description of the USDA Nematode collection.
Proteins
- ExPASy SWISS-PROT and TrEMBL
Curated protein sequence database which provides annotations which include protein function, domains structure, post-translational modifications, variants, and more.
- BioTech: An Introduction to Proteins
Basic information on proteins with links to protein educational sites. Provided by Indiana Institute for Molecular and Cellular Biology.
- 3 Proteins
Diagrams of amino acids with link to Amino Acid Repository. Links to related MIT sites.
- PDB WWW Home Page
Protein Data Bank from Brookhaven National Laboratory is an archive of experimentally determined three-dimensional structures of biological macromolecules. Entries are loaded weekly.
- The PROMISE Database home page
The Prosthetic groups and Metal Ions in Protein Active Sites Database
Virology
- The Big Picture Book of Viruses
Catalog of virus pictures on the web. Viruses are searchable by individual name, family name, genome type, host, and infectious disease. Links to numerous Virology web resources and online Virology courses. Maintained by Garry Lab at Tulane University.
- Institute for Molecular Virology
Features a virus of the month, which includes image, news, medical information, pathogenesis, epidemiology and more. Excellent distance learning tutorials and access to multimedia library. University of Wisconsin, Institute for Molecular Virology.
Vitamins
- Vitamins and Coenzymes
Explanations and chemical structures of vitamins and vitamin deficiencies and resultant diseases with links to more information on the specific disease. Also information on coenzymes.