 |
Analytical Abstracts 1980-date, updated monthly |
Analytical Abstracts database indexes 1,100 international journals each year, in addition to books, conference proceedings, standards, and technical reports in more than 20 languages. The subject matter includes analysis, biochemistry, chemicals, energy, industry, pharmaceuticals, science and technology. All citations include abstracts. |
 |
Beilstein/Gmelin Crossfire: Organic and Inorganic/Organometallic Chemistry 1771 - to date (Beilstein is updated quarterly; Gmelin is updated semiannually) |
NOTE: Although access is available to licensed UW users, if you are not in a campus library you will need additional Remote Access and client distibution information.
Beilstein (organic chemistry) and Gmelin (inorganic/organometallic chemistry) are separate databases searchable with the Crossfire interface. Select the appropriate database before beginning a search (note that some compounds are found in both). Both databases document the preparations, reactions and properties of chemical substances and are organized around the data for individual compounds. They are searchable in multiple ways; including chemical structure, formula, physical property parameters, chemical reaction, as well as bibliographic data. Beilstein contains a module (Autonom) that generates systematic chemical names for organic compounds from structures drawn by the user. Beilstein's content also includes pharmacological, ecotoxicological and bioactivity data.
|
 |
Biological Abstracts 1969-date, updated quarterly |
Largest life sciences database, indexing 9600 journals. All citations include abstracts. Biochemistry is one of the subjects indexed. |
 |
Biological Abstracts: RRM (Reports, Reviews, Meetings) 1969 - to date (updated quarterly) |
Contains citations to more than 2 million international life science meetings, symposia, and workshop papers; review articles; books; book chapters; and patents. Abstracts are available only for book citations. |
 |
Scifinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts) 1907 - to date (updated weekly) |
NOTE: Although access is available to licensed UW users, if you are not in a campus library you'll need additional Client Distribution information.
Chemical Abstracts covers all areas of pure and applied chemistry including biochemistry, medicinal chemistry and chemical engineering. The chemical information in more than 8,000 journals as well as patents, conference proceedings, government research reports, books and dissertations is indexed and abstracted. The Scifinder Scholar version of Chemical Abstracts also incorporates two substance oriented databases: (1) a database containing more than 20 million specific substances; (2) a database of more than 5 million chemical reactions dating from 1974. Many different kinds searches are possible: author, natural language, chemical structure (partial or exact), name, formula, chemical reactant or product. Links to citing and cited references from 1999 forward are provided. The chemical substance record contains calculated property data for many substances, as well as links to two databases providing information on commercial availability (ChemCats) and domestic and international regulatory information (ChemList). Note! The years 1907 - 1966 are not fully indexed. Only author and text-string searches of the titles and abstracts are possible for this period. |
 |
Web of Knowledge (formerly Web of Science/Science Citation Index) 1970-to date (updated weekly) |
Web of Knowledge indexes more than 8,000 peer-reviewed journals, providing complete bibliographic data and author abstracts. Every item of significance is listed: articles, reviews, letters, notes, corrections, and editorials. In addition to access by author, title, and institution, it is also possible to search by cited authors and to find articles sharing one or more cited reference. You can also set up email alerts to find when a given article is cited. |
License Restricted (About) |