Subject Guides:   Agricultural & Applied Economics

Statistics & Facts

Census of Agriculture (U.S.)
Provides a picture of the agricultural sector in the U.S. economy by county, state or ZIP code.

CountryWatch Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Provides comprehensive historical, political, economic, investment, social, and environmental data for countries.

Economic Research Service, Data, USDA
Online databases, spreadsheets, interactive mapping, and web files.

FAOSTAT, Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
Data on agricultural production and trade, fisheries, food, forestry, irrigation and land use.

FAS Online U.S. Trade Internet System
From USDA's Foreign Agricultural Service, United States international trade statistics on Agricultural, Fish, Forest and Textile Products from 1989 to present.

National Agricultural Statistics Service, USDA
Agricultural statistical data and documents.

Research Guide to Statistics, UW Extension, Cooperative Extension & Steenbock Library

UN Commodity Trade Statistics Database (UN Comtrade)Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
Downloadable data on international trade from over 130 countries. Data is detailed by commodity and partner country, and includes value in US dollars and (where possible) quantity. For many countries the data coverage starts as far back as 1962 and goes up to the most recent completed year. Campus users can download unlimited data. If you are not affiliated with the University, you can still Open to everyone. view the data.

Undergraduate Research Guide: Statistics, College Library

USA Trade Online, US Dept. of Commerce
U.S. export and import information on more than 18,000 commodities world wide. Monthly data for current year and annual cumulations from 1992 to present. Access is free at Federal Depository Libraries, but by appointment. Contact Bev Phillips at Steenbock for more information.

US Census Bureau
This site provides access to a wealth of information, including Census 2000 data and the Statistical Abstract of the United States from 1878 to the present.
A restricted resource, U.S. Census 2000 State & County Statistical QuickFacts Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. is also available. This version of the most requested census data allows the user to create tables quickly and easily, and to download the data as a chart, Excel spreadsheet, or tab-delimited file.

Wisconsin Agricultural Statistics Service
Agricultural statistical data and documents.

World Census of Agriculture, FAO
Includes primary results of the national agricultural censuses taken in the period 1986-2000 for 80 countries.

World FactbookLicensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
This version of the CIA World Factbook allows the user to create tables quickly and easily, and to download the data as a chart, Excel spreadsheet, or tab-delimited file. The World Factbook without this feature also available free.Open to everyone.

See also ... Steenbock's guide to Agricultural Statistical Resources on the Internet.

Economics Research--Data Tools

FX Currency Converter, OANDA Corporation

Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED II), Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis

Inflation Calculator, Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis

Internet Crossroads in Social Science Data, DPLS Library, UW-Madison

NRCS Economics, Natural Resources Conservation Service
Includes economic tools, models, cost and returns estimation information, links to crop and livestock budgets from university and extension sites.