Campus Departments, Labs and Research Centers
Applied Population Lab, UW-Madison
BASIS Collaborative Research Support Program, UW-Madison
Center for Community Economic Development, UW Extension, Cooperative Extenstion
Center for Cooperatives, UW-Madison
Center for Dairy Profitability, UW-Madison
Center for Demography and Ecology, UW-Madison
Center for Integrated Agricultural Systems, UW-Madison
Department of Agricultural and Applied Economics, UW-Madison
Department of Economics, UW-Madison
Food System Research Group, UW-Madison
Land Tenure Center, UW Madison
Program on Agricultural Technology Studies, UW-Madison
Educational Institutions and Professional Organizations
American Agricultural Economics Association
Professional association for agricultural economists.
Center for Agricultural and Rural Development (CARD), Iowa State University
Conducts and disseminates research in trade and agricultural policy, resource and environmental policy, food and nutrition policy, agricultural risk management policy and science and technology policy.
FAPRI (Food and Agricultural Policy Research Institute)
A joint effort of of the University of Missouri-Columbia and Iowa State University, FAPRI provides objective analysis of food, agricultural, nutritional and environmental issues.
Farmland Information Center
Access to resources on farmland protection and responsible farming practice.
International Association of Agricultural Economists
Professional association for agricultural economists.
Experts
University of Wisconsin-Madison Communications Experts Database
Database of faculty and staff experts who have agreed to speak with journalists on selected topics.
University of Wisconsin-Madison Expertise (Community of Science)
The Expertise database can be searched by faculty name, department, area of expertise, patents, and recent publications.
Web of Knowledge (1970-) ![]()
Use the General Search to find scholars researching a particular topic who live in a specific geographic area.
Government Agencies
Agricultural Marketing Service, USDA
Market/commodity news. Links to Farmer's Markets and to resources on direct marketing.
Economic Research Service, USDA
ERS is the main source of economic information and research from the U.S. Department of Agriculture.
Foreign Agricultural Service, USDA
Access to information regarding trade policies and data, international commodity markets, etc.
Small Business Administration
Information on starting, financing, and expanding the small business. Includes special section on disaster assistance.
United States Department of Agriculture (USDA)
Access to information regarding United States agricultural policy and trade. Links to agricultural news, livestock health, nutrition, sustainable development, etc.
Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
The agency responsible for agriculture, food safety, and services to farmers for the state of Wisconsin.
World Agricultural Outlook Board, Commodity Forecasts, USDA
'Economic intelligence on the outlook for U.S. and world agriculture--commodity and farm sector forecasts.'
International/Multi-National Organizations
Agricultural Information Research Centres - A World Directory, 2000![]()
Licensed, on-line directory providing descriptive information and contacts for research centres.
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
Access to news, data analysis and information regarding conferences, programs and services. Provides critical appraisal of global food and agricultural product quality and distribution.
International Forum on Globalization
Activist forum to encourage public discussion of issues and alternatives.
International Monetary Fund
International organization dedicated to fostering monetary cooperation among nations.
Public Citizen, Global Trade Watch
Public-interest consumer and trade 'watchdog' forum.
World Bank
One of the world's largest sources of development assistance and financing, the World Bank produces a large number studies and statistical reports, many related to agriculture, environment and poverty.
World Trade Organization
Access to information regarding policies, 'rules of trade', and trend reports.