Subject Guides: Agricultural & Applied Economics

Agricultural and Life Sciences

Open to everyone.   AgEcon Search: Research in Agricultural and Applied Economics Provides full text reports of scholarly research in the field of agricultural and applied economics.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Find It Enabled Agricola (1970-) Database from National Agricultural Library covers agricultural economics, agriculture, animal industries, botany, entomology, plant science, soil science, veterinary medicine, and water resources management. (If you are not affiliated with UW-Madison, use the National Agricultural Library's public gateway to Agricola: http://agricola.nal.usda.gov/)
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Find It Enabled Agricultural and Environmental Biotechnology Abstracts (1993-) Topic coverage includes plant and animal biotechnological developments, food industry and environmental issues.
Open to everyone.   AgNic: Agricultural Network Information Center Searchable guide to quality agricultural information on the Internet. Resources are selected and produced by the National Agricultural Library, land-grant universities and partners in the public sector.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Find It Enabled Agris (1975-) Database from Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations covers agricultural economics, agriculture, animal production, aquatic science and fisheries, machinery and buildings, natural resources, plant production, pollution, and rural sociology.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Find It Enabled Biological Abstracts (1969-) Covers anatomy, bacteriology, biotechnology, clinical medicine, genetics, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, pharmacology, toxicology, virology, and zoology.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Find It Enabled CAB Abstracts (1910-)
One of the best!
Covers agricultural economics, agriculture, dairy science, entomology, forestry, horticulture, rural sociology, soil science, and veterinary medicine.
Open to everyone.   E-Answers Provides access to Extension and outreach publications from land grant universities.
Open to everyone.   Economics, Statistics, and Market Information System Provides access to agricultural market information received from the USDA's Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS).
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Find It Enabled Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (1981-) A collection of databases that cover pollution, bacteriology, ecology, toxicology, environmental engineering, environmental biotechnology, natural resource management, water resources, and other topics
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Find It Enabled FSTA: Food Science and Technology Abstracts (1969-) Topics include commodity technology, dairy products, dietetic foods, fermentation technology, food additives and engineering, hygiene, food laws, meat and poultry, sugars, and toxicology.
Open to everyone.   TEKTRAN Database Provides selected pre-publication notices of research results from the Agricultural Research Service of the USDA.
Open to everyone.   USDA Current Research Information System (CRIS) Presents ongoing and recently-completed research sponsored by USDA research agencies, state agricultural experiment stations, state land-grant university systems, and participants in USDA grant programs.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Find It Enabled Web of Knowledge (1970-) Access to Social Sciences Citation Index, a useful tool for citation tracking. Searchable by author, title, subject and institution.

Business and Economics

Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Find It Enabled ABI/INFORM
(1971-)
Indexes business and trade journal literature. Topics includes management techniques, corporate strategies, trends, and business conditions.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.   CountryWatch Provides comprehensive historical, political, economic, investment, social, and environmental data for countries.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Find It Enabled EconLit (1969-) Indexes and abstracts more than 300 scholarly periodicals and books in the field of economics.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.   SSRN: Social Science Research Network SSRN includes the Economics Research Network (ERN). It abstracts over 130,000 scholarly social science papers, with full text of over 100,000. Use this link to access both subscription and free content.
Open to everyone.   IDEAS: Internet Documents in Economics Access Service IDEAS provides access to over 200,000 items of research, over half available free in full text. Also includes information about economic institutions and registered authors.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.   Market Research Monitor This Euromonitor database provides access to articles from all Euromarket journals, over 250 new consumer market and retail briefings each year, 600 major market profiles from the world's leading industrialized countries, and a 3-year archive of published reports.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.   Mintel Reports (1998-) Mintel produces over 600 reports each year, covering different sectors and focusing on topical marketing issues in Europe (especially UK) and the United States. Mintel publications analyze market sizes and trends, market segmentation, and consumer attitudes and purchasing habits.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.   OneSource Global Business Browser (dates vary—most recent 5 years or less) Information on over 13 million companies, profiles of hundreds of industries, and information about executives. Searchable by US SIC code, sales, capitalization, executive name, location, etc. Includes extensive collection of searchable full text business news articles.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Find It Enabled Sociological Abstracts (1963-) Indexes and abstracts 2,000 worldwide journals in sociology, as well as dissertations and websites. Includes Social Planning Policy and Development Abstracts.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.   Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage This full-text electronic version of nine popular S&P investor information products allows searching for information on publicly traded companies as well as over 85,000 companies that are not publicly traded. Extensive information is also available by industrial sector.

Newspapers and Popular Magazines (some full-text)

Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Find It Enabled Academic Search (1984-) Academic Search is a full text database of more than 3000 journals covering a broad range of material.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.   LexisNexis Academic Universe (dates vary) LexisNexis is a database of approximately 5,000 legal, news, reference, and business sources, most full text. It includes international and U.S. newspapers, ethnic and regional news sources, magazines, wire services, newsletters, trade journals, company and industry analyst reports, and broadcast transcripts.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Find It Enabled ProQuest Newspapers (dates vary) ProQuest Newspapers lists articles from 41 national and Wisconsin newspapers, and includes full text for most.
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. Find It Enabled ProQuest Research Library (1988-) ProQuest Research Library indexes more than 2,000 general interest and academic journals.