Online Catalog
MadCat is the catalog of books, journals, and other materials held in UW-Madison libraries. It includes links to many documents that are available in full text. Some of these are free via the internet, while others are licensed for use only by UW faculty, staff and students. Help with Madcat.
Books about Wisconsin's Agricultural Economy
The above link will search this subject in Madcat for you. You can go to the Sort Again By drop-down menu and choose Date (Newest First) to list them in publication date order.
Electronic Books
Collins Dictionary of Economics ![]()
Written by Christopher Pass, Bryan Lowes & Leslie Davies; published in 2000, by Harper Collins
Credo Reference (formerly xreferplus)![]()
Credo Reference is a collection of 100 reference tools that may be searched collectively or individually. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, statistical sources, biographical tools, thesauri, books of quotations, etc.
The Dictionary of Human Geography![]()
Edited by R.J. Johnston, Derek Gregory, Geraldine Pratt and Michael Watts; published in 2000 by Blackwell
Encyclopædia Britannica Online![]()
The complete encyclopedia, updated daily
Handbook of Agricultural Economics![]()
Multi-volume handbook, edited by Bruce L. Gardner and Gordon C. Rausser. Published in hard copy by Elsevier, 2001- .
Handbooks in Economics (complete set via ScienceDirect)
• Agricultural Economics
• Computational Economics
• Defense Economics
• Development Economics
• Econometrics
• Economic Forecasting
• Economic Growth
• Economics of Art and Culture
• Economics of Education
• Economics of Finance
• Economics of Giving, Altruism and Reciprocity
• Environmental Economics
• Game Theory with Economic Applications
• Health Economics
• Income Distribution
• Industrial Organization
• International Economics
• Labor Economics
• Law and Economics
• Macroeconomics
• Mathematical Economics
• Monetary Economics
• Natural Resource and Energy Economics
• Population and Family Economics
• Public Economics
• Regional and Urban Economics
• Social Choice and Welfare
History of Wisconsin Agriculture and Rural Life
Full text of primary and secondary materials published through 1945.
netLibrary![]()
Full text of nearly 8,000 ebooks, including over 300 on economic topics. See the list of netLibrary economics titles in MadCat.
The Penguin International Dictionary of Finance![]()
Edited by Graham Bannock and William Manser; published in 1999 by Penguin.
Statistical Abstract of the United States![]()
This annual compilation is available online from 1878 to the present
STATSnetBASE![]()
Includes full text of over 70 statistical titles in 13 categories, including Environmental Statistics, Statistical Theory and Methods, and Statistics for Biological Sciences
U.S. Census 2000 State & County Statistical QuickFacts![]()
This version of census data allows the user to create tables quickly and easily, and to download the data as a chart, Excel spreadsheet, or tab-delimited file. Census information is also available free from the Census Bureau![]()
World Factbook![]()
This version of the CIA World Factbook allows the user to create tables quickly and easily, and to download the data as a chart, Excel spreadsheet, or tab-delimited file. The World Factbook without this feature also available free.![]()
See also the complete lists of UW-Madison libaries' reference databases and ebook collections.
Online Bibliographies and Guides
Environmental Law, Law Library, UW-Madison
Company Research (How to Research a Company), Business Library, UW-Madison
Industry Information, Business Library, UW-Madison
International Business, Business Library, UW-Madison
Land Use Controls, Law Library, UW-Madison
Science Tracer Bullets Online: Sustainable Agriculture, Library of Congress
Women's Studies: Core Books, Association of College & Research Libraries, Women's Studies Section. Includes sections on American Agriculture and Labor
Campus Libraries
Business Library, UW-Madison
Data and and Information Services Center, UW-Madison
Law Library, UW-Madison (AskLaw Email Reference Service)
Memorial Library, UW-Madison
Steenbock Memorial Library, UW-Madison--Home Page