State and Regional
- National Agricultural Statistics Service Wisconsin Field Office - A USDA Agency
Includes Annual Statistical Bulletin, county estimates, crop progress & condition and reports on dairy, crops, land sales, livestock, vegtables. Wisconsin Field Office is operated in cooperation with the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection.
- National Agricultural Statistics Service State Offices
This site includes clickable links to NASS state offices and other state-based agricultural agencies.
-
Status of Wisconsin Agriculture
Current WI farm financial conditions, situation and outlook for farm products.
- Wisconsin
County Agricultural Trend Data
From Program on Agricultural Technology Studies.
-
Understanding Dairy Markets: Your Source for Market Information and Price Risk Principles
UW-Madison site on dairy related data and recent situation and outlook reports.
- Chicago Board of Trade
Provides access to diverse market information.
-
Wisconsin Crop and Livestock Reporter
1924-1963 digitized reports.
United States
- Agricultural Statistics (1994- )
Published each year and includes statistics on agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns. From the National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS), U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) and various USDA agencies.- Print version: Agricultural Statistics
Steenbock stacks - HD1751 A43 (1936- )
Latest edition in Reference - Prior to 1936 the information was published in the statistical section of the Yearbook of Agriculture.
Print version: Yearbook of Agriculture
Steenbock Documents - A 1.10 (1894 - 1935)
- Print version: Agricultural Statistics
- Census of
Agriculture
The Census of Agriculture, taken every five years, is a complete count of U.S. farms and ranches and the people who operate them. The Census looks at land use and ownership, operator characteristics, production practices, income and expenditures and many other areas.- Print version: Census of Agriculture
Steenbock Documents - C 3.31/4: (1930-1992)
- Print version: Census of Agriculture
- Yearbook of Agriculture / U.S. Dept. of Agriculture
Also titled Yearbook of the United States Department of Agriculture and Agriculture Yearbook for some years.- Print version:
Steenbock Documents A 1.10: (1894-1992)
- Print version:
- USDA Economics, Statistics and Market Information System (ESMIS)
Contains nearly 2500 reports and datasets from several agencies of the U.S. Department of Agriculture. These materials cover U.S. and international agriculture and related topics. Available titles include both current and historical data.
- Foreign Trade Statistics. US Census Bureau
- US Imports from all countries (annual totals by 5-digit End-Use Code)
- US Exports to all countries (annual totals by 5-digit End-Use Code)
- Top Trading Partners
- Exports, Imports and Trade Balance by Country, Monthly totals
- Crop Production
From the USDA, a collection of data on crop acreage, yields, areas harvested, and other production information including the annual Crop Production Report, Crop Acreage and Yields and Agricultural Charts and Maps
- Dairy Yearbook
Annual data on production, supply, use of milk and manufactured dairy products; also includes wholesale and retail price indexes, prices received by farmers, milk production costs, and regional shares of U.S. milk production. Also in spreadsheet format. (Search Cornell's USDA Economics and Statitistics System with the phrase "dairy yearbook".)
- Agriculture Network
Information Center (AgNIC)
AgNIC Search provides access to a wide variety of agricultural datbases, including statistical databases.
Primary Agencies Involved
- National Agricultural Statistics Service - A USDA Agency
NASS conducts hundreds of surveys every year and prepares reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture. Production and supplies of food and fiber, prices paid and received by farmers, farm labor and wages, farm finances, chemical use, and changes in the demographics of U.S. producers are only a few examples.
- Economic Research
Service - A USDA Agency
ERS conducts research on economic and policy issues involving food, farming, natural resources, and rural development.
- Natural Resources Conservation Service - A USDA Agency
NRCS provides leadership in a partnership effort to help people conserve, maintain and improve our natural resources and environment. Notable reports include State of the Land and Web Soil Survey
International
- Food and
Agriculture Organization (FAO) of the United Nations
The Statistical Databases cover agriculture, nutrition, fisheries, forestry, food aid, land and water use and population. The Publications link offers fulltext of various reports.- The Agricultural Development Economics Division (ESA) is the focal point for FAO's economic research and policy analysis for food security and sustainable development. Their flagship reports include
- SOFA - State of Food and Agriculture
- SOFI - State of Food Insecurity
- Additional statistical information is also available through the Statistics Division
- The Agricultural Development Economics Division (ESA) is the focal point for FAO's economic research and policy analysis for food security and sustainable development. Their flagship reports include
- Foreign Agricultural
Service - A USDA Agency
FAS collects, analyzes, and disseminates information about global supply and demand, trade trends, and emerging market opportunities.
- USDA Economics, Statistics and Market Information System: Trade and International
Contains nearly 2500 reports and datasets from several agencies of the U.S. Department of Agriculture. These materials cover U.S. and international agriculture and related topics. Available titles include both current and historical data.
- UN
Commodity Trade Statistics Database (UN Comtrade)

Downloadable data on international commodity trade from over 130 countries. Data is detailed by commodity and partner country, and includes value in US dollars and (where possible) quantity. For many countries the data coverage starts as far back as 1962 and goes up to the most recent completed year. Campus users can download unlimited data. If you are not affiliated with the University, you can still
view
the data.
- Foreign Trade Statistics. US Census Bureau
- US Imports from all countries (annual totals by 5-digit End-Use Code)
- US Exports to all countries (annual totals by 5-digit End-Use Code)
- Top Trading Partners
- Exports, Imports and Trade Balance by Country, Monthly totals
- OFFSTATS
Official statistical Web sites by country, region, and topic. Each Web site listing is accompanied by brief annotation. From the University of Auckland Library.
- European Commission Agriculture Website
This site provides some general agricultural statistics on agriculture in the European Union. Many other statistical datasets are available for purchase through Eurostat.